Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Absolute Best Moist Buttery Blueberry Coffee Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Absolute Best Moist Buttery Blueberry Coffee Cake

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2012

      PRO! This recipe is totally pro. The only differences that I made were out of personal preferences. Instead of milk and cream, I used buttermilk. Since I'm always looking to reduce on sugar, I used 1/2 Splenda and 1/2 Sugar. Didnt want to deviate too much because I know that the filling and topping wont have that CRUNCH if you remove the sugar for that. I also cheated and used Self Rising Flour instead of measuring out the A P Flour and such. I'm just lazy like that. I didnt sift it, but I "did" sprinkle it into my wet mixture and remembered not to over mix. I also used 1/2 butter and 1/2 canola oil, making sure that I drizzled left over melted butter on top of entire topping of cake. I would have taken a picture, but it was absolutely "IDENTICAL" to the picture. I was amazed!!!! This will be my special blueberry recipe from now on. I dont even want to look for another. I'm good now. Thank you to who ever created this original recipe. Love you forever!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2011

      This was the most excellent coffee cake. It got RAVE Reviews last sunday when I made it for my family.. everyone wanted the recipe.. I didn't change a thing.. made just as recipe stated.. it was perfect.. thanks for posting this recipe.. will be a family favorite for years to come..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      Soooo good! I did a couple things a little differently so that I could use what I had on hand, like reduced-fat cream cheese instead of regular and using half and half in place of the milk and whipping cream. I also used four cups of blueberries instead of 3 and used brown sugar in the topping instead of white. This cake is so flavorful and moist. I can't wait to have another piece tomorrow morning!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      As with all such recipes, spreading the second half of the batter over the blueberries is tricky. I used a combination of cream cheese and sour cream with good results. This also needed to bake slightly longer than listed, but that varies by oven. The cake came out moist, crumbly and delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      This is the BEST COFFEE CAKE in the world! Mine turned out exactly like Calee's beautiful photograph. It was simple to make and it tastes amazing. I had use a couple of tablespoons of sour cream instead of the whipping cream (I was out of whipping cream) and I used frozen blueberries. It was so delicious. This is a ten star winner! Thanks again Kitten for an outstanding recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2013

      I can definitely see why this recipe is called "The Absolute Best"! I had been looking for a good blueberry coffee cake and THIS IS IT! When making the batter, I did find it to be somewhat dense. To remedy this to my liking, I increased the milk by adding an additional 2 Tbsp and used almond milk instead of regular milk and increased the heavy whipping cream to 1/4 cup. I mixed in 1/2 cup of slivered almonds with the crumble and added a glaze to the top after it had cooled. For the glaze, I used 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar, 1/2 tsp almond extract and 4-5 Tbsp almond milk. I also found that I needed to increase the baking to an hour. This could have been because I used frozen blueberries. I will definitely make this recipe again and I will also be adding it to my personal cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2012

      Absolutely Delicious and "Oh so pretty"!! Mine took about 10 minutes longer to bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      This is the most wonderful coffee cake EVER! I have been looking for a recipe just like this for a while now-- the others just don't measure up. If you like blueberries and soft moist cake and buttery, crunchy topping, this is the one for you! I used up what I had in the house -- some sour cream and some mascarpone chese -- to equal the right amount. I used frozen wild blueberries and it was a little under-done when thie time was up, so just baked a little longer until the center tested done with a toothpick. I will be trying it with other fresh fruits -- I can imagine that it would be wonderful with peaches, plums, raspberries ... almost any fruit you could think of! Just yummy -- from me, DH and DM! Kittencal, you always deliver!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      Awesome cake! I really like the addition of the cream cheese, the raw dough is soooo good as well! Thank you so much Kittencal, I think your recipes need to be bronzed!!!!:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      Excellent as always, Kitten. This coffeecake is bursting with blueberries and loaded with flavor. The cake is moist and tender with the cinnamon topping making the cake complete! Made as directed for Zaar Stars Tag. Thanks so much again, Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      I am not a huge coffe cake fan, but I love blueberries. This was amazing and got rave reviews from my guests!! I followed the directions exactly. The only thing I will do differently next time is add a cream cheese layer under the blueberries because I have a huge sweet tooth! :) Thanks once again Kittencal for another winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      Your description of this cake has me hooked for a try! The photos make my mouth water. I'll review with a star rating when I actually try it. I just wanted to compliment you on pulling me in with your description.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      I chose to make this cake for the Cake-a-Thon in Memory of Chef-I-Am for my DH office party. What I was told “Oh my what a cake! Quick grab a piece before it is all gone. Lucky for me my DH has saved me a piece to try later. Oh my this is so good! No wonder this did not last long at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      You are right this is the best blueberry coffee cake Ive ever made! I used frozen blueberries I cant wait until fresh ones are available. I used butter and cream cheese. For the topping I used brown sugar and left out the cinnamon. Mine baked up in 45 minutes. *Perfection*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      For the vanilla, I used 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp almond exract. This cake is fanastic. Moist and buttery really does describe this well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      Delicious, just delicious. We enjoyed this very much. I used wild blueberries for a real taste treat. Thanks for sharing Kitten, I'll be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      All I can say is...Yes! It is! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Absolute Best Moist Buttery Blueberry Coffee Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (123 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 397.1
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    46%
    Total Fat 20.6 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 12.3 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 79.4 mg
    26%
    Sodium 280.1 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 28.3 g
    113%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites