18 Reviews

PRO! This recipe is totally pro. The only differences that I made were out of personal preferences. Instead of milk and cream, I used buttermilk. Since I'm always looking to reduce on sugar, I used 1/2 Splenda and 1/2 Sugar. Didnt want to deviate too much because I know that the filling and topping wont have that CRUNCH if you remove the sugar for that. I also cheated and used Self Rising Flour instead of measuring out the A P Flour and such. I'm just lazy like that. I didnt sift it, but I "did" sprinkle it into my wet mixture and remembered not to over mix. I also used 1/2 butter and 1/2 canola oil, making sure that I drizzled left over melted butter on top of entire topping of cake. I would have taken a picture, but it was absolutely "IDENTICAL" to the picture. I was amazed!!!! This will be my special blueberry recipe from now on. I dont even want to look for another. I'm good now. Thank you to who ever created this original recipe. Love you forever!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
consbaby June 08, 2012

This was the most excellent coffee cake. It got RAVE Reviews last sunday when I made it for my family.. everyone wanted the recipe.. I didn't change a thing.. made just as recipe stated.. it was perfect.. thanks for posting this recipe.. will be a family favorite for years to come..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bcake1960 August 28, 2011

Soooo good! I did a couple things a little differently so that I could use what I had on hand, like reduced-fat cream cheese instead of regular and using half and half in place of the milk and whipping cream. I also used four cups of blueberries instead of 3 and used brown sugar in the topping instead of white. This cake is so flavorful and moist. I can't wait to have another piece tomorrow morning!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rljacdcjecl July 18, 2009

As with all such recipes, spreading the second half of the batter over the blueberries is tricky. I used a combination of cream cheese and sour cream with good results. This also needed to bake slightly longer than listed, but that varies by oven. The cake came out moist, crumbly and delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aaron August 09, 2008

This is the BEST COFFEE CAKE in the world! Mine turned out exactly like Calee's beautiful photograph. It was simple to make and it tastes amazing. I had use a couple of tablespoons of sour cream instead of the whipping cream (I was out of whipping cream) and I used frozen blueberries. It was so delicious. This is a ten star winner! Thanks again Kitten for an outstanding recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 August 29, 2007

I'm a huge Kittencal fan. This recipe did not disappoint. The flavor and textures are spot on. The crunchy sugary top is a nice contrast to the soft cake. The cake itself is moist and rich. My only complaint is the volume of batter. The pan was really full! It took 56 minutes to bake in my oven. It was quite golden when it came out of the oven. I was sure the outer edges would be overbaked. They weren't at all! Still, I might divide the batter into 2 smaller cakes next time. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thanks Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryandkevinaz May 21, 2015

I can definitely see why this recipe is called "The Absolute Best"! I had been looking for a good blueberry coffee cake and THIS IS IT! When making the batter, I did find it to be somewhat dense. To remedy this to my liking, I increased the milk by adding an additional 2 Tbsp and used almond milk instead of regular milk and increased the heavy whipping cream to 1/4 cup. I mixed in 1/2 cup of slivered almonds with the crumble and added a glaze to the top after it had cooled. For the glaze, I used 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar, 1/2 tsp almond extract and 4-5 Tbsp almond milk. I also found that I needed to increase the baking to an hour. This could have been because I used frozen blueberries. I will definitely make this recipe again and I will also be adding it to my personal cookbook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mlzapa October 24, 2013

Absolutely Delicious and "Oh so pretty"!! Mine took about 10 minutes longer to bake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hissy Hussy May 29, 2012

This is the most wonderful coffee cake EVER! I have been looking for a recipe just like this for a while now-- the others just don't measure up. If you like blueberries and soft moist cake and buttery, crunchy topping, this is the one for you! I used up what I had in the house -- some sour cream and some mascarpone chese -- to equal the right amount. I used frozen wild blueberries and it was a little under-done when thie time was up, so just baked a little longer until the center tested done with a toothpick. I will be trying it with other fresh fruits -- I can imagine that it would be wonderful with peaches, plums, raspberries ... almost any fruit you could think of! Just yummy -- from me, DH and DM! Kittencal, you always deliver!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monicawf August 23, 2010

Awesome cake! I really like the addition of the cream cheese, the raw dough is soooo good as well! Thank you so much Kittencal, I think your recipes need to be bronzed!!!!:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noodleme20 November 07, 2008
The Absolute Best Moist Buttery Blueberry Coffee Cake