29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was the best spanish rice I've ever had! Better than any restaurant's. Is a little more work than most recipes but well worth it. Be sure to allow for time needed to brown rice (20-25 min.) when making the recipe as it does take awhile and could burn easily if left unattended.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rudolph98 October 26, 2006

I modified the recipe a little : <br/><br/>I didn't used garlic salt, I used fresh crushed garlic, and salt. I like garlic, a lot. um, hence the username. <br/><br/>I used chicken broth instead of water. <br/><br/>I like this recipe. It doesn't taste like any restaurant rice I've had before, but that may be my modifications. I thought it could use a little more tomato flavor to be more like the restaurant versions I like, so I will attempt to tweak that next time. I used a large tomato and the suggested Knor from the recipe. <br/><br/>The first time I lifted the lid after the simmer/boil phase I thought - this looks like it absolutely Needs some quesadilla shredded style chicken in it. Next time, for sure. <br/><br/>Final verdict: VERY DELICIOUS! Again, not like my favorite authentic restaurants over the years, but a malleable recipe that does, indeed, taste even better when allowed to fully cool, then be reheated. LOVE THAT because I make BIG portions and subsist on leftovers :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GarlicAndBacon December 25, 2013

Love this recipe! It reminds me of my grandmother's spanish rice. If you have picky eaters, I cut the onions and peppers into bigger chunks so I can pull them out before serving to my son. The taste is there but he doesn't see the green peppers. I've used tomato sauce at times when I don't have a tomato. I've also made it with just onion and the chicken bouillon with tomato and it comes out just as good. The Knorr chicken bouillon with tomato is what really makes it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cctgolden September 13, 2013

very tasty rice..i have made this many times. I do not always have a tomato on hand so I freeze garden roma tomatoes and if i don't have a fresh tomato on hand i just take 2 frozen romas out..run under hot water and the peeling comes right off. To me white rice is best but i have had it with brown and its good just not as good...thanks for an easy, yummy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellypdx April 30, 2013

This is a great recipe find. So simple to make and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and made it the night before serving and reheated it in the oven. It was really good and was given high compliments by Hubby. I chopped everything up pretty small and loved the color and texture that they added to the rice. Thanks for sharing your recipe, I'll be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview December 17, 2012

Great recipe! It tastes just like our favorite resturant's rice. I followed exactly as written and it was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anguilla1_11906750 September 30, 2012

I joined this site just to review this rice. It was yummmmmmmmy. Also, I didn't have any tomatoes so I subbed with roasted tomato chipotle roja sauce and left a half cup of water out of the mix (do to the moisture in the sauce) and added some fresh chopped cilantro before microwaving at the end and it was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carriemommie July 07, 2011

Tried this for the first time and it was perfect. I don't know what the last person did wrong, but it was not overcooked or too moist. My husband hates soupy rice and this was anything but. All the ingredients were just right and blended well together. Next time I may add a bit of cayenne for a little heat. I also took the advice of one other review and added a small can of diced green chili peppers. I simply cut down on the green pepper a little. Thanks so much for this wonderful addition to my mexican recipes. Yum

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
what'scookin' November 06, 2010

3.5 stars. My version came out a bit too moist (I like a really DRY and fluffy spanish rice) because of the tomato, I think. And the 25 minute cook time resulted in too-soft, overcooked rice. But with a touch of extra salt the flavor was nice. A little less cook time and a little less liquid, and this might be a real winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karenlyn2 August 16, 2010

Rice came out perfect! Made for fajita day at my folks and everyone gobbled it up. Will definitely make again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Martha wanna-be Melissa June 02, 2010
The Best Authentic Spanish Rice