Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thanksgiving Dessert Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thanksgiving Dessert

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 19, 2010

      It's a pumpkin dump cake! I used a cinnamon streusel quick bread mix instead of regular cake mix, and it is divine! You could also dot pieces of cut butter on the top instead of melting and trying to drizzle it evenly (mine pooled). I used 2 cups of homemade pumpkin pie filling (without any eggs or milk), then added in the eggs and can of condensed milk, spread the mix and streusel topping, and then half a cup of butter (which was enough but would have been alright with more). Nice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      I was afraid it would be too sweet, even with cream cheese added in, but the saltiness (from the butter?) takes the edge off. I used half butter, half oil. I softened the cream cheese, but it still didn't dissipate as much as I would have liked; still it was a rich and decadent addition. I also sprinkled pecan pcs on top. I didn't have yellow cake mix, but butter pecan did a good job.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      This fills the pumpkin requirement for a dessert. It seems like it would taste strange with the cake mix sprinkled on the top, but it was delicious! I was told that it should be served as a sweet treat bar at a coffee shop. The texture is a little thicker than pumpkin pie on the bottom, and hard and crumbly on top - like a coffee cake but a little more solid. I will make this again! OH and I like the suggestion of adding in cream cheese to the pumpkin part, and trying it with spice cake - could be really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      I thought the method for this was strange (sprinkling dry mix and then dumping some melted butter on it). But, I think it came out as expected. It turned out to be like eating dessert bars - a very rich and condensed pumpkin pie dessert bar. Everyone thought it was good. If I make again then I might try to add some milk and egg, etc. to the cake mix because I think some cake might be nice with this instead of some sugary crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I made this to take to my mom's for a dessert today (Thanksgiving). I used a spice cake instead of the white one. I also used an 8 oz. pkg. of cream cheese softened and mixed with my mixer with some of the condensed milk. Then, I mixed that with a can of whole cranberry sauce. On the bottom of the 9x13 pan I put a can of Wilderness Apple Pie Filling and then layered the cranberry/cream cheese mixture on top of that. Next came the pumpkin mixed with the condensed milk and the eggs. The spice cake mix went on top and was sprinkled with the melted butter. This turned out so good! I know the additives sound strange but they were scrumptuous and I brought home an empty dish. Thanks for sharing this great recipe with us. It is, indeed, a nice change from regular pumpkin pie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      I don't like pie so I made this for thanksgiving and ended up eating half a pan of it myself! It was a big hit, everyone loved it. The only thing I did differntly was add chopped pecans on the top. I will be making this next year too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      Very nice recipe, Dee. However, I did have one minor problem....I couldn't find the exact can sizes mentioned for the condensed milk and the pumpkin pie filling. Way to much butter 'for me'....I'm not crazy about a butter taste in my food. I could definitely taste it when served at room temperature. However, once refrigerated, the crust became very, very hard....and that's a good thing. I preferred it straight from the fridge. Yummo! Thanks for sharing Dee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      Great flavor, enough spice for our taste. I agree that this is a nice change from Pumpkin pie and would make a great pot-lucker! THank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      I thought this was good but not sweet enough. I thought the mixture could have used some sugar. I followed the recipe as written but next time I wouldn't use the whole cake mix and butter as I thought it had too much topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      Wow-I've made this recipe twice in 2 days! Once to bring to work, the other for company. Thanksgiving is Thursday so I'll make it AGAIN! Everyone raved about this. They absolutely loved it. And I could whip it together in about 10 minutes. I used the 30 oz. canned pumpkin pie filling because I couldn't find 19 oz. and it was really good. THANKS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      this is so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      oh my goodness absolutly amazing I love it and it is so nice not to merely have the traditional pumpkin pie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      This sounds wonderful!!! My kids will love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2005

      My recipe is similar except that it calls for evaportated milk instead of condensed milk. Maybe a few less calories? Anyway a great recipe if you're hungry for that pumpkin pie and don't enjoy making them, this is the dessert for you! Great recipe for Thanksgiving

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2004

      This was a winner at Thanksgiving! Everyone loved it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thanksgiving Dessert

    Serving Size: 1 (145 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 477.1
     
    Calories from Fat 214
    45%
    Total Fat 23.8 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 12.4 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 87.0 mg
    29%
    Sodium 531.8 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.9 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 34.9 g
    139%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes