Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thanksgiving Pumpkin Crunch Cake Dessert Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thanksgiving Pumpkin Crunch Cake Dessert

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on November 23, 2008

      I made this with my girl scout troop to enter a pumpkin pie contest. It was very "pumpkinny" and had a different spin on pumpkin pie. Very similar to "dump cakes" where you use pie fillings and top with cake mix, butter, and nuts. As for the pie contest, the girls won 1st prize. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      I cannot say enough about this recipe. I made it after I smelled in cooking at a friends house. Its smell, taste, texture is intoxicating. This is an amazing sub for pumpkin pie. And tastes MUCH better. When I made it the first time, I omitted the allspice and the nutmeg since I didn't have any on hand..and it was still delicious. My pumpkin hating husband devours it. He asks for it all the time!!! You will not be disappointed with this one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      I made this tonight as a test run for Thanksgiving. Outstanding!!! It really was too easy, yet so delicious. I was expecting this to be kind of like a pumpkin pie, but the flavor of the nuts, cake & pumpkin all combined to make it a really interesting & irresistible dessert for the Holidays.I used the yellow cake mix & walnuts,& also used pumpkin pie spice.THANKS!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      Yet another keeper. (At this point, that's pretty much a foregone conclusion with Kittencal's recipes in general; don't think I've found one yet that my family and I don't enjoy.) Again, simple, no fuss, get-good-food-on-the-table cooking. My wife's a big pumpkin pie fan, but not so much a fan of crusts, so she was very enthusiastic about this dessert. Thanks, Kittencal!

      Re the two negative reviews in the queue below: (1) Different people, different likes/dislikes; (2) If the dessert is still really gooey, possibly need to go a few minutes longer. (I think I was slightly on the long side of an hour -- in the middle of an oil change on the snow blower when it timed out.)

      I didn't use the nuts (would have loved to, but my wife doesn't like them very much), and used a lemon cake (because that's what I had in the cupboard -- actually tried the recipe tonight because I forgot to get premade pie crusts for a pumpkin pie, and had other chores, so no time to make up my usual crust). The lemon cake actually turned out okay with this, though either a spice or gingerbread recipe might be fun too. The lemon gave a nice contrast -- not too strong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      Pretty good but thought it was missing something - not quite sure what... thought the pumpkin could have been a little sweeter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2012

      I really impressed my friends with this cake and they asked the recipe.
      I prepared 2/3 of the recipe and I used also 2/3 of Homemade Yellow Cake Mix (Subtitute 18.25oz Betty Crocker Box) for the mentioned package cake mix.
      I used a baking mold with glas bottom (which would not be damaged cutting the cake) and a silicon removable border. This makes the cake prettier to serve.
      The cake mix adsorbed the humidity form the pumpkin puree layer.
      I prepared the pumkin puree baking this in the microwave and simply mashing it with the fork. The other great method would be baking it in the oven until soft; I would not boil it because of eventually water excess.
      I loved very much the flan like base and the crunchy topping. It was not necessary to roast the nuts in advance as they were on the top of the cake and exposed to direct heat.
      The spice mix was wonderful, a great idea!

      Woderful, a big thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      I've made this a few times now and I love it. This is way better than the usual pumpkin pie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      Too gooey for our taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      SO delicious. Everyone loved it. Smells heavenly while baking in the oven. Tasted even better the second day. DH doesn't like nuts, so I used a Pampered Chef chopper to chop the nuts very finely (Cheaper to buy pecan halves than chopped pecans anyway.), and he LOVED it. It gave the dessert a nice crunch. Interesting alternative to pumpkin pie. You can also see three layers when you cut into it, which was different from pumpkin pie. I had a lot of canned pumpkin left over, which I would probably use for pancakes or pumpkin bread. Thanks so much for the recipe! Will definitely make again. So delicious and so easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      Overall, we like this a lot. The smell was incredible. It was super easy, and it will feed more people than a pie if you're looking for something for a crowd. I took mine out at 1 hour, but think I'll leave it in longer next time. It wasn't runny, but was still thinner than I would have preferred it. Used a spray can of rediwhip on each piece as needed. I don't usually do nuts, but I loved the taste of the butter soaked pecans in this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      I would give this recipe a 10 star - quick, easy, presents well, and best of all tastes GREAT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      This is awesome! Better than Pumpkin Pie and serves more people. Every one loves this version. Another one of Kitte's winners.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      Sorry, but I made this tonight and was not impressed...not to mention my husband didn't like it either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      I have made this twice, it is easy like a dump cake and reliable :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      I made this for my family who are British and it was a huge hit. They were all certain they would not like pumpkin in a dessert but they were proved wrong. It is a keeper for us. I like it better than pumpkin pie. It is more interesting and not bland at all. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      This was sooo good. I made it for Thanksgiving as an alternative to pumpkin pie. It was a little too rich for most of my family though, which is why I'm only giving it 4 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      I am a die-hard, eat-an-entire-pumpkin-pie-by-myself-any-time-of-the-year kind of person and I absolutely ADORE this cake! I wanted to serve up something a little different (alongside the ever fabulous pumpkin pie) this year at Thanksgiving and your cake was a huge hit! We decided it was almost like a pumpkin cobbler. My husband is lactose intolerant, so I used evaporated goats milk, and it was still amazing! Thank-you for the recipe, I will definetly be making this again, and soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      Very easy yummy recipe. I would use less pecans next time though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      OMG was this ever GREAT!!! I made this for Thanksgiving and what a hit this was. My family loved this recipe and I will make this from now on during the holidays. We loved this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      Made this last night to see if I wanted it for Thanksgiving. Let my 4 yr old daughter have it for breakfast because she usually has pumpkin bread. She said, Mama, you should make this instead from now on. I think that says everything! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thanksgiving Pumpkin Crunch Cake Dessert

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 893.0
     
    Calories from Fat 498
    55%
    Total Fat 55.4 g
    85%
    Saturated Fat 20.1 g
    100%
    Cholesterol 166.3 mg
    55%
    Sodium 1007.3 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 92.8 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 68.3 g
    273%
    Protein 12.0 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes