17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love The Barefoot Contessa's recipes and I love Ginger. So I knew that these cookies would be special and they were. Crisp, chewy, spicy cookies that had attitude. I was concerned about the amount of candied ginger, not for myself but for my family and friends, but made exactly as written and I wouldn't change a thing. Let me tell you, that everyone who tried them couldn't say enough nice things about the cookies. They all asked for the recipe and went away happy. These were the only cookies that I kept a batch of for myself and dh, were we ever glad that I did. These will be a repeat cookie in my christmas tins and trays from now on. Kudos on an excellent recipe susie cooks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato December 29, 2011

Absolutely delicious! Very intensely spiced. One tip - make sure you roll the cookies before you bake them to get the

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Curly girl chef November 10, 2013

Not a big ginger fan, but suddenly, the spiciness is great for these old taste buds! Excellent recipe and will be using in my cookie exchange!

MMMMMMMMMMMMM

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amberngriffinco October 25, 2012

I'm giving this recipe 3 stars because it's too spicy. These cookies look like they're from a gourmet bakery. They're crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. Next time I'll reduce the cloves to 1/2 or 1 tsp. I'll also reduce the crystalized ginger to 1/2 cup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chutneyluv May 30, 2011

Wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo November 26, 2010

These are wonderful! Super ginger-y! People will find out if they really like ginger or not when eating these! They were enjoyed by most who tried them, a few thought they were too strong. Must like ginger! I like these over ginger snaps, which are a more crisp cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
decarli1 November 12, 2010

These cookies were nice & chewy! I added a handful of chopped fresh mint.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Purple_Sea_Bait August 24, 2010

I absolutely LOVED these cookies!!! Ina's recipes are always right on, easy to follow and ALWAYS taste delicious!!! These are the best around!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pderisi December 12, 2009

Made these up for a treat during Thanksgiving Week. Everyone raved and they were enjoyed by all but one who was NOT a Ginger fan. These are nice and moist, and the flavor and cheweyness is absolutely fantastic! Thank You for this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chabear01 November 27, 2009

I should've given my "tips" for this recipe in my review. First of all, follow it to the letter. The dough is very stiff. When it was all finished, I didn't have very high hopes for a moist cookie, but boy, was I wrong. Secondly, I keep a shaker full of sugar in my cupboard. I focused a shake on the parchment paper prior to setting down a ball of dough, then pressed the dough down and sprinkled the top. Thirdly, I am not a molasses expert. Light, dark? I settled on "Grandma's Gold Label", as I'd seen in mentioned in other recipes. Lastly, the most reasonable resource for crystallized ginger for me turned out to be Super Target. The "Archer Farms" brand pieces required very little (if any) additional chopping, unlike the McCormick brand, and were much more reasonably priced. There aren't any specialty markets near my home, and I wanted to bake these today.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
two poodles November 01, 2009
The Barefoot Contessa's Ultimate Ginger Cookies