14 Reviews

YUM! The reviewer who said it had great texture is what made me decide to try this recipe - texture is a big deal for me. This meatloaf came out perfectly, firm and very tasty! I didn't follow it exactly, though, but I'm sure if I'd have had the exact ingredients it wouldn't change my opinion. I used half bulk sausage, half ground beef, homemade seasoned breadcrumbs because I didn't have any Ritz crackers. I also used Miss Tink's House Seasoning (http://www.food.com/recipe/miss-tinks-house-seasoning-335883) because I was all out of garlic powder (I don't use garlic salt). The sauce tasted a bit too ketchup-y for me so I tweaked it a bit by adding Smokehouse pepper, onion powder and Worcestershire sauce. The end result was absolutely what I was after when I decided I wanted meatloaf for supper. The bacon was a nice touch, too. We love bacon here so I used 3 strips, which covered the top. Served with mashed potatoes and Sauteed Cabbage (http://www.food.com/recipe/sauteed-cabbage-446405).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Frugal Cheflady September 20, 2011

This is the best meatloaf I have ever had!! Bar none! I will search no more!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kdavis0608 January 26, 2011

Very nice textured meatloaf. It has great flavor and so moist. Thanks for posting this lovely meatloaf recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn January 02, 2010

I made this as written with one exception. My fresh onions were bad so I used 1/4 cup dried onion. Oh man, this was exactly what the doctor ordered on this cool drizzly day! The texture is perfect, the seasonings awesome. DH was like "OK, don't try any more meatloaf recipes." I think that says it all. I served with baked potatoes, steamed broccoli, carrots & cauliflower. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ May 15, 2014

Best meatloaf I have ever had. Will use this. Several people have asked me for the recipe.
Made no changes. It was perfect as is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j_miller June 26, 2012

By far the best meatloaf recipe I've tried. Moist and enough flavor. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marich September 19, 2008

Truly the best meatloaf ever! Hubby used to hate meatloaf but now wants if every week! Great flavor and texture! I've found my final meatloaf recipe! Thank you!♥♥♥

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoAnne1441 September 05, 2008

Yummy! I've never heard of Amish Meatloaf, but sounded good! It definitely beats out the Lipton Onion Soup Mix Recipe that I use. Will use it again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phayward July 06, 2008

My husband and I both enjoyed this meatloaf. Its better than most of the bland options out there. I prefer a smokier taste, but my husband really liked it. He especially enjoyed the bacon topping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellymariedmb March 25, 2008

I have never made a meatloaf as good as this one! We loved it and I will make this again for sure! The sauce is really good too! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iss February 19, 2008
The Best Amish Meatloaf Recipe