264 Reviews

These are sooooo good! I made the same changes as CuteCookie, and added a little oatmeal to the topping mix. I used one spartan apple, and one granny smith.<br/><br/>Not sure how so many other reviewers are getting 24 muffins from the recipe - my batch made 16 muffins without anything overflowing! I also had waaaaay more topping mix than necessary.<br/>I also cut back to 1cup brown sugar, and they were still plenty sweet

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CassiaDawn April 17, 2013

Delicious!! I followed a few suggestions of others. Used 1/3 applesauce and 1/3 oil. Added 1tsp of cinnamon to batter and added 1tsp of baking powder. Although I'm sure a delicious addition, I made mine without the topping - to cut down on some of the sugar. Even without the topping - they were scrumptious and beautifully golden brown!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat858 January 30, 2013

I baked these amazing muffins last week and let me tell you that there really is no other muffins I want to eat anymore. I followed the original recipe except that I grated the apples instead of
adding them in small chunks. And I did not use white flour. Instead I used 1,5 cups of quick oats and 1 cup of whole wheat flour.
They taste just like an apple pie, only that these muffins are healty as can be.
Dotty2, I can not thank you enough for sharing this gorgeous recipe with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Santi Zilcan January 14, 2013

Not for me, too dense. They need baking powder for fluff. The oil is ok, but I would rather use applesauce or pumpkin. And I used the measurements for the topping and it just melted away in the over. On the second go around I would either add less butter or more flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
memphis361 December 28, 2012

Awesome recipe. Will definitely make this again!
I didn't have buttermilk, so I used half sour cream and half milk, and that worked out great. Also used half whole wheat flour, and to make the topping extra crunchy I added some oatmeal and Bran Buds to the topping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ljlinner October 20, 2012

My Honey and I went apple picking a couple of days ago and I decided to make these the next morning. They were absolutlely the Best!!!! Nice and moist and the chunks of apple were cooked just right! Thanks for such an awesome recipe. I've been asked to bake a batch for a friends meeting this week they were so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Norelllaura1 October 17, 2012

So good!! Moist, flavourful & delicious! I grated the apple as suggested by another reviewer & liked the results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb October 13, 2012

wow the people i work with devoured these muffins. did take others advice and added cin. , nutmeg, and baking powder. also DO NOT MELT THE BUTTER FOR THE TOPPING :) i never listen so i had a problem with that. Great recipe though outstanding

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Nadia* September 26, 2012

I brought these to church and they were loved.
I have never given my muffins away faster.
Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glassflume June 16, 2012

I made these exactly as the recipe reads and they turned out great!! They are amazing. I used nice big chunks of apples and we loved them that way. Thanks for an awesome recipe - it's a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
partysweets March 28, 2012
The Best Apple Pie Muffins Ever