Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thanksgiving Stuffing (Cheat! Using Stove Top) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thanksgiving Stuffing (Cheat! Using Stove Top)

    Average Rating:

    75 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 75

    Sort by:

    • on December 07, 2002

      Yes, however Melany *, you did not necesarilly have to bake it for 5 minutes. If you like you stuffing firm, borderline dry (like the kids like it), you can just take it out of the oven and let it rest for a few minutes. That way it doesn't dry out or evaporate the spices. Just a tip. Hope that jelps you out, since I know this is also a staple for Christmas dinner as well. Tchuss!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2002

      tasted really good, and i am not a stuffing lover. this was my thanksgiving stuffing. i did find that i had to take the tin foil off and bake it an extra 5 minutes to make it less soggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2002

      This was very easy and delicious. We thought the seasoning was perfect and I didn't change a thing, except to use poultry seasoning instead of stuffing seasoning. It tasted like my mom's home-made stuffing and I know how much work goes into that! I don't think I will make plain old Stove Top again, it was so easy to make this and it tastes home-made. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2002

      I have been doing this for years. My family loves it and it take a lot of the work out of stuffing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2002

      For those of us who think Stovetop is already TOO heavily seasoned, I recommend leaving out the extra seasoning and adding four slices of bread, diced. (Slightly stale or very-lightly toasted bread works best.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2010

      Great recipe! I used my "Crock Pot" for the dressing. Just mix ..spray pot with cooking spray, place stuffing mixture into pot and place on low. I did this about 5 hours before dinner. Not only easier but saves oven space.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      This was good except that it is REALLY salty. Make sure to use unsalted butter, low sodium broth or else get the low sodium Stove Top mix. I added in 4 slices of toasted bread to help with this and also added extra water to get the right texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2003

      I Made this stuffing for Christmas dinner and it was wonderful! Very easy to make, will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      I just use one box of Chicken Stove Top. I saute lots of celery and onions.
      I use just 11/4 c. broth and a bit of rubbed sage.
      Then I cover it and bake at 350ยบ for about 30 min. Uncover and get top
      crusty, about 10 min.
      It's just like grandma's...wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      This was very nice. Thanks for posting Aroostook. Since it was recipe of the day today it will probably be reviewed a lot but I wanted to get mine in as well. This was yummy. I used one box turkey Stove Top and one box Cornbread Stove Top and that really made it seem homemade. My medium onions turned out to be one cup and it worked well. No too much and not too little. Instead of baking it. I stirred and tossed it over high heat for 3 or 4 minutes to make sure all the bread pieces were softened. I added raisins as well at the end. Wonderful even to those who don't care for stuffing! Enjoy! ChefDLH.

      Update: Made it again this year. Just as good. Love it. Thanks. A family member not attending this year said she would miss it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      Making this stuffing with stove top turkey flavor, and chicken comes out nicely. (2/1)

      I use a mini-chopper to finely dice the celery, mince...the celery, onion, mushroons, and saute in butter.

      I cook one pound of Jimmy dean bulk breaksfast sausage. Drain, and stir into the cooked vegetables.

      I then add the water in the amount per box of stuffing, and add some chicken broth as well.

      Add in stuffing (dry box ingredient) toss...

      I like to scoop these into muffin pans, as they make a nice form for presentation, and children like the muffin idea.

      As all is throroughly cooked so I bake in the oven only to heat through, and give some nice texture to form of muffin...20 -30 minutes uncovered... You can cover with foil to prevent tops from drying out too much. Don't place at top of oven to keep that from happening.

      I have never added raw egg, but this may help to hold it together, and will try it today, along with the idea of adding the lightly toasted potato bread....I wonder how a can of campbell's cream of chicken soup stirred in would taste! (or cream of celery or mushroom!) You could easily stir the can of soup into the water/broth to heat up and add to the dry mix with vegies!

      We shall see! Happy Thanksgiving everyone! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      This was a great time saver at Thanksgiving dinner. I would have rated it 5 stars which it probably was but my wife seemed to think it was just okay. Of course SHE usually makes the stuffing so I think she may have been biased. I tripled the recipe and used turkey stock that I had made the day before. I think this is a good base for lots of stuffing dishes. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      This was good, but still tasted like Stove Top stuffing. I used 1 onion and 2 stalks celery. I would suggest using unsalted butter and low sodium broth. I didn't and it was quite salty for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2004

      I dont really care for stuffing or dressing, but I had family over for Thanksgiving, and we all know that stuffing is part of thanksgiving. My mom who has always madeit from scratch watched me throw it together in 5 minutes, and bake it uncovered (I forgot the lid) and I actually had to fight to keep some of the leftovers, it was delicious and oh so easy. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2011

      This was very yummy! Everyone ate it up and nobody knew it was stove top. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      I have tried many recipes over the years, and have usually thrown out most of what I didn't eat myself. This year I used this recipe and received several compliments!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      I have been doing this for years and no one knows..I do one on the stove and also stuff the bird. I also use whole cranberries in the can to two packets and mix it well with some orange juice and add some corn oil .So I have one sweet with the cranberries and do the other with mushrooms and cream of mushrooms soup.So many ways to make this and no one needs to know :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      I make it using Peppridge Farm mix. Just as written. It is a "must have" for my family Thanksgiving!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Great recipe! I added the turkey neck and giblets as well, only used chicken broth no water. It turned out perfect! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      This was a hit at our Thanksgiving dinner. I thought it seemed a bit dry, but I might have been the only one! When people were packing up leftovers to take home, my DH had to grab some for himself to have the next day, before it was gone. I doubled the recipe and I used extra gibblet broth and my own seasoning mix. I'll definitely be using this recipe again, but won't be afraid of adding a bit more broth. I also might add mushrooms, which might be a better way of adding moisture and extra flavor. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thanksgiving Stuffing (Cheat! Using Stove Top)

    Serving Size: 1 (193 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 283.3
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    20%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 10.7 mg
    3%
    Sodium 1092.8 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.5 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    26%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites