Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thai-Style Green Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thai-Style Green Beans

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on August 26, 2013

      What a yummy way to enjoy green beans!! I made 1/2 of the recipe, as DH was out of town last night, and followed as written. I wasn't sure weather I would enjoy peanut butter with green beans, but with the other ingredients it was delicious. It was a nice salty flavor to the beans. Thanks for sharing a new delicious way to prepare green beans. Made for ZWT 9.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      Used this recipe as a side dish with Thai jasmine rice cooked with half water half coconut milk, and a whole brown trout baked in a Thai marinade and finished under the grill to crisp the skin. I was in a rush and didn't read the recipe properly, so simply added the minced shallot and grated ginger to the other ingredients - without cooking them! It didn't seem to affect anyone's enjoyment of the dish at all - thankfully! To top it, as suggested, I used some peanuts from a local Asian store - described as "Khao Shong Tom Yum coated peanuts". These were an excellent addition. I'll definitely use this recipe again. Oh, yes... nearly forgot: the only peanut butter we had in was Skippy smooth, and it was lovely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2013

      This was tasty but everyone prefers green beans plain. Served with Asian chicken and rice for a SE Asian meal. Made for ZWT9.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2013

      Made as part of a Thai meal, this was a huge hit! We have a ton of green beans in our garden this year, and hubby says he will gladly eat beans this way every day. I'm a green beans and ham hocks girl, but I will be eating these all summer long as well! Thanks Diva Paula, your recipes are always sure to please! ZWT9

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2013

      This was a wonderful way to make green beans. Used fresh from the garden beans and organic peanut butter. We will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      This was so easy and so tasty. I was making a Thai dinner with a chicken dish, a shrimp dish, and jasamin rice. Even though both main's had vegetables in them, I wanted to make a vegetable side dish. When I read this, I wasn't too sure I'd like it- the idea of peanut butter and green beans seemed wierd to me. I'm so glad I gave it a go. We all loved it and will be making this often. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      This was good. The only thing I might do differently is half the oyster sauce next time...personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Delicious! We loved the complexity of the sauce, the fresh ginger and peanut butter were the stars of this dish, but did not overpower any of the other flavors. I used the higher amount of red pepper flakes and it was a nice amount of heat. The only I would do differently next time is eliminate the shallot; we used 1/2 the amount and it was still overpowering for me. I'd probably sub with garlic instead. Thanks Paula for a wonderful Asian veggie side! Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      This was very good - I added a squeeze of lime to cut some of the heavier tastes, and a teaspoon of Splenda (I used unsweetened peanut butter)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      It was just DH and I for lunch today and we have tons of fresh green beans in our garden and enjoy spicy Thai dishes - this was just the ticket! I used fish sauce instead of oyster sauce as I usually do in Thai dishes. Made a great Asian themed lunch today served with leftover Sesame Noodles. I steamed the beans 3 min in my 1200wt microwave and they were done to our liking. I used regular peanut butter and did need to add several tablespoons of water in order for the sauce to become creamy. Would make again! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      I loved this--especially the cilantro at the end! A really deleicious sauce. I steamed and shocked my beans but othrwise followed instructions. Good leftover too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      Paula this is a wonderful recipe for fresh green beans, I had to omit the shallots as I ran out of it, I did increase the oil and crushed red pepper flakes, thank you for sharing!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2007

      this sauce is great! i used a different cooking method, as we like our green beans really crunchy. i sauteed the shallots and beans together a bit, then added the sauce and cooked it the rest of the way. the leftovers were even better i think, as the flavors had blended more. i used the higher amount of red pepper as we like things spicy. will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      made a few changes to this recipe... No cilantro - I hate it so much it makes my teeth curl. No oyster sauce - subbed for soy (veggie) No red pepper flakes - cant find em anywhere, used chilli flakes instead. Phew the chilli gave a real kick to these, no unpleasant though! I steamed rather than micro-ed as i had a boiling pot on the go it was easier to chuck a steamer basket on top. They were salty, crispy and spicy fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2006

      This was so good and enjoyed by my family and a friend! I used fish sauce to replace the oyster sauce, and vidalia onion to replace the shallots. Loved it! Thank you Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thai-Style Green Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (147 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 116.6
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    50%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 793.0 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes