Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thanksgiving Turkey Brine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thanksgiving Turkey Brine

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on November 30, 2009

      To anyone who is wavering on whether or not use a brine, do yourself a favor and BRINE THE TURKEY! This brine made our Thanksgiving turkey so moist, tender and flavorful. I injected the breast and legs with some of the brine using a meat injector, then placed the bird in a large cooler with ice and poured the brine over it. It sat overnight in the ice bath and after it was cooked, we all agreed it was the BEST T'giving turkey we'd ever had. The pan drippings made excellent gravy too. Turkey used to be my least favorite part of our T'giving menu, and now it's right up at the top! Thanks for this incredible recipe! I will always use it from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2011

      I have been meaning to write a review on this brine for quite sometime....we have been brining our turkey for 2 years and will never do it any other way.

      Not only the best tasting turkey and pan dripping gravy but super moist.

      This recipe will be in my family's cookbook for decades to come!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      A moist, succulent turkey! I've never had white meat so moist. This was my first turkey, and it turned out beautifully. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      We decided to brine our turkey for the first time this year, and I chose to use this recipe. I have to be honest and say I did not notice a difference between the taste of a brined turkey versus non-brined which is what I have made before, however my husband said he could tell a difference and that the turkey was definitely more moist and better tasting. I did think the gravy tasted better than my usual gravy, I think that had to do with the pan drippings. I would definitely use this recipe in years to come. I put the turkey & brine in a trash bag and kept it in the largest soup pot that I had. It wasn't quite large enough, but with the trash bag in there tied tightly with all the air pressed out, it kept everything so that the turkey was totally covered.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      I have been baking turkeys for 58 years and this is the best yet. I always have the butcher cut the turkey in half. I brined the half for 24 hours in this recipe mix and it is the best flavored, most moist turkey I have ever baked. Will be my go-to recipe from now on. Turkey doesn't get any better than this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      Used this recipe to make my first turkey ever. It was wonderful! Thank you for psoting, I will definitely be using this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2013

      I heard about how 'juicy' my turkey was since last year, so I'm definitely going to brine it with this recipe again! I feel ripped off that my family never did this when I was growing up. I advise anyone that never brined...DO IT! This recipe was so easy and will be used as the 'family' recipe now :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2013

      I've used this brine for yrs now, comes out absolutely mouth watering, so flavorful with many compliments. I will continue to use this brine!! Thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2013

      This is the best brine ever. My family does not care for turkey at ALL but I do, so I got them to try turkey made with this brine. They went nuts!!!. Now I can have my turkey and family will eat it to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      We love brining our turkey but have always purchased the brine mix to use. This year living in Trinidad couldn't find any so found this and it's awesome; I'll be using this one from now on. I made as directed (though the oranges here are green - they still have the same taste) We placed the turkey (well turkey breasts) in a brining bag in the ice chest for 24 hours and followed direcctions. Great, tender, flavorful turkey. The only way to do turkey in our opinion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2011

      Very nice brine. The oranges and spices were a good addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      Omg today was the first time I made a turkey...I used this brine and it was the best juiciest turkey ever.....I will always use this recipe for the.next years to come thank u

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      I found this recipe here about 4 years ago, and have used it ever since. Every guest we've had has actually commented (unprovoked) on how good the turkey turns out. I cook it in an 18qt roaster oven.

      Except for the water while cooking, I double the ingredients for a 19# bird and add 1 tsp allspice berries, ... I use a clean square bucket with a lid.. and line it with a clean white trash bag. Since it's usually COLD here the night before Thanksgiving (in the 30's that is), I replace the 2nd half of water with ice cubes and let the sealed bucket sit outside in the cold overnight.

      Definitely a keeper! If you want to make a turkey that leaves an impression.. try this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      Tried this recipe once and have not made another turkey without it!! I don't always use the oranges and sometimes change up the spices. Also great with fresh garlic grated into it. You can't go wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2010

      Makes one Awesome turkey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Wow! What a difference brining makes! This recipe was easy to prepare and follow. I'll never roast another a turkey without brining!! Thank you for the great recipe.... It's a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      I'll never cook a turkey again without brining! I've never had a turkey come out so moist, white meat and all. I used a huge lobster pot and, luckily, we had a couple feet of snow the other day so I was able to stick the pot in a big pile so as to not have to refrigerate this. So easy and such great results. Thanks !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      I prepared as directed at it was awesome. I also used a 5 gallon bucket along with a turkey roasting bag to hold the turkey as well as the brine. Even stuffing the bird, it was incredibly moist and everyone raved about the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      This was my first attempt at using a brine. WOW! The Aroma is awesome! It did come out moist and tender. I would have preferred more flavor internally though. Seems so hard to get that internal flavor in turkey and chicken. I am giving this 5 stars because the scent of the brine is fabulous and the gravy made from the drippings is amazing. I even had many comments on how good the gravy was. I think the turkey needed an injector for flavor for me personally though. I may try to inject the brine the next time as well???? I did use a bucket as others mentioned for the overnight process. Thank you for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      This recipe is AWESOME. This is the first time I ever brined a turkey. The turkey came out so tender and moist. The flavor was outstanding. I will always use this recipe for my turkeys from now on. I plan on trying it with chicken soon. I would give this more stars if I could. Thanks for creating a new Thanksgiving tradition in our home! I won't even bother with all the other brine recipes I found...why mess with perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thanksgiving Turkey Brine

    Serving Size: 1 (6733 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1415.4
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    35%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 170028.7 mg
    7084%
    Total Carbohydrate 363.7 g
    121%
    Dietary Fiber 10.8 g
    43%
    Sugars 344.8 g
    1379%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites