31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

To anyone who is wavering on whether or not use a brine, do yourself a favor and BRINE THE TURKEY! This brine made our Thanksgiving turkey so moist, tender and flavorful. I injected the breast and legs with some of the brine using a meat injector, then placed the bird in a large cooler with ice and poured the brine over it. It sat overnight in the ice bath and after it was cooked, we all agreed it was the BEST T'giving turkey we'd ever had. The pan drippings made excellent gravy too. Turkey used to be my least favorite part of our T'giving menu, and now it's right up at the top! Thanks for this incredible recipe! I will always use it from now on.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rottmom November 30, 2009

I have been meaning to write a review on this brine for quite sometime....we have been brining our turkey for 2 years and will never do it any other way.

Not only the best tasting turkey and pan dripping gravy but super moist.

This recipe will be in my family's cookbook for decades to come!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theclawsoncrew November 08, 2011

A moist, succulent turkey! I've never had white meat so moist. This was my first turkey, and it turned out beautifully. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rothiii November 26, 2010

We decided to brine our turkey for the first time this year, and I chose to use this recipe. I have to be honest and say I did not notice a difference between the taste of a brined turkey versus non-brined which is what I have made before, however my husband said he could tell a difference and that the turkey was definitely more moist and better tasting. I did think the gravy tasted better than my usual gravy, I think that had to do with the pan drippings. I would definitely use this recipe in years to come. I put the turkey & brine in a trash bag and kept it in the largest soup pot that I had. It wasn't quite large enough, but with the trash bag in there tied tightly with all the air pressed out, it kept everything so that the turkey was totally covered.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasKelly November 29, 2010

I have been baking turkeys for 58 years and this is the best yet. I always have the butcher cut the turkey in half. I brined the half for 24 hours in this recipe mix and it is the best flavored, most moist turkey I have ever baked. Will be my go-to recipe from now on. Turkey doesn't get any better than this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amarillodudes January 27, 2014

Used this recipe to make my first turkey ever. It was wonderful! Thank you for psoting, I will definitely be using this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaWoody December 02, 2013

I heard about how 'juicy' my turkey was since last year, so I'm definitely going to brine it with this recipe again! I feel ripped off that my family never did this when I was growing up. I advise anyone that never brined...DO IT! This recipe was so easy and will be used as the 'family' recipe now :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vmaryd November 13, 2013

I've used this brine for yrs now, comes out absolutely mouth watering, so flavorful with many compliments. I will continue to use this brine!! Thank you :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracy's Kitchen November 11, 2013

This is the best brine ever. My family does not care for turkey at ALL but I do, so I got them to try turkey made with this brine. They went nuts!!!. Now I can have my turkey and family will eat it to.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vgmckee August 26, 2013
Thanksgiving Turkey Brine