Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Apple Pie Muffins Ever Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Apple Pie Muffins Ever

    Average Rating:

    259 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 259

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2014

      Best Muffins ever! I didn't have buttermilk, so I used 1 cup milk and instead of apples, I used 2 cups applesauce. Yummy recipe! I know I will make those often!! Thanks Dotty2!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2014

      WOWZA! Dear potential bakers: I highly suggest taking note of a few easy changes that made my batch fantastic. Definitely split the baking soda in half and use baking powder for the other half. Also split the oil in half and use applesauce for the other half. Don't have buttermilk? No problem! I used half evaporated milk, half water and it was great! Dicing the apples small is also a great idea! Previous reviewers suggested grating the apples, I suggest against this because it will take away from the apple pie effect you want from this recipe! Also VERY IMPORTANT, the yummiest surprise of this recipe is the crumble on the top, but a lot of reviewers mentioned it failing. Here is my suggestion: make the recipe as it's written then... sift in some extra flour little by little and the crumble with start to actually become a...crumble. Also let the crumble sit for at least 10 minutes while you work on the main batter. In my opinion the crumble is the BEST part, so it's worth spending the time to get it right. The muffins and your taste buds will thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2014

      I left off the topping entirely. I shredded the apple, added 1/3 c. Quick cooking oatmeal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      Totally Confused! I don't see a great rating. Just made these muffins to take to my daughter's school. Followed the recipe except per comments I added more seasoning, grated the apples and added baking powder. They are just out of the oven and still warm. They should be at their peak, but they are tasteless and flat and totally underwhelming! I bake a lot. I make a lot of muffins. This one, I will never make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      These muffins are awesome! I read a lot of other reviews before making the muffins and made some of the recommended changed. I added 1 tsp of cinnamon to the batter and 1/2 tsp baking soda and 1 tsp baking powder. I also did 1/3 cup oil and 1/3 cup apple sauce, and added 1/4 nutmeg to the batter too. They came out perfectly moist and delicious. The topping was nice and crispy. My husband had one as soon as they came out of the oven then immediately devoured 2 more. He said it may be one of the best desserts I've ever made. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2013

      Made these for kids' school lunches. Only changes to the recipe I did was I used two cups of shredded apple. I used my cheese shredder/ grater. I also added a mounded 1/4 cup of quick oats to the topping. My kids love sweetened cream cheese in the center of their fruit muffins, so I added that to half of them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2013

      Ten stars!!! This was really an excellent recipe. Easy to put together, with ingredients I normally have on hand anyway. I made them for a staff meeting and one guy ate four of them. I needed to add a couple extra tablespoons of flour to the topping mixture, just to get it to "crumbly" consistency. Otherwise, I didn't change a thing. Maybe next time, I will sub some applesauce for some of the oil to make it a little healthier. Thank you, Dotty, for the new recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2013

      I wish I had read the reviews before making these! The cooks, who rated these 5 stars made major modifications to the recipe! They are not rating the recipe as written! As written, these are the worst muffins I have ever made! I am an experienced baker and make muffins at least once a week. I was making these for my son's book club so I wanted a recipe a bit more indulgent than my typical apple muffin. I followed the recipe to the T. The batter appeared very thin, but I went with it. Oh my goodness, the muffins had a very oily texture and barely rose at all. Before I put my second pan in, I adjusted the batter by adding more flour. Still awful. Not only do these look awful, they don't taste good either. Quite bland and flavorless. Yuck! What a waste of freshly picked apples and my time! These went to the trash and I had to pick up a store bought snack!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2013

      SUPERB! huge hit:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2013

      These tasted fabulous! Used homemade applesauce instead of the oil. A little too thin I think, The muffins were a little too moist. Because I saved those calories, I doubled the topping. That was too much topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2013

      WOW these are the best muffins I've ever had!! Thought they would just taste kinda appley, but they really do taste like an apple pie! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2013

      I Followed the instructions and baked for 26 min. These muffins are sooo good. I was looking for apple recipes because i am overwhelmed with apples from our apple tree and i will definitely be making more of these yummy! Also i want to add that these We're easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2013

      Fantastic Recipe! I made 4 double batches of this (yes I had that many apples from my trees) the first 2 batches I added baking powder... It did not help so leave it out, I know others thought it would help it doesn't. For the topping the perfect amount was 3 TBS softened butter.. It didn't run like the other batches, it was perfect on top! I also used half dark brown sugar

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2013

      Yummy!!!! I followed CuteCookie's advice for the most part ... I used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white flour (my standard mix), 1/2 tsp baking soda and 1/2 tsp baking powder. I used buttermilk since I always keep that on hand. The other change I made was to use applesauce in place of the oil to cut fat from the recipe (another standard of mine). I didn't have tart apples but had a couple of Fujis in the refrigerator ... I don't see that the type of apple would make that much difference in this recipe ... use what you have.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      These ARE the best ever!! Made them for breakfast this morning(Sunday), and was asked by the family to wrap the rest individually so they can bring them to work and school! I'm always asked to make Kittencal's Extreme Chocolate Brownies for class parties, but DD said this could become "the NEW brownie"! LOL Thanks so much for sharing-

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2013

      These are sooooo good! I made the same changes as CuteCookie, and added a little oatmeal to the topping mix. I used one spartan apple, and one granny smith.<br/><br/>Not sure how so many other reviewers are getting 24 muffins from the recipe - my batch made 16 muffins without anything overflowing! I also had waaaaay more topping mix than necessary.<br/>I also cut back to 1cup brown sugar, and they were still plenty sweet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      Delicious!! I followed a few suggestions of others. Used 1/3 applesauce and 1/3 oil. Added 1tsp of cinnamon to batter and added 1tsp of baking powder. Although I'm sure a delicious addition, I made mine without the topping - to cut down on some of the sugar. Even without the topping - they were scrumptious and beautifully golden brown!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      I baked these amazing muffins last week and let me tell you that there really is no other muffins I want to eat anymore. I followed the original recipe except that I grated the apples instead of
      adding them in small chunks. And I did not use white flour. Instead I used 1,5 cups of quick oats and 1 cup of whole wheat flour.
      They taste just like an apple pie, only that these muffins are healty as can be.
      Dotty2, I can not thank you enough for sharing this gorgeous recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      Not for me, too dense. They need baking powder for fluff. The oil is ok, but I would rather use applesauce or pumpkin. And I used the measurements for the topping and it just melted away in the over. On the second go around I would either add less butter or more flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2012

      Awesome recipe. Will definitely make this again!
      I didn't have buttermilk, so I used half sour cream and half milk, and that worked out great. Also used half whole wheat flour, and to make the topping extra crunchy I added some oatmeal and Bran Buds to the topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Apple Pie Muffins Ever

    Serving Size: 1 (86 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 276.5
     
    Calories from Fat 101
    36%
    Total Fat 11.2 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 17.6 mg
    5%
    Sodium 128.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 25.9 g
    103%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes