Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Absolute Best Applesauce Spice Muffins With Spice Topping! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Absolute Best Applesauce Spice Muffins With Spice Topping!

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2010

      Fantastic muffin. What I like about this is the easy, quick way to put together. Usually I have to peel and chop apples and with this recipe, I do not have to do this unless I want to add one apple. I use just the applesauce and no nuts and it is DELICIOUS. I did buy the apple pie spice and used that rather than separate spices because the same ingredients are in it. I just added it all together and added almost 2 teaspoons of that to the muffins. These muffins are very moist, just be careful not to overmix. I love the fact that this recipe can be mixed in less than 5 minutes and probably be gone in the same amount of time!!! Thanks for the delicious recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

      Kittencal, you are so good at muffins. :) Even though I kind of messed with this recipe a bit, these muffins are still a really nice spice muffin. I love how you just need a whisk to mix everything! This is going to be one of my rotating muffin recipes that I make for my husband to grab-and-go on his way to work (along with Best Bran Muffins, Chocolaty Decadence Banana Muffins, and Pumpkin Pie Bread [in muffin form]). I used 1/2 c. whole wheat flour as part of the 1 1/2 cups, 1 slightly rounded tsp. cinnamon, I used 1/4 c. Splenda for 1/4 c. of the brown sugar, and I traded all instances of allspice out for apple pie spice. I also decreased the butter by 1/4 c. and used 1/4 c. more of applesauce, and I didn't use nuts. I got 15 delicious standard-size muffins. Until I unpack my own Wilton pans, I am using dark Oneida muffin tins, and 350 for 18 minutes is PERFECT for these (for me). I only sprinkle about 1/2 tsp. of topping ingredients on each muffin, so the topping ingredients make a lot, but I just save it in a Ziploc sandwich baggie (labeled as to what it is) for the next batch of muffins, because I know I'll be making these again! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      Wonderful muffins! I subbed Splenda brown sugar blend for the brown sugar due to being diabetic but didn't make any other changes. They smelled incredible while cooking and I was waiting impatiently for them to cool enough to touch lol. These are a keeper for me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2013

      Great basic recipe that allowed me to make a few substitutions...I used coconut oil that I measured then melted instead of the butter called for. And I subbed some of the brown sugar for coconut palm sugar. You dont taste the coconut at all but get the benefits of slightly healthier ingredients. I also subbed some whole wheat flour for part of the flour...about a 1/2 cup...probably could have done more. I added a couple TBSPs of ground flax seed as well. Finally, I topped half of them with my homemade seed/nut granola instead of the spice sugar topping. The other half remained plain for my husband who is rather picky. They were delicious and made a nice, portable breakfast treat for me to wolf down in the car on the way to work this week! I'd definitely make them again. Yes, I know I made substitutions but it still had the yummy apple spice favors of the original.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2013

      This is one delicious muffin. I loved the topping and it is really easy to make. I added pecans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2013

      These muffins are absolutely delicious!! So light and fluffy!! Instead of the nuts I just chopped up an apple. That made a great contrast. I had quite a few fallen apples to use up so made my plain apple sauce the night before. A great way to use up the apples! So yummy!! I am on my third batch right now!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

      Great recipe! Soooo yummy! I actually replaced the white flour for whole wheat and the eggs for 1 heaped tbsp of yogurt for each egg and I used half olive oil and half butter (you couldn't even taste the olive oil). I think next time I'll try coconut oil and see what happens. Very very moist and flavorful! Thank you for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      I turned it into a cake, and therefore had to adjust the cooking time, but it was GREAT!! Loved by all :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      We love our muffins in the mornings with coffee. I will be adding this one to our list...The only changes I made was 1 peeled and diced apple and cut the amount of nuts to 3/4 cup pecans also used only 1/2 the topping,made 8 jumbo muffins. The texture and flavor is great...Would also make a nice snack cake with a dollop of whip cream...UMMMMM.....Thank U for another great recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      LOVED these muffins. The recipe is perfect, producing a moist and delicious muffin. I used cinnamon applesauce, because that is what I had on hand. It was still terrific. This muffin recipe will get tucked right into my favorites file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      Recipe is a winner! I like that it is easy to put together. The spice blend is spot on. The only reservation I might have is that a different topping might just make it shine brighter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      Just made these for a Saturday breakfast for the family and everyone gobbled them up. Thanks for another great recipe, Kittencal!! They were moist and flavorful - delish! I made them exactly as stated, only I used brown sugar for the topping instead of white. Next time, I'd like to try them with more applesauce & less butter like another reviewer suggests to make them a little healthier. Yum yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      These are wonderful. Really light and fluffy and not in the least bit bland. We added walnuts, and they were a nice contrast to the consistency of the muffins. The crunchy sugar top made these muffins though. The whole pan was gone before the night was over. These are great plain, they didn't need any accompaniments, which was great. Another great recipe that even the picky eaters in the house enjoyed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      I made this recipe with homemade applesauce, and it was FABULOUS - even my husband liked them, and he NEVER eats muffins! I did replace 1/2 cup of white flour with whole wheat, used 1+1/2 cup applesauce and only 1/4 cup melted butter, and used half brown sugar and half white in the spice topping. Other than that, I followed directions to the letter, and we were quite pleased. Will definitely be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      Got a great deal on applesauce this week, so hunted around for this recipe. Made it exactly as written, cooked for about 22 minutes. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      These were a hit with my husband and the guys in his shop. I left off the spice topping and subbed chocolate chips for the nuts. Absolutely moist and heavenly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2008

      goods muffins to make with kids - i healthed these up a bit. I substitiued 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour for the white flour, and used 1 1/2 cups apple sauce and 1/4 cup of butter. For the topping, i used the same spices, but mixed up a tbsp of butter some brown sugar and what germ.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

    • on February 16, 2008

      Wow these muffins are great! They are easy to make and both my kids devoured them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      Made a double batch of these today. One for my banker and one for my family. Superb! I did not add any nuts or raisins since I was not sure of taste preferences or allergies at the bank. Nice spice combo and I thought the sweetness level was right on the money. Easy, quick and yummy. Will make again for sure. Thanks Kittencal! ~Sheila

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Absolute Best Applesauce Spice Muffins With Spice Topping!

    Serving Size: 1 (1193 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 328.4
     
    Calories from Fat 144
    44%
    Total Fat 16.0 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 51.3 mg
    17%
    Sodium 327.3 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 27.2 g
    109%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites