Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best All Purpose Cleaner Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best All Purpose Cleaner

    Average Rating:

    92 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 92

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2002

      This stuff is awesome. I've already used up my first batch cleaning - got the stuff to make another bottle tonight. I live in military quarters and the tile is all white - I drive myself nuts keeping it clean. This is my answer. Great on my counter tops, stove top, etc. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      I run a home daycare and like to keep things clean and sanitised. This is great fto quickly wipe the bathroom with. I make this up in smaller batches in my 32 oz spray bottle I use 2 tbsp amonia a drop of dishsoap 1/2 cup rubbing alcohol. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2003

      WOW!!! This really works! I mixed up some last night-started cleaning and couldn't stop!! It works great an appliances, without leaving streaks. I have marble tiles around my fireplace that looked clean until I used this on them. I don't think I need to buy 409 or Windex ever again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2002

      I made this cleaner today and used it on my crystal, which I have tons of! It's all nice and sparkly now! It all looks new! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      I have made this exact recipe for close to 10 years now. When I say I use it on everything, I mean everything. Windows, counters, bathrooms, kitchen table, highchair, outdoor furniture even my laminate and tile floors. Sometimes I use the menthol alcohol to give a minty scent, haven't purchased any household cleaners in years!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      I'm a believer! I whipped up half a batch to try it out and was AMAZED at how well it cleaned. I didn't have sudsy ammonia, so I used regular lemon ammonia and it worked very well. I clean my Kitchen counters faithfully every night using a clorox wipe, which I have to dry with a paper towel, otherwise it streaks my glossy corian type countertops. I *thought* my counters were clean. I could not believe the dirt that came up on the paper towel! I had to spray and wipe a few times before the towel came clean. Here I thought my counters were spotless! After using this stuff, they are streakless and spotless! Used it on my fridge and I saw the dirt dribbling down as I sprayed. Sprayed my sink and it shines and no streaks. The only thing I don't like about it is the smell. It was a bit overpowering at first, but I got used to it. I was whipping around my kitchen like a kid in a candy store cleaning everything I could get my hands on. This beats Magic Eraser a million fold. I'm sold. I love this stuff. ETA: Ohhh my - I just noticed something - I didn't add the water to it. It wasn't in the ingredient list. I used it totally undiluted! I guess that explains the strong smell. ETA: I wet a clean microfibre cloth in water then spray the cleaner, wipe to clean with the wet cloth and then wipe dry with a dry/clean microfibre.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2004

      This is an excellent cleaner. My kitchen tile shines like it's brand new. I've used it on my stove and it cleans better than any brand name product I've ever purchased. Try this, you will not be disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2004

      I mixed this up quite a while ago and put it into spray bottles. It's time for another batch. It's when I came back to my cookbook to make more that I noticed that I hadn't reviewed it. I use it all the time to spray down my fiberglass shower after each use. It really cuts down on the hard water build up on the fiberglass. Then I just spray the hot shower water over it to rinse it clean.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      Absolutely genius. What a great money saver in this economy. Been using this for a while now and couldn't be more pleased with the results. I love knowing for sure what is in the products I use around my family and pets. I finally got smart tonight and wrote the recipe on the gallon jug, to make it easier to mix up next time. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      I really enjoyed putting this together. I was pleasantly suprised that it didnt have too strong of a chemical smell. I liked using it for my surfaces and appliances, but not so much for mirrors. I prefer my glass cleaner just because it is a little bit less streaky. Will definitely be making again. Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      I love this stuff. I've been using it for years and am really happy with it. I don't use it on everything (for example my granite countertops) but it works like a dream in the bathroom. I love the fact that the alcohol disinfects. Just a note that this is a spray and wipe type of cleaner. It does not work well with a wet rag. Personally I like the smell better than store bought cleaners and it's only temporary. A jug also lasts a long time. I use regular ammonia and oxy palmolive which gives it a little extra oomph. Thanks for a fantastic recipe. I will never go back.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2004

      DH used this when he cleaned ALL of our windows and sliding glass doors last week. He said it was the BEST glass cleaner he ever used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      This is my new laminate floor cleaner! Just spray on and wipe off with dust mop or swiffer wet mop pads. I used to use a mix of just vinegar & water, but this works better & leaves a shine! Worked great on my windows & mirrors too, need something stronger for shower & sinks though. It just doesn't cut the soap scum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2012

      This really works! It works great an appliances, without leaving streaks. Absolutely genius. What a great money saver in this economy. THANK YOU for posting. 10 STARS

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      Works great! Gets lots of use with the flu going around!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      I've used this cleaner for several years now. I origianlly got it off the internet and it was called Grandma's Cleaner. This recipe doesn't specify how much water, but I use 1 gallon. I keep spray bottles in every area of my house for fast and easy cleanups. It works great and is super cheap!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      At first I wasn't very impressed with this because it didn't do such a great job on my satin finish stainless steel appliances -- I'll still use Stainless Steel Magic for that -- but it worked wonderfully on mirrors, glass, the inside of my microwave (!), even my linoleum floors. It also worked really well on my white plastic appliances (crock pot, food processor, etc.) But the real clincher was when I did a side-by-side test with it on my greasy range hood against the Orange Blast degreaser I paid $5 for at Home Depot. I sprayed them both on, let sit for a few minutes, then wiped/scrubbed off. This cleaner cut through the grease way better than the Orange Blast. I'll never buy another commercial all-purpose cleaner again. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      Wow! This cleaner works wonderfully. I was a little skeptical at first, but I knew the real test would be how well it cleaned the windows. Would it streak? The answer was no, it cleaned my windows beautifully and soooo cheap! I had no problems with strong odors. I too used the wintergreen rubbing alcohol and was easily able to find sudsy ammonia at my grocery store. I also noticed this same recipe right there on the sudsy ammonia bottle. Make sure you use the right type of ammonia and dilute with the water as recommended.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      This was good, although I didn't really find it to be any better than a store-bought cleaner. And as another reviewer said, the smell of ammonia & alcohol is overpowering. I also found out by accident that it does not store well in a plastic milk jug -- the cleaner pretty much ate through the plastic and leaked all over the floor of my linen closet. Sorry - I don't think I'll try this "recipe" again. -M

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2006

      This does not really need another review BUT HOLY COW! this stuff is amazing! So simple and inexpensive! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best All Purpose Cleaner

    Serving Size: 1 (1750 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites