92 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This stuff is awesome. I've already used up my first batch cleaning - got the stuff to make another bottle tonight. I live in military quarters and the tile is all white - I drive myself nuts keeping it clean. This is my answer. Great on my counter tops, stove top, etc. Thanks for posting.

34 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom May 13, 2002

I run a home daycare and like to keep things clean and sanitised. This is great fto quickly wipe the bathroom with. I make this up in smaller batches in my 32 oz spray bottle I use 2 tbsp amonia a drop of dishsoap 1/2 cup rubbing alcohol. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julielenore May 27, 2008

WOW!!! This really works! I mixed up some last night-started cleaning and couldn't stop!! It works great an appliances, without leaving streaks. I have marble tiles around my fireplace that looked clean until I used this on them. I don't think I need to buy 409 or Windex ever again. Thanks for sharing!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dianne03 February 20, 2003

I have made this exact recipe for close to 10 years now. When I say I use it on everything, I mean everything. Windows, counters, bathrooms, kitchen table, highchair, outdoor furniture even my laminate and tile floors. Sometimes I use the menthol alcohol to give a minty scent, haven't purchased any household cleaners in years!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 December 20, 2010

I'm a believer! I whipped up half a batch to try it out and was AMAZED at how well it cleaned. I didn't have sudsy ammonia, so I used regular lemon ammonia and it worked very well. I clean my Kitchen counters faithfully every night using a clorox wipe, which I have to dry with a paper towel, otherwise it streaks my glossy corian type countertops. I *thought* my counters were clean. I could not believe the dirt that came up on the paper towel! I had to spray and wipe a few times before the towel came clean. Here I thought my counters were spotless! After using this stuff, they are streakless and spotless! Used it on my fridge and I saw the dirt dribbling down as I sprayed. Sprayed my sink and it shines and no streaks. The only thing I don't like about it is the smell. It was a bit overpowering at first, but I got used to it. I was whipping around my kitchen like a kid in a candy store cleaning everything I could get my hands on. This beats Magic Eraser a million fold. I'm sold. I love this stuff. ETA: Ohhh my - I just noticed something - I didn't add the water to it. It wasn't in the ingredient list. I used it totally undiluted! I guess that explains the strong smell. ETA: I wet a clean microfibre cloth in water then spray the cleaner, wipe to clean with the wet cloth and then wipe dry with a dry/clean microfibre.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy17 October 12, 2006

I made this cleaner today and used it on my crystal, which I have tons of! It's all nice and sparkly now! It all looks new! Thanks for posting!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy W88 September 15, 2002

This is an excellent cleaner. My kitchen tile shines like it's brand new. I've used it on my stove and it cleans better than any brand name product I've ever purchased. Try this, you will not be disappointed.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michele O'Sullivan January 13, 2004

I mixed this up quite a while ago and put it into spray bottles. It's time for another batch. It's when I came back to my cookbook to make more that I noticed that I hadn't reviewed it. I use it all the time to spray down my fiberglass shower after each use. It really cuts down on the hard water build up on the fiberglass. Then I just spray the hot shower water over it to rinse it clean.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge January 03, 2004

I really enjoyed putting this together. I was pleasantly suprised that it didnt have too strong of a chemical smell. I liked using it for my surfaces and appliances, but not so much for mirrors. I prefer my glass cleaner just because it is a little bit less streaky. Will definitely be making again. Thanks! :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Munchkin Mama July 01, 2008

I love this stuff. I've been using it for years and am really happy with it. I don't use it on everything (for example my granite countertops) but it works like a dream in the bathroom. I love the fact that the alcohol disinfects. Just a note that this is a spray and wipe type of cleaner. It does not work well with a wet rag. Personally I like the smell better than store bought cleaners and it's only temporary. A jug also lasts a long time. I use regular ammonia and oxy palmolive which gives it a little extra oomph. Thanks for a fantastic recipe. I will never go back.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosiegirl February 08, 2008
The Best All Purpose Cleaner