23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was really good. It got great reviews with the family. It is a cross between pumpkin pie and pumpkin cake. More on the pie side. It is really rich but has a great taste. Definetly a holiday dessert. I made it and spooned it into little dessert cups and topped it with the cream topping. It's a keeper and a very unique dessert. Oh, one tip is that you must use unsalted butter. It is way too salty if you don't. Also, I used cool whip for the topping.
NOTE: Don't reate a recipe and less because it is "bad for you" or not healthy. And if you change the measurements and leave out ingredients then don't rate it at all since you are not trying the real recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakingGuru October 31, 2010

This was VERY good. I used more whipped cream than called for to lighten up the topping a bit. We loved the richness of this dessert and it was great after a meal cooked on the grill and a long day out in the sun :) It's obviously not as light as a fruit salad or other fruity summer dish, but it worked for us! Will make again. Simple steps and pretty fool-proof directions! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redheaded Chef June 06, 2011

If you don't like rich sweet desserts don't eat this! I love them and loved this as did my family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jilly in Michigan November 22, 2010

I thought this was very good, just a bit too sweet (And I like sweet things!) I used fresh pumpkin from the garden, and even cut the sugar back a bit in the pumpkin mixture, but I think the cake mix on top was the too sweet part. If I made again, I would not use the entire cake mix. Seemed the ratio of pumpkin was too little compared to the thick cake mix on top. I also cut the butter back by almost half, and just carefully poured it over top to get most of the cake mix wet, and we didn't miss the extra butter. Using half the cake mix next time, you really wouldn't miss the extra butter. But we still ate the entire thing, it was very good, would just make a few adjustments the next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbandbuggy September 25, 2010

I took this to a potluck dinner and people took second helpings, one guy even took a third. I lightened the calories up by using lite Cool Whip and fat free cream cheese and canned milk. I will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky in Junction City, OR June 17, 2010

i didn't use the nuts (not a big nut fan) but it still turned out fabulous and had a nutty flavor. also, i added a couple of tablespoons of the leftover pumpkin in the topping, just for an extra pumpkin flavor and color and it was perfect! i will be making this over and OVER again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
neffy22 October 21, 2009

Made this today and everyone loved it. Will be a perfect dessert for Thanksgiving! Is really rich and yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimi243 October 18, 2009

This is very good but so very sweet and rich. I rated it 4 just because it is so horribly bad for you. But things that taste so good usually are. It won't stop me from making it again though. Made it just as written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking with love September 07, 2009

Very yummy! Because many of reviewers stated that this dessert is very rich, I cut the sugar to 1/2 c. and only used 1/2 c. of butter. Still delicious! Next time I may even cut the sugar back more - maybe to 1/4 - 1/3 c. Although I liked the taste of the cream cheese topping, next time I will also cut down on the cream cheese and add more Cool Whip to make this topping lighter. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SReiff December 02, 2008
That Pumpkin Stuff--Pumpkin Dessert