Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thai Tom Yum Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thai Tom Yum Soup

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2011

      Just as a clarification for those among us that are sticklers for details, this is not a recipe for Tom Yum, it is a recipe for Tom Kha Kai. Tom Yum has a chili paste base which gives it it's distinct red color, where as Tom Kha Kai has a coconut milk and chicken broth base. In this particular recipe water is used instead of chicken broth, but the chicken itself and the fish sauce impart enough flavor to compensate. I am looking forward to trying this version of my absolute favorite Thai dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      This soup is delicious and spicy - just the way we like it. We used chicken broth instead of the water and added the cilantro at the time of serving. Made by Unrulies under the Influence / ZWT6

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2012

      Awesome recipe whether its Tom Yum or Tom Kha Kai!!! Maybe cooking chicken separate could reduce the calories :S

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      Whether it's called Tom Yum or Tom Kha Kai, this soup was fantastic......one of the very best recipes I have ever tried from this site! I used homemade chicken broth instead of water, shredded cabbage instead of bok choy, reduced the crushed red peppers to 1/2 tsp., and reduced the fish sauce to half of what is called for. Served it over steamed short grain brown rice and it was delicious! Even my picky husband absolutely loved it. This one is going in my recipe box. I'll definitely be making it again. By the way, here in Southern California, cans of coconut milk are 400ml, so I used a little bit more than 1/2 a can.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      This was a wonderful soup! A little different from our local Thai restaurant but really very, very good. The only changes I made were to reduce the chili's as I am a heat wimp and add some quartered button mushrooms. Definitely a keeper! Made on behalf of the Looney Spoon Phoodies - ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      This was quite delicious, even without the pak choy or cilantro. Both went bad on me before I could make this. Very savory. ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      Wow! This was delicious! I wasn't sure what to expect. Any Tom Yum Soup I've had previously has included other ingredients like galangal and keffir lime leaves. While this was a little different, it was no less wonderful. It was also very easy to make. Even my DH who doesn't care for Asian flavors, loved it. I used a minced red hot pepper from my garden instead of the pepper flakes, and placed the minced lemon grass in a tea ball submerged in the broth to impart flavor while the soup simmered (we don't care for eating the woody bits) but otherwise followed the instructions exactly. So much flavor and spice! Thanks so much for posting this recipe. I'll definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      I order this soup a lot from my favorite Thai place so being able to make it at home myself is a real treat. We always order our soup with tofu and that is what we opted to use instead of chicken. I replaced the water content in the recipe with chicken broth and it worked great. Fantastic overall flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      Loved the soup. It was much easier to make than I would have thought also. The smell while making it was great also! Was able to use a lot of fresh ingredients from my garden. Thanks for posting. ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      This was my first real attempt at Thai food. When the spices were frying it smelled wonderful, and I thought it could be maybe a little too fragrant with the lemongrass. I really didn't know what to expect for the finished soup, but my husband and I really enjoyed it. I upped the chili flakes and subbed Swiss chard for the pak choi (they were out of bok choy as well). Thank you Bonnie! Made for Swizzle Chicks and ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      Bonnie, you've nailed this recipe. In the past, I've used a pre-made Tom Yum paste to make this soup, but never again. To cater for our Finnish exchange student, I used only 1 teaspoon of chili flakes (but when he's gone, I'll use the full amount). Like MissMaggie, I used baby bok choy, which I think must be the Australian name for pak choi. Thanks for posting such a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Oh Bonnie - how GOOD is this. We absolutely INHALED IT. I halved it because there is only two of us. The Manager at the local supermarket went cross-eyed when I asked him about Pak Choi - so I got small Bok Choi instead. I put the white part of the Bok Choi in at Step No. 2 and the green part about 10 mins before it was all finished. DH says to make it anytime I want - and that will be often. Thank You:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      Hi Bonnie, this soup is amazing so fresh and fragrant with a bit of a kick. you could use leftover chicken for this and it would be fine. I used cooked chicken breast that I had in the freezer. This was the first time I had pac choi and it won't be the last a very nice soup. Thank's for posting. Made for ZWT#6 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thai Tom Yum Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (225 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 124.4
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    76%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1295.8 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken breast fillets

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes