77 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yes, however Melany *, you did not necesarilly have to bake it for 5 minutes. If you like you stuffing firm, borderline dry (like the kids like it), you can just take it out of the oven and let it rest for a few minutes. That way it doesn't dry out or evaporate the spices. Just a tip. Hope that jelps you out, since I know this is also a staple for Christmas dinner as well. Tchuss!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimi Bobeck December 07, 2002

tasted really good, and i am not a stuffing lover. this was my thanksgiving stuffing. i did find that i had to take the tin foil off and bake it an extra 5 minutes to make it less soggy.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melany * December 02, 2002

This was very easy and delicious. We thought the seasoning was perfect and I didn't change a thing, except to use poultry seasoning instead of stuffing seasoning. It tasted like my mom's home-made stuffing and I know how much work goes into that! I don't think I will make plain old Stove Top again, it was so easy to make this and it tastes home-made. Thanks!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= November 25, 2002

I have been doing this for years. My family loves it and it take a lot of the work out of stuffing.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Nelson December 09, 2002

For those of us who think Stovetop is already TOO heavily seasoned, I recommend leaving out the extra seasoning and adding four slices of bread, diced. (Slightly stale or very-lightly toasted bread works best.)

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zeedee November 23, 2002

Great recipe! I used my "Crock Pot" for the dressing. Just mix ..spray pot with cooking spray, place stuffing mixture into pot and place on low. I did this about 5 hours before dinner. Not only easier but saves oven space.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandyarrasmith October 22, 2010

This was good except that it is REALLY salty. Make sure to use unsalted butter, low sodium broth or else get the low sodium Stove Top mix. I added in 4 slices of toasted bread to help with this and also added extra water to get the right texture.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
S.H.E. November 29, 2009

I Made this stuffing for Christmas dinner and it was wonderful! Very easy to make, will make again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danielle in New Hampshire February 04, 2003

This was very nice. Thanks for posting Aroostook. Since it was recipe of the day today it will probably be reviewed a lot but I wanted to get mine in as well. This was yummy. I used one box turkey Stove Top and one box Cornbread Stove Top and that really made it seem homemade. My medium onions turned out to be one cup and it worked well. No too much and not too little. Instead of baking it. I stirred and tossed it over high heat for 3 or 4 minutes to make sure all the bread pieces were softened. I added raisins as well at the end. Wonderful even to those who don't care for stuffing! Enjoy! ChefDLH.

Update: Made it again this year. Just as good. Love it. Thanks. A family member not attending this year said she would miss it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDLH November 29, 2010

This was good, but still tasted like Stove Top stuffing. I used 1 onion and 2 stalks celery. I would suggest using unsalted butter and low sodium broth. I didn't and it was quite salty for us.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat November 27, 2009
Thanksgiving Stuffing (Cheat! Using Stove Top)