16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

While we try to mostly limit our sweet treats to when we entertain, I have a well-deserved rep around our house as a *Cookie Monster* w/no self-control, so making a 1/4 version of your recipe for ZWT6 Family Picks was a form of dietary self-defence. The recipe esp intrigued me because my best friend here has 2 severely lactose-allergic dtrs & we are always looking for sweet treats they will enjoy & will help them to feel less-deprived. I was short of the 3/4 cup sunflower seeds needed, made up the difference w/chopped walnuts & otherwise made the recipe as written. Honey here is extremely thick & diff to work with, but I long ago learned the trick that warming it solves that issue. My convection oven occ cooks hotter than expected & no oven temp was given, so it became a matter of guesswork. I tried to rely on prior reviews, but they were all diff (if mentioned at all) & I finally opted for the average of 325F for 10 min. Luckily that worked well as the outcome was excellent. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us. It made for a fun dy of discovery in my kitchen & will be shared w/my friend. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis June 25, 2010

These are great! I am always looking for healthier dessert recipes and this one is fabulous. I quartered the recipe and added 3/4 t cinnamon, used 1/4 c Tahini and 1/4 c peanut butter instead of just the Tahini. I used crushed walnuts instead of sunflower seeds (didn't have any on hand). I think that next time I'll add some chocolate chips! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef aec March 21, 2010

Oh, yum, yum, yum - SUPERYUM! Smelly, these cookies are fantastic! And so easy to make, too!! I'd love to try them with cashew butter, or mystery butter, too. The crunch from the sunflower seeds, the chewyness of the oats, combined with the earthyness of the tahini and the subtle sweet of the honey - wow! Thank you so much for seeking this recipe out and posting it! Recipenapped for Veggie Swap 18.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen February 23, 2010

This IS the perfect cookie! I love that it's wheat-free AND dairy/egg-free so I didn't have to modify it. I also love that it's free of refined sugar (even though the honey technically makes it not vegan, I'm a honey-loving vegan and proud of it). The flavor is subtle and wonderful. I didn't have any problem with the dough. I mixed the dry into the wet with a rubber spatula then spooned it onto the sheets. I baked them at 350 for about 12-14 minutes. It took that long for them to get golden-brown around the edges. Then I let them cool on the pans for 10 minutes because I could tell they were fragile. These were easy to make with only 5 ingredients and will definitely become a staple at my house. PS: I added about 1/2 cup carob chips (and had quartered the recipe so that would be 2 cups if you make it with the written amounts), which complemented the other flavors quite nicely.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prose August 31, 2009

Fabulous indeed as far as taste is concerned! These cookies tasted so yummy with the tahini giving them a unique "earthy" flavour. The only thing I would do differently next time is to reduce the amount of salt used cause I could taste it in my cookies and didnt like that so much. I made 1/3 of the recipe and still got 35 medium-sized cookies (see pic). I'm taking one star off this recipe cause I had serious trouble working with the dough. It was so sticky and I could hardly get it from my hands! But in the end all the effort was worth it. Thank you very much for posting this recipe, smellyvegetarian! Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders March 2009.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula March 20, 2009

These are sooo good, I can sense an addiction possibility. I completely understand why you had to get the recipe. I made 1/2 recipe, and got about 25 good-sized thick cookies. I followed Leslulu's lead, and baked at 300F, since there was no temperature mentioned in the recipe. I cooled them for a minute or two on the sheet pan before transferring to cooling racks -- I tried to transfer one cookie right out of the oven, but it crumbled. The kids here didn't like them much, but the adults can't keep their hands out of the cookie jar! The flavor reminds me of the middle eastern sweet halvah, which is a flavored pressed sesame confection. Thanks, smelly! This was one awesome cookie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too October 11, 2008

This is a great recipe. The kids love it and as far as snacks go, it is good for them. I have used it a few times now and, as a previous comment says, the mixture is sticky to work with. The last time I made it, instead of biscuits, I put it in a slice tin and cooked it that way. End result was good, although maybe not as crunchy round the edges like the cooked biscuits.<br/>Oven setting was the same, 170C fan forced for 10-15 minutes. Just watch for browning edges and you should be right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Qldcook November 25, 2013

These were really good, but even making 25% of this recipe was way too much. I made them as the recipe called. Since I had so much, I experienced...I made 10 normal another 10 I added Red Mill flaked coconut and another 10 I added cinnamon to the coconut mixture. They all turned out quite nice, but kind of granola like. Lastly, the ones that turned out so awesome was the ones I added jalapenos to the regular mix. That's the bomb!!! Very similar to the cheese and sausageball s baked at Christmas (when I ate animal).Not crumbly at all and sticks together well. Another note; lightly wet hands between each roll.<br/>I'm not much of a sweets gal, but...I tell ya,, try this recipe adding jalapeno and it's going to be perfect for a midday snack.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizabeth J. October 07, 2013

These are really simple and almost, dare I say it, healthy for you cookies. Yum, yum, yum! Crunch, crunch, crunch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
threeovens July 23, 2013

UPDATED: Flavor is much better when these sat overnight. Delicious and hard to stop eating for breakfast. FIRST POST: I love the chewiness of the cookie, its simplicity and healthfulness. However, they were difficult to get off the baking sheet. I greased it with Pam and baked at 325 degrees in a convection oven. When I tried to take them off immediately they fell apart. When I waited 30 min, they were nearly glued to the sheet. My guess is that waiting something like 10 minutes to remove from the sheet, when they are at the warm versus hot or room temp stage, would make them much easier to deal with. I can see these making a good breakfast cookie with a cup of coffee. Mine were actually sweet; I used Tupelo honey from an Ohio beekeeper near here. ZWT9

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie R. July 18, 2013
That Fabulous Tahini Cookie!