260 Reviews

Loved it!! Loved it!! Loved it!! First time in trying my hand at baking! This turned out daamn sexy! Every1 loved it!! Thank you!! <3 :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tischa Maiden September 04, 2014

Best Muffins ever! I didn't have buttermilk, so I used 1 cup milk and instead of apples, I used 2 cups applesauce. Yummy recipe! I know I will make those often!! Thanks Dotty2!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simsingermany July 28, 2014

WOWZA! Dear potential bakers: I highly suggest taking note of a few easy changes that made my batch fantastic. Definitely split the baking soda in half and use baking powder for the other half. Also split the oil in half and use applesauce for the other half. Don't have buttermilk? No problem! I used half evaporated milk, half water and it was great! Dicing the apples small is also a great idea! Previous reviewers suggested grating the apples, I suggest against this because it will take away from the apple pie effect you want from this recipe! Also VERY IMPORTANT, the yummiest surprise of this recipe is the crumble on the top, but a lot of reviewers mentioned it failing. Here is my suggestion: make the recipe as it's written then... sift in some extra flour little by little and the crumble with start to actually become a...crumble. Also let the crumble sit for at least 10 minutes while you work on the main batter. In my opinion the crumble is the BEST part, so it's worth spending the time to get it right. The muffins and your taste buds will thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anna H. May 31, 2014

I left off the topping entirely. I shredded the apple, added 1/3 c. Quick cooking oatmeal

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau April 25, 2014

Totally Confused! I don't see a great rating. Just made these muffins to take to my daughter's school. Followed the recipe except per comments I added more seasoning, grated the apples and added baking powder. They are just out of the oven and still warm. They should be at their peak, but they are tasteless and flat and totally underwhelming! I bake a lot. I make a lot of muffins. This one, I will never make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lapenguin January 20, 2014

These muffins are awesome! I read a lot of other reviews before making the muffins and made some of the recommended changed. I added 1 tsp of cinnamon to the batter and 1/2 tsp baking soda and 1 tsp baking powder. I also did 1/3 cup oil and 1/3 cup apple sauce, and added 1/4 nutmeg to the batter too. They came out perfectly moist and delicious. The topping was nice and crispy. My husband had one as soon as they came out of the oven then immediately devoured 2 more. He said it may be one of the best desserts I've ever made. It's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheersmylove November 28, 2013

Made these for kids' school lunches. Only changes to the recipe I did was I used two cups of shredded apple. I used my cheese shredder/ grater. I also added a mounded 1/4 cup of quick oats to the topping. My kids love sweetened cream cheese in the center of their fruit muffins, so I added that to half of them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
razzintaz November 25, 2013

Ten stars!!! This was really an excellent recipe. Easy to put together, with ingredients I normally have on hand anyway. I made them for a staff meeting and one guy ate four of them. I needed to add a couple extra tablespoons of flour to the topping mixture, just to get it to "crumbly" consistency. Otherwise, I didn't change a thing. Maybe next time, I will sub some applesauce for some of the oil to make it a little healthier. Thank you, Dotty, for the new recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bridget Leigh October 22, 2013

I wish I had read the reviews before making these! The cooks, who rated these 5 stars made major modifications to the recipe! They are not rating the recipe as written! As written, these are the worst muffins I have ever made! I am an experienced baker and make muffins at least once a week. I was making these for my son's book club so I wanted a recipe a bit more indulgent than my typical apple muffin. I followed the recipe to the T. The batter appeared very thin, but I went with it. Oh my goodness, the muffins had a very oily texture and barely rose at all. Before I put my second pan in, I adjusted the batter by adding more flour. Still awful. Not only do these look awful, they don't taste good either. Quite bland and flavorless. Yuck! What a waste of freshly picked apples and my time! These went to the trash and I had to pick up a store bought snack!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjhoth October 18, 2013
The Best Apple Pie Muffins Ever