260 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The best indeed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Netteski March 22, 2009

Wow! These are so yummy! I added the 1tsp of baking powder like some of the other commenters did. They are perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MadameSev March 18, 2009

My kids really liked these. I even reduced the brown sugar in the muffins to 1 c and it was plenty sweet for us. We used white whole wheat flour and added some cinnamon and baking powder (1tsp) in the muffin batter, as well. As one poster suggested, we added oats to the topping. I didn't have any problem with sticking, but I use silicone muffin pans which I LOVE. They just pop right out. This is a GREAT recipe and even better when you can adjust to suit personal preferences. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seven Wonders March 02, 2009

yes these certainly are the best ever. I did use paper liners in the muffin tins but would advise against this. They kinda stuck on there a little too well, and I think the brown bottoms would be nicer anyway. Made as directed and got 18. Next time as one reviewer suggested, I'll toss some baking powder in to get a higher rise. Great recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3shihmum February 26, 2009

OMG These are so good! I only used about 1 T of oil and the rest applesauce...Delicious! I got 12 full size and 13 mini muffins. My 2 year old has already eaten 2 mini ones!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andrea185 February 21, 2009

Very Yummy! Thanks for posting :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PjD#2 February 16, 2009

This is my family's new favourite muffin. I made the recipe up exactly as specified except I used half whole wheat flour.Next time, I will make these with applesauce substituting in for half of the oil. I may also try the brown sugar substitute to cut back a little on the cals. from sugar.These are loved by everyone. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjane January 25, 2009

Very good. Made a half batch, but accidentally did the full topping. Glad that I did because I added nearly all the topping to the muffins. The topping is the best part and I would suggest making twice the topping suggested. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly (oh yeah - except I had no buttermilk, so I added some vinegar to milk and let it sit for a while before adding as a substitute).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan in Raleigh, NC January 24, 2009

Excellent muffin! I added about 1 tsp of cinnamon to the batter (in addition to cinnamon in the topping), used 1/3 cup applesauce and 1/3 cup oil (instead of 2/3 cup oil), and also used 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 cup all-purpose (for 2 1/2 cups total flour). The muffins were moist, flavourful and healthy! Ok, lots of sugar in them, but some fibre too! I think sugar could be reduced by 1/4 to 1/2 cup and still be plenty sweet. I will definitely be making these again. Thanks Dotty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Ducky January 14, 2009
The Best Apple Pie Muffins Ever