Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thai Tofu and Squash Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thai Tofu and Squash Curry

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2012

      This is one of my favorite go-to fall/winter recipes. I recently modified it and fell even further in love. I left out the tofu and substituted a peeled, cubed acorn squash instead. The butternut and acorn really went well together. Also, I kicked up the red curry paste (like others). I didn't have any cilantro, limes, or peanuts on hand, but no need. It was delicious without - and the leftovers were even better. Now if I can only figure out an easy way to peel an acorn squash!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      This was very good and so close to the perfect Thai curry except for a few things I'll change next time. I was confused about the 2 tsp of red curry paste, the tin I bought said to use the whole tin but it was from Thailand, so I figured it would be too hot and used the 2 tsp. Next time I would use more for flavor (and I'm far from a fan of heat). I won't use tofu again but shrimp or chicken. I added a couple of mushrooms and they were the best part of the dish so next time I'll add at least 8 oz. The lime was too strong, the delicate flavors were over-powered but it might have been a strong lime. Next time I'll just serve the curry with lime slices on the side. All-in-all great start, I'm SO close to the perfect curry so thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2012

      I used mushrooms and some fresh grated ginger and shrimp. It was very good but my husband asked to leave out the Tofu next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      This was very good served with sticky rice for a Thai-inspired meal. I added a little more curry paste and kaffir lime leaves to boost the flavor, as well as a bit of cornstarch to thicken the sauce a little. I used So Delicious brand refrigerated coconut milk for this, as it has significantly fewer calories. But unless you make your own, I would recommend using the canned coconut milk for a creamier sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

    • on October 05, 2011

      So good. I followed the recipe exactly. The cilantro added a layer of flavor to this recipe. So, do not skip it. So easy to whip up too.Keeper Recipe. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2011

      I didn't have curry paste, but I had 1.5 tsp garam masala and then added .5 tsp curry powder. I used yellow squash (because that's what I had) and added a cup of sliced baby carrots at the beginning. It tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      this was very good and tasty. broth had great flavor. i followed everything except i used chicken broth since i couldnt find vegetable broth. my husband enjoyed the flavor of the broth but asked that i make it w/ chicken next time. delicious! thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      We loved it. We used cashews instead of peanuts, it was awesome. I had to make it ahead of time but that worked out great as I think the flavor got even better in the fridge. It's a keeper for the file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      My DH really liked this...but I just thought it was "OK." Perhaps if I used basil instead of the cilantro. The butternut squash was the overpowering taste..so perhaps if I had a better one. I won't be making this again though...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      Love this. It's colourful, has a good taste and it's healthy. I didn't miss the meat at all. The peanuts add a lot so don't miss them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      I was hoping to recreate my boyfriend's favorite dish from a local Thai restaurant when I happened upon this recipe. He and I both loved it. Carrots were a nice addition and I served it over brown rice. He prefers his food on the mild side but I topped it with a little Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce for some extra zest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      I'm neither cook nor vegetarian. And I can honestly say that my only qualification is that I love to eat and I know good food. Well, I attempted to make this one and it turned out phenomenal! I can't believe I actually produced something that tastes this good. Thank you, Roosie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      I have made this dish several times and it comes out super duper delicious every time. I have made it with tofu and with chicken. I like spice, so I always kick it up a notch with curry powder and hot red peppers. It is actually a lot easier to make than it looks and is great for left overs. My girlfriends request this dish frequently. Thanks Roosie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      This is a wonderful recipe! We used a red kuri squash rather than butternut and panang curry paste rather than red curry paste. The broth is very flavorful and the tofu is really good. We had it over long grain brown rice. I'm writing this review the second time we've prepared this recipe, and we'll definitely be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      Delicious curry. I used pumpkin as I couldn't get any butternut squash. I bought a 600 g piece that was already seeded which gave me 4 cups. This recipe didn't turn my husband into a tofu lover, but the curry sauce was so good that he didn't mind it being meatless. I would recommend using light soy sauce (not the dark) to keep it from looking a bit muddy. Thanks, Roosie !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      Delicious! I added shitake mushrooms and those mini thai pea eggplants and this was a full meal. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      This was excellent, tasted like it was from a restaurant! Instead of vegetable stock I used chicken broth, omitted the peanuts and used basil instead of the cilantro. I also added spinach.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      This really turned out great. We used massaman curry paste instead of red (it was what we had in the pantry), and used chicken-style gluten instead of the tofu (we find it in the refrigerator section of our Asian grocery). I really loved the addition of the lime juice and chopped peanuts. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thai Tofu and Squash Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (290 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 198.0
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    36%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 820.0 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 8.1 g
    32%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Thai red curry paste

    light coconut milk

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites