Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / That Fabulous Tahini Cookie! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    That Fabulous Tahini Cookie!

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on June 25, 2010

      While we try to mostly limit our sweet treats to when we entertain, I have a well-deserved rep around our house as a *Cookie Monster* w/no self-control, so making a 1/4 version of your recipe for ZWT6 Family Picks was a form of dietary self-defence. The recipe esp intrigued me because my best friend here has 2 severely lactose-allergic dtrs & we are always looking for sweet treats they will enjoy & will help them to feel less-deprived. I was short of the 3/4 cup sunflower seeds needed, made up the difference w/chopped walnuts & otherwise made the recipe as written. Honey here is extremely thick & diff to work with, but I long ago learned the trick that warming it solves that issue. My convection oven occ cooks hotter than expected & no oven temp was given, so it became a matter of guesswork. I tried to rely on prior reviews, but they were all diff (if mentioned at all) & I finally opted for the average of 325F for 10 min. Luckily that worked well as the outcome was excellent. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us. It made for a fun dy of discovery in my kitchen & will be shared w/my friend. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      These are great! I am always looking for healthier dessert recipes and this one is fabulous. I quartered the recipe and added 3/4 t cinnamon, used 1/4 c Tahini and 1/4 c peanut butter instead of just the Tahini. I used crushed walnuts instead of sunflower seeds (didn't have any on hand). I think that next time I'll add some chocolate chips! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      Oh, yum, yum, yum - SUPERYUM! Smelly, these cookies are fantastic! And so easy to make, too!! I'd love to try them with cashew butter, or mystery butter, too. The crunch from the sunflower seeds, the chewyness of the oats, combined with the earthyness of the tahini and the subtle sweet of the honey - wow! Thank you so much for seeking this recipe out and posting it! Recipenapped for Veggie Swap 18.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      This IS the perfect cookie! I love that it's wheat-free AND dairy/egg-free so I didn't have to modify it. I also love that it's free of refined sugar (even though the honey technically makes it not vegan, I'm a honey-loving vegan and proud of it). The flavor is subtle and wonderful. I didn't have any problem with the dough. I mixed the dry into the wet with a rubber spatula then spooned it onto the sheets. I baked them at 350 for about 12-14 minutes. It took that long for them to get golden-brown around the edges. Then I let them cool on the pans for 10 minutes because I could tell they were fragile. These were easy to make with only 5 ingredients and will definitely become a staple at my house. PS: I added about 1/2 cup carob chips (and had quartered the recipe so that would be 2 cups if you make it with the written amounts), which complemented the other flavors quite nicely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      Fabulous indeed as far as taste is concerned! These cookies tasted so yummy with the tahini giving them a unique "earthy" flavour. The only thing I would do differently next time is to reduce the amount of salt used cause I could taste it in my cookies and didnt like that so much. I made 1/3 of the recipe and still got 35 medium-sized cookies (see pic). I'm taking one star off this recipe cause I had serious trouble working with the dough. It was so sticky and I could hardly get it from my hands! But in the end all the effort was worth it. Thank you very much for posting this recipe, smellyvegetarian! Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders March 2009.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      These are sooo good, I can sense an addiction possibility. I completely understand why you had to get the recipe. I made 1/2 recipe, and got about 25 good-sized thick cookies. I followed Leslulu's lead, and baked at 300F, since there was no temperature mentioned in the recipe. I cooled them for a minute or two on the sheet pan before transferring to cooling racks -- I tried to transfer one cookie right out of the oven, but it crumbled. The kids here didn't like them much, but the adults can't keep their hands out of the cookie jar! The flavor reminds me of the middle eastern sweet halvah, which is a flavored pressed sesame confection. Thanks, smelly! This was one awesome cookie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2013

      This is a great recipe. The kids love it and as far as snacks go, it is good for them. I have used it a few times now and, as a previous comment says, the mixture is sticky to work with. The last time I made it, instead of biscuits, I put it in a slice tin and cooked it that way. End result was good, although maybe not as crunchy round the edges like the cooked biscuits.<br/>Oven setting was the same, 170C fan forced for 10-15 minutes. Just watch for browning edges and you should be right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2013

      These were really good, but even making 25% of this recipe was way too much. I made them as the recipe called. Since I had so much, I experienced...I made 10 normal another 10 I added Red Mill flaked coconut and another 10 I added cinnamon to the coconut mixture. They all turned out quite nice, but kind of granola like. Lastly, the ones that turned out so awesome was the ones I added jalapenos to the regular mix. That's the bomb!!! Very similar to the cheese and sausageball s baked at Christmas (when I ate animal).Not crumbly at all and sticks together well. Another note; lightly wet hands between each roll.<br/>I'm not much of a sweets gal, but...I tell ya,, try this recipe adding jalapeno and it's going to be perfect for a midday snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2013

      These are really simple and almost, dare I say it, healthy for you cookies. Yum, yum, yum! Crunch, crunch, crunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2013

      UPDATED: Flavor is much better when these sat overnight. Delicious and hard to stop eating for breakfast. FIRST POST: I love the chewiness of the cookie, its simplicity and healthfulness. However, they were difficult to get off the baking sheet. I greased it with Pam and baked at 325 degrees in a convection oven. When I tried to take them off immediately they fell apart. When I waited 30 min, they were nearly glued to the sheet. My guess is that waiting something like 10 minutes to remove from the sheet, when they are at the warm versus hot or room temp stage, would make them much easier to deal with. I can see these making a good breakfast cookie with a cup of coffee. Mine were actually sweet; I used Tupelo honey from an Ohio beekeeper near here. ZWT9

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      These are really good. I made half the recipe and still ended up with over 60 cookies that were not the size of my head :). I used parchment paper so didn't have to grease the baking sheet and baked them at 350F for 10 minutes. I think raisins for chocolate chips might be a tasty addition in the future. Made for Veg. Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      I LOVE these cookies at EarthFare! I was wanting to try to make them and was thrilled when I found this recipe! I tried to halve the recipe, but the cookies were too crumbly. But the flavor was spot-on! I will try to make them again, taking some of the suggestions from other comments, and maybe reducing the oats. I thought they also might work well made into bars. Delicous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      OH MY, OH MY!! This deserves 100 stars. It tastes so decadent but isn't. I thought I had tahini but didn't so I used natural peanut butter, macadamia honey, quick cooking oatmeal and baked for 300 degrees, 15 minutes. I cut the recipe down to 1/4 batch and still make plenty. We loved them and will make them alot since they're so easy. Definitely make sure you form them in crablike shapes - they cook easier. Thank you for this gem!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      I've finally found the perfect cookie! No dairy and no sugar and an absolutely incredible taste. I prefer cooking them at 300 for 10-15 minutes rather than at a higher temperature for less time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      I can see some would not like these; tahini is an acquired taste. I think they're pretty good, and will probably whip up a small batch (10 cookies) from time to time when I need a "healthy" sweet fix. Thanks for posting! (I baked at 325 for about 8 minutes.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      This was the first time that I've attempted to make cookies with Tahini (I found it by "krinos" in a jar and it's sesame seeds ground into a paste). After much experimentation I was successful when I formed the "dough" into medium-sized balls, flattened them while they were on the baking sheet, put them into a pre-heated 300 degree oven for 8 minutes and let cool for 20 minutes. I think they are a delicious cookie for those that crave sweets and are unable or avoiding consuming wheat products. Don't give up if your first batch isn't what you expect.....the end result is worth the effort! I made this for ZaarTag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for That Fabulous Tahini Cookie!

    Serving Size: 1 (43 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 60

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 178.9
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    40%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 124.1 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 14.2 g
    56%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes