260 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My family DEVOURED these in a flash! Made more to stock the freezer for rushed school mornings. I added oats and a bit more flour to the crumb topping.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngMcB August 05, 2010

My husband, the one who rarely comments on foods at all, took one bite and said they were phenomenal and that he "needed" more of them. He says they're the best muffin I've ever made, and I agree. They smell and taste just like apple pie! So good, moist, and delicious. The only change I made was to add the cinnamon to the batter and to sub half the oil with unsweet applesauce. Amazing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachruiz1 June 01, 2010

These are a household fav! I do usually use half whole wheat flour and spenda brown sugar mixture. I also decrease the butter in the topping, just a little. Abolutley wonderful

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alabama1974 May 26, 2010

I thought these were great! I added lots of cinnamon and nutmeg to make them more like apple spice muffins and they were delicious. I also subbed earth balance for the melted butter and it tasted just fine. Plus they made the whole house smell amazing! Will definitely be making these again. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BusyBeeHoneyBee May 02, 2010

Absolutely fabulous. I'm a cinnamon lover so I increased the cinnamon in the topping to 2 teaspoons and also added 2 teaspoons to the muffin mix.I grated the apples instead of dicing them (as other reviewers suggested) & also used a little more than 2 cups. I added some baking soda, too so that they would rise. Besides that, I followed the recipe exactly. Wonderful! moist, apple-y, and the topping was wonderfully crunchy. I'm sure the addition of nutmeg would've made it even better, I plan to try that next time. 5 stars for sure!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaqi1996 April 20, 2010

wonderful! did change a few things. 1/2 whole wheat flour 1/2 all purpose. added 1teaspoon baking powder. added 1/8teaspoon cinnamon oil (louAnn oil) added rolled oats to topping. Baked regulare size muffins for 20 min. minis for 10 min. and small bread pan for 30min.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynni October 09, 2009

These are yummy muffins I am just not happy with the topping. It was way too wet and didn't crumble well. I used half whole wheat and half white flour and did mix cinnamon into the batter. Will try some of the others suggestions next time around for the topping and the oil. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jolyn421 September 29, 2009

Very tasty, but I had a difficult time with the topping. Next time, I won't melt the butter so that it's more like a crumb topping. With the melted butter, the topping was impossible to spread evenly and it sunk into the muffins. Still tasted good, but didn't look very presentable. I'll also follow another reviewers advice and add a tsp of baking powder so they aren't flat. These are very tasty, but I think they'll be even better with the alterations.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPerez September 21, 2009

These are great!!! I added 1 teaspoon cinnamon to the batter, and abou 1/2 cup oatmeal to the topping. They are fabulous....Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherispecht July 23, 2009

They came out great, and huge. Folks wanted a cup of coffee to go along with it. Only thing I did different was that I used salted butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JFatti January 26, 2015
The Best Apple Pie Muffins Ever