Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thai Vegan Fried Rice (Khao Phad Jay) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thai Vegan Fried Rice (Khao Phad Jay)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 02, 2008

      We added broccoli and peanuts. This came out great. Not too spicy but just enough kick to leave a little burning sensation in your mouth. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      I made this as written but used sesame oil in place of the vegetable oil. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      I sooo love this. It has become a regular in our house. My go to recipe for leftover brown rice. I use a farmer's mix of frozen veg (carrot, broccoli, cauliflower, peas) so there is no prep. The only thing I add that in my opinion takes the dish to a whole other level is a generous dose of fresh Thai basil. Heaven in under 15 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

    • on June 08, 2006

      I tweaked it a little - used a combination of canola & peanut oil, used broccoli & broccoli slaw & finely chopped carrots in place of the green beans and used red curry paste instead of green. I also tossed some cashews on top. It was GREAT! Made a wonderful one pot dinner and everyone, even my vegan hating daughter, loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2006

      I guess "spicy" is a relative term. We used as much (a bit more, in fact) garlic and pepper as called for, and we found it a little on the bland side. Next time, I'll use more of the curry paste and some hot chili oil to give it a bit more of a kick. This was a really tasty dish, though! I added peanuts, carrots, and peas in place of the green beans to get a few more veggies in. If you love spicy food, though, make sure you have some chili sauce on hand to liven this one up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      Mmmm...this was really good! I liked that it was not loaded down with oil, and I didn't think it was too spicy at all. My 10-month old even gobbled it up! And I really liked to cucumbers with this...what a great idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2005

      Yummm. We had this with Sweet Potato Thai Curry #121137, which was also good but I kept going back for more fried rice. I don't think I've had any other kind of fried rice other than the take-out kind with eggs and peas and lots of soy sauce. While I like that kind, this was awesome. Lovely and peppery, which gives this a very unique spiciness and lots of garlicky flavor. We followed the recipe exactly, except using medium-grain brown rice and unrefined peanut oil instead of vegetable oil. I used frozen green beans and corn, which worked very well. I didn't have the cucumber, but we did serve with lime and scallions, which really give this a "Thai" flavor. Delicious and highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thai Vegan Fried Rice (Khao Phad Jay)

    Serving Size: 1 (300 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 450.8
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    15%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 514.1 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 86.0 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 10.3 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    green curry paste

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites