93 Reviews

This is my new laminate floor cleaner! Just spray on and wipe off with dust mop or swiffer wet mop pads. I used to use a mix of just vinegar & water, but this works better & leaves a shine! Worked great on my windows & mirrors too, need something stronger for shower & sinks though. It just doesn't cut the soap scum.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rgrynovich September 12, 2012

Absolutely genius. What a great money saver in this economy. Been using this for a while now and couldn't be more pleased with the results. I love knowing for sure what is in the products I use around my family and pets. I finally got smart tonight and wrote the recipe on the gallon jug, to make it easier to mix up next time. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gibson Girl April 17, 2010

Works great! Gets lots of use with the flu going around!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fishguru October 06, 2009

Wow! This cleaner works wonderfully. I was a little skeptical at first, but I knew the real test would be how well it cleaned the windows. Would it streak? The answer was no, it cleaned my windows beautifully and soooo cheap! I had no problems with strong odors. I too used the wintergreen rubbing alcohol and was easily able to find sudsy ammonia at my grocery store. I also noticed this same recipe right there on the sudsy ammonia bottle. Make sure you use the right type of ammonia and dilute with the water as recommended.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbormann April 19, 2008

This does not really need another review BUT HOLY COW! this stuff is amazing! So simple and inexpensive! Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) April 27, 2006

What I like best about this cleaner is the versatility. For about a week and a half I've had one bottle in the kitchen and one in the bathroom. In the bath I'm trying to use it as an after-shower spray (a little too early to tell if it will keep the mildew away or not, but I'm hopeful so far), but then I whip it out to wipe down the counters, get the toothpaste off the mirror, polish up the fixtures, or even give the floor a quick once-over, and so far it's doing a good job at all those things. There are still some things I use other cleaners for (I still bleach the toilet, and I use Barkeeper's Friend in the kitchen for stubborn counter stains etc.) but I find myself using this for more and more cleaning jobs. Did a great job on my sliding glass doors, inside and out, too. I wish it didn't smell so much like ammonia (it's diluted so it isn't like straight ammonia, but the scent is still there. One note for anyone who hasn't tried this yet: I couldn't find sudsy ammonia anywhere and finally started shaking regular ammonia bottles in the grocery store to see if they bubbled at all (got a few weird looks, needless to say). I used the plain grocery store ammonia and it's working just fine.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hudelei April 10, 2004

DH used this when he cleaned ALL of our windows and sliding glass doors last week. He said it was the BEST glass cleaner he ever used.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seashell January 08, 2004

This really works! It works great an appliances, without leaving streaks. Absolutely genius. What a great money saver in this economy. THANK YOU for posting. 10 STARS

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF GRPA July 23, 2012

I've used this cleaner for several years now. I origianlly got it off the internet and it was called Grandma's Cleaner. This recipe doesn't specify how much water, but I use 1 gallon. I keep spray bottles in every area of my house for fast and easy cleanups. It works great and is super cheap!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marianne5 March 26, 2009

At first I wasn't very impressed with this because it didn't do such a great job on my satin finish stainless steel appliances -- I'll still use Stainless Steel Magic for that -- but it worked wonderfully on mirrors, glass, the inside of my microwave (!), even my linoleum floors. It also worked really well on my white plastic appliances (crock pot, food processor, etc.) But the real clincher was when I did a side-by-side test with it on my greasy range hood against the Orange Blast degreaser I paid $5 for at Home Depot. I sprayed them both on, let sit for a few minutes, then wiped/scrubbed off. This cleaner cut through the grease way better than the Orange Blast. I'll never buy another commercial all-purpose cleaner again. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goody2shz May 02, 2008
The Best All Purpose Cleaner