10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great tasting, mild, Thai dish which will go well with a variety of Asian meals. Toasted garlic gives an amazing flavor to the broccoli, along with the fish sauce, lending a depth of flavor. I would serve this dish again as part of my Asian meals, as it is very versatile and tasty! Thanks, S'kat!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau July 08, 2002

This was great.My DH loved it,so did I! Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lin1 March 18, 2004

Awesome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer September 17, 2012

Delish! I made this recipe with soy sauce instead of fish sauce and instead of 2 teaspoons of sugar, I only use 1 teaspoon. **I also added a little bit of Chinese hot sauce (any brand would do) for extra flavor. It gives it a light spicy yummy taste. This is perfect for someone that has a hard time eating vegetables.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ariele2004 August 03, 2009

This was very tasty, and amazingly simple. The flavour just bursts into your mouth when you bite into it. But, I wouldn't make it again, because I had to add a little more fish sauce, and I'd actually like my sauce thicker. Maybe cornstarch would help.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Syin November 19, 2006

Ha! I have finally found a broccoli recipe that my kids and husband love! Only problem was, they fought for seconds and I did not make near enough! I do not keep fish sauce in the house, so I used soy sauce as the substitute per Zaar's suggestion. Thanks for the worchestershire warning, Sandaidh; give it a go with the soy sauce and you will not be disappointed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little T March 29, 2006

I'm not giving a rating on this...yet, because I made a change which didn't work quite right. I still want to comment though. The chance of finding fish sauce in this area is slim to none, so I decided to see if I could substitute something else. When I clicked on 'fish sauce,' the Zaar link said that Worchestershire or soy sauce could be substituted. Since I was going to be serving it with grilled filet mignon, I decided to go with the Worchestershire sauce. Um-m...not such a good idea. It wasn't bad, but the flavor wasn't...well, it was different. Next time (yes, I will make this again), I'll use soy sauce, or I'll eliminate the sugar. The sugar and Worchestershire was too sweet and had an odd flavor. My son didn't care for it. I ate it all. LOL Thanks. I will try this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandaidh October 02, 2004

I made it for dinner last night and it was quick, easy & delicious meal. I will put a little less fish sauce next time. Thanks S'kat for the great recipe:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bansabai September 30, 2004

This is a very quick and easy side dish to a Thai meal. My family enjoyed it thoroughly, thanks s'kat for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude July 04, 2004
Thai-Style Broccoli With Garlic