Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Barefoot Contessa's Ultimate Ginger Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Barefoot Contessa's Ultimate Ginger Cookies

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on December 29, 2011

      I love The Barefoot Contessa's recipes and I love Ginger. So I knew that these cookies would be special and they were. Crisp, chewy, spicy cookies that had attitude. I was concerned about the amount of candied ginger, not for myself but for my family and friends, but made exactly as written and I wouldn't change a thing. Let me tell you, that everyone who tried them couldn't say enough nice things about the cookies. They all asked for the recipe and went away happy. These were the only cookies that I kept a batch of for myself and dh, were we ever glad that I did. These will be a repeat cookie in my christmas tins and trays from now on. Kudos on an excellent recipe susie cooks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      Absolutely delicious! Very intensely spiced. One tip - make sure you roll the cookies before you bake them to get the

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2012

      Not a big ginger fan, but suddenly, the spiciness is great for these old taste buds! Excellent recipe and will be using in my cookie exchange!

      MMMMMMMMMMMMM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      I'm giving this recipe 3 stars because it's too spicy. These cookies look like they're from a gourmet bakery. They're crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. Next time I'll reduce the cloves to 1/2 or 1 tsp. I'll also reduce the crystalized ginger to 1/2 cup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      These are wonderful! Super ginger-y! People will find out if they really like ginger or not when eating these! They were enjoyed by most who tried them, a few thought they were too strong. Must like ginger! I like these over ginger snaps, which are a more crisp cookie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      These cookies were nice & chewy! I added a handful of chopped fresh mint.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      I absolutely LOVED these cookies!!! Ina's recipes are always right on, easy to follow and ALWAYS taste delicious!!! These are the best around!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Made these up for a treat during Thanksgiving Week. Everyone raved and they were enjoyed by all but one who was NOT a Ginger fan. These are nice and moist, and the flavor and cheweyness is absolutely fantastic! Thank You for this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      I should've given my "tips" for this recipe in my review. First of all, follow it to the letter. The dough is very stiff. When it was all finished, I didn't have very high hopes for a moist cookie, but boy, was I wrong. Secondly, I keep a shaker full of sugar in my cupboard. I focused a shake on the parchment paper prior to setting down a ball of dough, then pressed the dough down and sprinkled the top. Thirdly, I am not a molasses expert. Light, dark? I settled on "Grandma's Gold Label", as I'd seen in mentioned in other recipes. Lastly, the most reasonable resource for crystallized ginger for me turned out to be Super Target. The "Archer Farms" brand pieces required very little (if any) additional chopping, unlike the McCormick brand, and were much more reasonably priced. There aren't any specialty markets near my home, and I wanted to bake these today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      I rolled the dough for each cookie in a ball and rolled the ball in the sugar and then pressed them down. Worked perfectly. My favorite cookie is a ginger cookie and this one is truly the ultimate one. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

    • on January 29, 2009

      These are my husband's favorite cookies. I have to double the recipe whenever I make them. When I first started making them I found the dough a little sticky to work with but now I dip my fingertips in sugar when pressing them down and it works out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

    • on December 11, 2007

      I have made this cookie MANY times from her cookbook. I have varied on a few things, light vs dark brown sugar, sorghum vs. molassese but following the recipe to a "T" is important, you have to do the 5 min beating and the 1 min of the egg to get the right texture. AND you must not overbake them! The dough is very sticky, I tend to put the dough in the refrigerator and only bake what I'm going to eat/serve. Perfect everytime!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      I have to confess if forced to choose between spice and chocolate desserts, I would choose the former. Given that, this has been in my cookbook to try for a long time. I am so glad I finally tried it as the cookies were just superb - a giant soft ginger cookie punctuated with bits of crystalyzed ginger. On reading the recipe, I wondered why the liquids needed to be mixed for 5 whole minutes but it turned out to be an important step as the mixing melted the brown suger and turned the mixture into a dark glossy syrup. Thank you susie cooks for a fantastic cookie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      Followed the recipe as shown and ended up with a dry crumbly "cookie" dough. I had to add more oil and some water to get it even close to workable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Barefoot Contessa's Ultimate Ginger Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (740 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 173.7
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    20%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 13.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 118.2 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 17.3 g
    69%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    crystallized ginger

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites