14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was the best Texas sheet cake I have made so far! Mine turned out looking like "Engrossed" picture. I made with the least amount cocoa called for, and thought it was perfect. The only thing I would change next time is to sprinkle the chips on after pouring in the pan to more evenly distribute them. Sooo delicious, and the frosting was so creamy. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes October 27, 2010

WOWZERS! This was soooooo DELISH! I mixed it all with a wooden spoon in a medium pot that I did step 3 in. It was easy and the only problem I had was the flour was a little lumpy. But the flavor and texture of the cake turned out very nice! I REALLY recommend the suggested frosting...I made it with heavy cream and it was like a fluffy, creamy, chocolatey mousse....I was eating it with a spoon. I would like to try the cake with cinnamon in it. Thanks for this keeper recipe! Made for Zaar Tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed February 25, 2007

While this cake did not work for what I wanted to do (I wanted to make it a layer cake), I cannot give it less than 5 stars because the taste was simply out of this world and since it clearly says it's a sheet cake recipe, my failure is my own fault. :) In reality, it did OK as a layer cake (baked it about 30 mins on 350 in 8x2 inch round pans), but it stuck despite liberal pan greasing so my layers weren't as uniform as I hoped. The taste was so amazing no one cared what it looked like!!! I covered it in Creamy Peanut Butter Frosting (Creamy Peanut Butter Frosting). Definitely not a daily treat if you don't want to buy a new wardrobe in a bigger size!!! But everyone who tastes it agrees it's a fabulous, decadent chocolate cake. I followed the recipe exactly except I added an extra 1/4 cup flour (hoping to make it firmer, for layer construction). It was still exceptionally moist even with the additional flour (I did use cake flour instead of all-purpose). Thanks for posting this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jujusmommy June 03, 2008

I have been a Kittencal follower for years back when recipezaar existed...this is the only choc sheetcake recipe and frosting recipe I use. I have been asked every yr to make for a church I dont belong to as well as for the teachers at thw schools my children go to. For jujusmommy and anyone else, this makes an awesome half sheet cake. All you do is double the recipe and quadruplethe frosting. I use a half sheet pan, line it with the nonstick aluminum foil, spray it all with either coconut a d canoil oil, pour and bake, then trim the edges before removing from the pan, invert onto a cake board...then add frosting...then do the same with the other cooked sheet cake and carefully place on top of the now frosted base sheetcake..then frost top and sides and place in a cake box with a window (boards and box are obtainable at Michaels craft store or equivalent)...everyone thinks its a store bought cake so I make sure to write on the top of the box that its an all natural cake and list all the ingredients...folks are always in awe that I made it from scratch...it takes abour an hr and a half from start to finish (without prep or cleanup time added)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elliemae Clampet June 02, 2014

Surprise---another five stars for this lollapalooza of a cake! My assignment for this month's supper club was dessert, and it turned out superbly. I added a couple of tablespoons of Kahlua liqueur to the frosting, and that didn't do it a bit of harm! Another Kcal winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Dilettante February 15, 2014

I made this cake for our family reunion dinner and everyone loved it. The icing was especially good - tasted like fudge! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas August 08, 2011

I made this for my daughter's class Christmas party, and it was a great. Everybody loved, parents and kids alike. Thanks for posting this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jjsmurff December 15, 2010

I have made texas sheet cakes for years and thought they could not be improved upon. Was I wrong! This version is fantastic. I brought some to a party and they were a huge hit. I later found out the host of the party actually hid some pieces of the cake so he could have them all to himself. I used Hershey's special dark chocolate in both the cake and the icing. Fabulous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bbh August 07, 2010

this is definetly the best chocolate cake I have ever tried. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kacey01 July 05, 2008
The Absolute Best Dark Chocolate Chocolate Chip Texas Sheet Cake