77 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I just use one box of Chicken Stove Top. I saute lots of celery and onions.
I use just 11/4 c. broth and a bit of rubbed sage.
Then I cover it and bake at 350ยบ for about 30 min. Uncover and get top
crusty, about 10 min.
It's just like grandma's...wonderful!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flyingsolo5839 December 30, 2010

Making this stuffing with stove top turkey flavor, and chicken comes out nicely. (2/1)

I use a mini-chopper to finely dice the celery, mince...the celery, onion, mushroons, and saute in butter.

I cook one pound of Jimmy dean bulk breaksfast sausage. Drain, and stir into the cooked vegetables.

I then add the water in the amount per box of stuffing, and add some chicken broth as well.

Add in stuffing (dry box ingredient) toss...

I like to scoop these into muffin pans, as they make a nice form for presentation, and children like the muffin idea.

As all is throroughly cooked so I bake in the oven only to heat through, and give some nice texture to form of muffin...20 -30 minutes uncovered... You can cover with foil to prevent tops from drying out too much. Don't place at top of oven to keep that from happening.

I have never added raw egg, but this may help to hold it together, and will try it today, along with the idea of adding the lightly toasted potato bread....I wonder how a can of campbell's cream of chicken soup stirred in would taste! (or cream of celery or mushroom!) You could easily stir the can of soup into the water/broth to heat up and add to the dry mix with vegies!

We shall see! Happy Thanksgiving everyone! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mksearch November 25, 2010

This was a great time saver at Thanksgiving dinner. I would have rated it 5 stars which it probably was but my wife seemed to think it was just okay. Of course SHE usually makes the stuffing so I think she may have been biased. I tripled the recipe and used turkey stock that I had made the day before. I think this is a good base for lots of stuffing dishes. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WaCookinFool November 29, 2009

I dont really care for stuffing or dressing, but I had family over for Thanksgiving, and we all know that stuffing is part of thanksgiving. My mom who has always madeit from scratch watched me throw it together in 5 minutes, and bake it uncovered (I forgot the lid) and I actually had to fight to keep some of the leftovers, it was delicious and oh so easy. Thanks

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kngs_kid November 29, 2004

This was very yummy! Everyone ate it up and nobody knew it was stove top. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haras00 December 02, 2011

I have tried many recipes over the years, and have usually thrown out most of what I didn't eat myself. This year I used this recipe and received several compliments!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annheim November 25, 2011

I have been doing this for years and no one knows..I do one on the stove and also stuff the bird. I also use whole cranberries in the can to two packets and mix it well with some orange juice and add some corn oil .So I have one sweet with the cranberries and do the other with mushrooms and cream of mushrooms soup.So many ways to make this and no one needs to know :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittygotclaws September 25, 2011

I make it using Peppridge Farm mix. Just as written. It is a "must have" for my family Thanksgiving!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NancyB November 25, 2010

Great recipe! I added the turkey neck and giblets as well, only used chicken broth no water. It turned out perfect! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifer.loera December 26, 2009

This was a hit at our Thanksgiving dinner. I thought it seemed a bit dry, but I might have been the only one! When people were packing up leftovers to take home, my DH had to grab some for himself to have the next day, before it was gone. I doubled the recipe and I used extra gibblet broth and my own seasoning mix. I'll definitely be using this recipe again, but won't be afraid of adding a bit more broth. I also might add mushrooms, which might be a better way of adding moisture and extra flavor. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarlaM December 06, 2009
Thanksgiving Stuffing (Cheat! Using Stove Top)