Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / That Pumpkin Stuff--Pumpkin Dessert Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    That Pumpkin Stuff--Pumpkin Dessert

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on June 06, 2011

      This was VERY good. I used more whipped cream than called for to lighten up the topping a bit. We loved the richness of this dessert and it was great after a meal cooked on the grill and a long day out in the sun :) It's obviously not as light as a fruit salad or other fruity summer dish, but it worked for us! Will make again. Simple steps and pretty fool-proof directions! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2010

      If you don't like rich sweet desserts don't eat this! I love them and loved this as did my family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2010

      This was really good. It got great reviews with the family. It is a cross between pumpkin pie and pumpkin cake. More on the pie side. It is really rich but has a great taste. Definetly a holiday dessert. I made it and spooned it into little dessert cups and topped it with the cream topping. It's a keeper and a very unique dessert. Oh, one tip is that you must use unsalted butter. It is way too salty if you don't. Also, I used cool whip for the topping.
      NOTE: Don't reate a recipe and less because it is "bad for you" or not healthy. And if you change the measurements and leave out ingredients then don't rate it at all since you are not trying the real recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      I thought this was very good, just a bit too sweet (And I like sweet things!) I used fresh pumpkin from the garden, and even cut the sugar back a bit in the pumpkin mixture, but I think the cake mix on top was the too sweet part. If I made again, I would not use the entire cake mix. Seemed the ratio of pumpkin was too little compared to the thick cake mix on top. I also cut the butter back by almost half, and just carefully poured it over top to get most of the cake mix wet, and we didn't miss the extra butter. Using half the cake mix next time, you really wouldn't miss the extra butter. But we still ate the entire thing, it was very good, would just make a few adjustments the next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      I took this to a potluck dinner and people took second helpings, one guy even took a third. I lightened the calories up by using lite Cool Whip and fat free cream cheese and canned milk. I will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      i didn't use the nuts (not a big nut fan) but it still turned out fabulous and had a nutty flavor. also, i added a couple of tablespoons of the leftover pumpkin in the topping, just for an extra pumpkin flavor and color and it was perfect! i will be making this over and OVER again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Made this today and everyone loved it. Will be a perfect dessert for Thanksgiving! Is really rich and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      This is very good but so very sweet and rich. I rated it 4 just because it is so horribly bad for you. But things that taste so good usually are. It won't stop me from making it again though. Made it just as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      Very yummy! Because many of reviewers stated that this dessert is very rich, I cut the sugar to 1/2 c. and only used 1/2 c. of butter. Still delicious! Next time I may even cut the sugar back more - maybe to 1/4 - 1/3 c. Although I liked the taste of the cream cheese topping, next time I will also cut down on the cream cheese and add more Cool Whip to make this topping lighter. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

    • on November 07, 2008

      I made this for a supper club meeting with church members. They ate as much as they could that night and the rest was eaten after church the next day. I think I saw someone licking the pan. . Everyone begged for the recipe. I think this would be great with homemade cinnamon ice cream or vanilla bean ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      Wow, what a very versatile thing pumpkin, I couldn't find tinned pumpkin so I used fresh. I steamed and mashed it and squeezed as much of the liquid out that I could and it was fine. Also being from Scotland the cake mixes are a bit different so I made a butter crumble mix and used that, and topped with cream cheese sugar and some dream topping mixed together and it was very nice. Just like the other chef said you could feed an army with this, it does go a very long way. I have never made pumpkin pie so I can't compare the two but I thought this was exceptionally good and will make it again. Might make half the amount next time as my waist line might suffer otherwise. I also served it in sundae dishes and looked quite pretty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      I've been making this for a few years now as everyone loves it and wants the recipe. There are a few changes I made to this that we like better: I have increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp., added 1/2 tsp. ground ginger, and 1/4 tsp. cloves or allspice. Also I have experimented with using butter pecan cake mix and just plain yellow cake mix and either are good too. I use only half the amount of butter to drizzle over the top as I don't want so much fat, and just put lightly sweetened real whipping cream on top so it's not quite so rich. I love this recipe's ease and rarely make pumpkin pie anymore!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      This was very good... I'm not going to give it stars yet... I had to use some different ingredients. Mine turned out crunchy. I used sweetened condensed milk with a little pre made powdered milk. 1/8 cup sugar. Yellow cake mix that is non-allergic. Pretzels instead of pecans. Topping I just used whipped cream. Still this was very good and I am excited to try it without the substitutions some day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      I think this is one of the best desserts that I`ve ever eaten! I like anything "pumpkin" and this is sooooooooo good! It is very rich so you have to pace yourself with it or else you can go overboard really fast! It`s really not as sweet as it sounds and has a chewy texture. It`s easy to make. Just takes a little time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      This was good, but the texture was a little strange. I was expecting a soft cake-like interior, and it was pretty chewy. Don't know if that's the way it's supposed to be but the taste was good and it was definately easy to put together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      Made this on Thanksgiving and loved it. It is extremely rich, though. Best served in small pieces with a cup of coffee. Thanks, Sherrybeth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      Everyone loved this recipe. I actually lightened it up a bit by using fat free evap milk, cool whip and cream cheese. No one knew the difference. Also, I used an 8oz pkg of cream cheese, the recipe doesn't give an amt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      I loved the texture of this; however, it was altogether too sweet. If you like really, really rich sweets, you'll like this recipe; if you don't, you won't. I would have given it at least a three-star because I think that, cut into small squares and served with espresso, it would be incredible. However, it was so rich/sweet, it actually made my sister sick. :o(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      As Rachael would say "Yum-O". This is easy, quick and a really good alternative to pumpkin pie. Try it, you won't be sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for That Pumpkin Stuff--Pumpkin Dessert

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 815.4
     
    Calories from Fat 474
    58%
    Total Fat 52.7 g
    81%
    Saturated Fat 22.2 g
    111%
    Cholesterol 78.9 mg
    26%
    Sodium 590.5 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 83.8 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 59.5 g
    238%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites