264 Reviews

I did 1/2 tsp. baking soda and 1/2 tsp. baking powder (instead of all baking soda), added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg to muffin mix. I substituted 1 cup soy milk with 1 Tbsp. lemon juice for the buttermilk. I used 1/3 cup oil and subbed other 1/3 cup with applesauce. Also, I grated my apple and used about 2 and a 1/2 cups.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashleyhelander October 27, 2015

This is also a great basic apple muffin recipe. I followed the muffin recipe but did not make the crumble topping. They were moist and delicious with just the right sweetness. I will make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dconnollyisland October 11, 2015

I was surprised these muffins turned out so well as apples are off season here and I had to use canned. I thought combining them with a large amount of oil would make gooey muffins (as I've found with other recipes) but they turned out great. I added a teaspoon of cinnamon & half a teaspoon of baking powder. Instead of the topping I just sprinkled them with cinnamon and raw sugar before baking.. which I did in a hotter oven ..at 200 for 20 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NZMumof4 August 29, 2015

They came out great, and huge. Folks wanted a cup of coffee to go along with it. Only thing I did different was that I used salted butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JFatti January 26, 2015

Loved it!! Loved it!! Loved it!! First time in trying my hand at baking! This turned out daamn sexy! Every1 loved it!! Thank you!! <3 :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tischa Maiden September 04, 2014

Best Muffins ever! I didn't have buttermilk, so I used 1 cup milk and instead of apples, I used 2 cups applesauce. Yummy recipe! I know I will make those often!! Thanks Dotty2!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simsingermany July 28, 2014

WOWZA! Dear potential bakers: I highly suggest taking note of a few easy changes that made my batch fantastic. Definitely split the baking soda in half and use baking powder for the other half. Also split the oil in half and use applesauce for the other half. Don't have buttermilk? No problem! I used half evaporated milk, half water and it was great! Dicing the apples small is also a great idea! Previous reviewers suggested grating the apples, I suggest against this because it will take away from the apple pie effect you want from this recipe! Also VERY IMPORTANT, the yummiest surprise of this recipe is the crumble on the top, but a lot of reviewers mentioned it failing. Here is my suggestion: make the recipe as it's written then... sift in some extra flour little by little and the crumble with start to actually become a...crumble. Also let the crumble sit for at least 10 minutes while you work on the main batter. In my opinion the crumble is the BEST part, so it's worth spending the time to get it right. The muffins and your taste buds will thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anna H. May 31, 2014

I left off the topping entirely. I shredded the apple, added 1/3 c. Quick cooking oatmeal

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau April 25, 2014

Totally Confused! I don't see a great rating. Just made these muffins to take to my daughter's school. Followed the recipe except per comments I added more seasoning, grated the apples and added baking powder. They are just out of the oven and still warm. They should be at their peak, but they are tasteless and flat and totally underwhelming! I bake a lot. I make a lot of muffins. This one, I will never make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lapenguin January 20, 2014

These muffins are awesome! I read a lot of other reviews before making the muffins and made some of the recommended changed. I added 1 tsp of cinnamon to the batter and 1/2 tsp baking soda and 1 tsp baking powder. I also did 1/3 cup oil and 1/3 cup apple sauce, and added 1/4 nutmeg to the batter too. They came out perfectly moist and delicious. The topping was nice and crispy. My husband had one as soon as they came out of the oven then immediately devoured 2 more. He said it may be one of the best desserts I've ever made. It's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheersmylove November 28, 2013
The Best Apple Pie Muffins Ever