264 Reviews

Wow!! Those are possibly the best muffins I have ever made (& I bake a lot)! I read through the reviews and altered it slightly..grated the apples, used salted butter (wasn't too salty), split the flour and did 1 1/2 cups of reg. flour and 1 c. whole wheat flour. I also did 1/2 tsp. baking soda and 1/2 tsp. baking powder (instead of all b.soda), added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon to the muffin mix and 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg. Lastly, I didn't have buttermilk, so did the 1 c. of milk with 1 Tbl. lemon juice method and that worked just fine. Oh, and I doubled the topping! YUM!

My twins (even my picky eater) and hubby gobbled them up and asked for more! This is going to become a regular recipe in my arsenol! Thank you SO much for sharing, Dotty!~ :)

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CuteCookie January 21, 2011

great recipe. i used only 1/2 cup oil, and 1 cup of sugar. i needed to add an additional 2 tbsp of flour to the topping to get it crumbly - it was pure liquid after i followed the recipe directions.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
it's not easy being green April 21, 2010

Very good and very moist
here are the changes I made because of the reviews I read. I melted 1/8 cup and used 1/8 cup just regular temp of the butter for topping and I added to topping 1/3 cup oatmeal
for muffins I used in place of all white flour 1 1/2 cup white and 1 cup whole wheat flour
I used 1/3 cup oil and 1/3 cup applesauce
I added 1 tsp baking powder to the 1 teaspoon of baking soda
I used 2 cups grated apple and 1 cup diced apple or 2 large granny smith apples
I added 1 tsp cinnamon and a sprinkle of cloves to the muffin dough I would have used nutmeg in place of the cloves but because of conflicts with medicine I cannot use nutmeg in my cooking
It made 24 mini and 12 regular size muffins. as always each and everyone has a different temperature for there ovens so mine took 27 min for large muffin and 25 for minis it may take less time or more depending on your oven temperature.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffinlady March 28, 2011

Wow! Awesome recipe. My 15 year old son, who NEVER comments on my cooking or baking said, 'hey mom, those muffins are incredible'. he even brought some to school to share with friends.need I say more? I didn't have buttermilk so I used a cup of plain yogurt. 5 Stars!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindad3442 December 01, 2010

Very delicious! I grated the apples as others suggested, used 1/2 cup less brown sugar in the batter (next time i may even use a tad less!), and doubled the topping. I may also use a little less oil next time. Great dessert for the fall with the combination of apple, cinnamon, brown sugar, and butter - simply divine.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xxsimplysweetxx September 28, 2010

These muffins were delicious. I one and a halved the recipe and got 24 muffins. Although I one and a halved most of the ingredients, I did not add extra sugar or topping. I also used whole wheat flour and 2/3 c applesauce and only 1/3 c oil. They were moist and delicious and I will definitely make again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbin October 11, 2012

These came out awesome!!!! I don't use vegetable oil to cook, so I used apple sauce in its place. My roomate loves thm and so do I!!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissDiva05 October 22, 2011

Delicious! I agree with some of the other reviewers - it makes more like 24 muffins. I made 18 and they were overflowing and not very pretty. But they tasted great! Next time, I think I'll add some more apple pie spices - more cinnamon, a pinch cloves, nutmeg, and a little bit of allspice.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emmelyn Stieb April 25, 2011

Oooohhh so yummy!!! I followed some of the posted comment changes. I split the oil in half and subbed the other half for apple sauce. I also did half teaspoon baking soda and half teaspoon baking powder. I did the first half of the topping as posted and the other half I added oats. I did not have unsalted butter, so I used regular butter and it tasted excellent! I did a combination of mini muffins and mini loaves. I will make these for a long time to come. Thanks for the great recipe:)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefto3 December 01, 2010

Great recipe that makes super moist muffins. I did what others suggested and grated the apples. I also added cinnamon to the mix (as well as topping.) It makes a lot of muffins. I made regular muffin size and it made 24. There was not enough of the topping for all 24 of them, but that was not a big deal. They taste good without the topping too. My son loved them. Oh, and I didn't have buttermilk so I went online and found a quick substitute which is 1 cup of milk and 1 T of lemon juice. Let it sit together for 5 mins before adding it to the recipe. Worked great! Will make this recipe again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv2cook4friends October 05, 2010
The Best Apple Pie Muffins Ever