60 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I followed this recipe to the letter. Unfortunately, it wasn't anything like the photo or previous reviews. One thing that the recipe didn't mention was that you need to thoroughly beat/whip in the spices after each addition. Mine all floated to the top. The filling baked up nicely, then fell flat and had a watery texture. Just no real flavor at all other than all the spices.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Big Cheese November 30, 2013

Whoa! This is absolutely the best P. pie I've ever tasted. The only alterations were that I roasted the pumpkins in the oven, and I used 1/4 tsp. fresh ginger (I rubbed the ginger root on a micro-grade zester, which made it like a paste). I will never use canned pumpkin again! I wish I could give it another star :) oh, I also roasted the pumpkin seeds and sprinkled them on top for decoration, and they actually tasted good with the pie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Svensls01 November 22, 2012

I just had my first bites of this pie. WOW! I decided to try and make my own pumpkin puree this season and was looking for a recipe to try it out on. This was it! I like custard type pumpkin pies and have only had them out and about, never with my family who use canned puree or even pre-seasoned canned which never seem to get that custard consistency. This did! I will be making this for Thanksgiving for sure! I did make this in one pie pan, but I have a weird pie plate at 9.5 inches regular depth. This was a very full pie, but not over the top or anything. I will be recommending this recipe to everyone! Oh, I did make one alteration, I didn't have any cloves on hand, not sure how that happened, so that was omitted. Thanks for a KEEEPER!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
semicook426 October 26, 2009

Everyone here really enjoyed the pie, and it disappeared very quickly. I used Pumpkin Puree to cook the pumpkins. My deep dish pie plate just barely fit all of the batter. I made it a day in advance so that it could sit in the fridge overnight. I am not scared of pie making anymore since your recipe was so easy and tasty. Thanks very much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JuliJ December 02, 2008

Being Australian, I have only had pumpkin pie at a couple of times as a child at thanks giving dinners. I remembered how good it was and I wanted my wife to experience an iconic American desert. This turned out to be a terrible recipe!! My gut said "that's way too much clove" from the get go, and I was so disappointed I didn't listen to my gut. Just one clove or a pinch of ground clove would be plenty but I followed the recipe which turned tasting of nothing but clove. The texture of this pie was a bit like watery scrambled egg. I would not recommend this recipe to anyone. It in fact ruined my memories of a delicious pumpkin pie and I will never eat one again. Thanks a lot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
my-display-name-was-taken January 26, 2015

Perfect recipe. Roasting the pumpkin took me most of an afternoon so I will either plan ahead or try this recipe with canned pumpkin. Great pie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimpard October 28, 2014

Thank you so much for posting a recipe using fresh pumpkin! I did make this using the Pumpkin Puree (http://www.food.com/recipe/pumpkin-puree-4284) recipe instead of boiling the pumpkin, because it was simple and required no other attention while I did other kitchen tasks. I used this No Roll Pie Crust (http://www.food.com/recipe/my-no-roll-pie-crust-51537). This was my first pumpkin pie, and it was the best we've ever tasted. I'm pretty sure my pie plate isn't deep dish, but I was able to fit all the batter in it, just barely, which is how I'm used to pumpkin pies looking. This is the only pumpkin pie recipe I'll use from here on out - why mess with perfection?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nevdiliel December 29, 2013

Tis a lovely tasting pie. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama November 02, 2013

I don't normally like pumpkin pie but bake one every year for my husband. This year I decided to cook my own pumpkin and try another recipe. It is delicious! I like the light texture and the mild flavor. A little whipped cream and I am ready to go!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bbestsummers October 23, 2013

Delicious pie. I used your recipe and it has great flavor, we really like the spice level to this pie. I bought some pie pumpkins with the intent to make "homemade" pies for the holidays. I am so glad I found your recipe. Its delicious. Thank you for sharing with me your recipe. Its definately a keeper!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour December 03, 2012
Thanksgiving Pumpkin Pie (Uses Fresh Pumpkin)