Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Absolute Best Dark Chocolate Chocolate Chip Texas Sheet Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Absolute Best Dark Chocolate Chocolate Chip Texas Sheet Cake

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2010

      This was the best Texas sheet cake I have made so far! Mine turned out looking like "Engrossed" picture. I made with the least amount cocoa called for, and thought it was perfect. The only thing I would change next time is to sprinkle the chips on after pouring in the pan to more evenly distribute them. Sooo delicious, and the frosting was so creamy. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      WOWZERS! This was soooooo DELISH! I mixed it all with a wooden spoon in a medium pot that I did step 3 in. It was easy and the only problem I had was the flour was a little lumpy. But the flavor and texture of the cake turned out very nice! I REALLY recommend the suggested frosting...I made it with heavy cream and it was like a fluffy, creamy, chocolatey mousse....I was eating it with a spoon. I would like to try the cake with cinnamon in it. Thanks for this keeper recipe! Made for Zaar Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      This cake is so rich and chocolaty - I love it! I had a small problem with the chocolate chips settling to the bottom of the cake, but other than that, it is DELICIOUS! I topped it with Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing and Kittencal's Best Cream Cheese Frosting (Extra Creamy Option). It was hard to eat only one piece!!! I will definitely make this again :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      While this cake did not work for what I wanted to do (I wanted to make it a layer cake), I cannot give it less than 5 stars because the taste was simply out of this world and since it clearly says it's a sheet cake recipe, my failure is my own fault. :) In reality, it did OK as a layer cake (baked it about 30 mins on 350 in 8x2 inch round pans), but it stuck despite liberal pan greasing so my layers weren't as uniform as I hoped. The taste was so amazing no one cared what it looked like!!! I covered it in Creamy Peanut Butter Frosting (Creamy Peanut Butter Frosting). Definitely not a daily treat if you don't want to buy a new wardrobe in a bigger size!!! But everyone who tastes it agrees it's a fabulous, decadent chocolate cake. I followed the recipe exactly except I added an extra 1/4 cup flour (hoping to make it firmer, for layer construction). It was still exceptionally moist even with the additional flour (I did use cake flour instead of all-purpose). Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2014

      I have been a Kittencal follower for years back when recipezaar existed...this is the only choc sheetcake recipe and frosting recipe I use. I have been asked every yr to make for a church I dont belong to as well as for the teachers at thw schools my children go to. For jujusmommy and anyone else, this makes an awesome half sheet cake. All you do is double the recipe and quadruplethe frosting. I use a half sheet pan, line it with the nonstick aluminum foil, spray it all with either coconut a d canoil oil, pour and bake, then trim the edges before removing from the pan, invert onto a cake board...then add frosting...then do the same with the other cooked sheet cake and carefully place on top of the now frosted base sheetcake..then frost top and sides and place in a cake box with a window (boards and box are obtainable at Michaels craft store or equivalent)...everyone thinks its a store bought cake so I make sure to write on the top of the box that its an all natural cake and list all the ingredients...folks are always in awe that I made it from scratch...it takes abour an hr and a half from start to finish (without prep or cleanup time added)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2014

      Surprise---another five stars for this lollapalooza of a cake! My assignment for this month's supper club was dessert, and it turned out superbly. I added a couple of tablespoons of Kahlua liqueur to the frosting, and that didn't do it a bit of harm! Another Kcal winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2011

      I made this cake for our family reunion dinner and everyone loved it. The icing was especially good - tasted like fudge! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      I made this for my daughter's class Christmas party, and it was a great. Everybody loved, parents and kids alike. Thanks for posting this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

      I have made texas sheet cakes for years and thought they could not be improved upon. Was I wrong! This version is fantastic. I brought some to a party and they were a huge hit. I later found out the host of the party actually hid some pieces of the cake so he could have them all to himself. I used Hershey's special dark chocolate in both the cake and the icing. Fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      this is definetly the best chocolate cake I have ever tried. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      This cake is wonderful. I made it for a community soup feed and it went so fast I had to grab a piece and hide it so I could taste it. The only problem I had was that the chocolate chips seemed to "pool" in the center of the cake. The next time I make it I will give the batter a stir once it's in the pan to help mix the chips a little more. This is a recipe I will be making a lot. Thanks Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      okay, I agree this IS THE BEST chocolate sheet cake going, this is a dark chocolate lovers dream cake, it's so moist and rich, another all-time winning recipe from Kit, you do NOT have one bad recipe, thanks again Kit

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      thanks for a lovely cake recipe, just loved the icing it was devine. I needed to add more cream probably almost a cup. thanks again.chris

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      Kitten, this cake is absolutely wonderful! It is moist, tender and delicious! The coffee gives the chocolate such a wonderful, rich depth of flavor. I frosted the cake with your The Absolute Best Dark Chocolate Chocolate Chip Texas Sheet Cake. My boys are gonna love this! Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Absolute Best Dark Chocolate Chocolate Chip Texas Sheet Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (43 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 50

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 157.0
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    44%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 24.4 mg
    8%
    Sodium 104.4 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 16.8 g
    67%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites