21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a terrific recipe. I used chicken broth instead of water and omitted the chicken cubes. I also omitted the coconut because we do not care for it in our rice. This recipe is excellent, nothing left to save for the next day!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy-Jude August 16, 2002

Made this for lunch today, threw everything in my microwave rice cooker. Yumm! Simple, easy and subtle taste. Will be making this again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie August 13, 2002

i cooked my rice beforehand and added the rest of the ingredients afterwards minus the coconut - I used a combo of basmati and jasmine rice - excellent dish

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay July 13, 2009

This rice was a big hit at dinner. DH says it must go in rotation.:). I used Thai basil, but no coconut. (I didn't have any unsweetened). I also didn't have shallots or green onions - so I used a vidalia onion, IBecause we primarily use brown rice, i precooked it in chicken broth and added it to the other ingredients. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brownsugar8 September 17, 2013

This was just what I was looking for I also used chicken broth (better than bullion) & it was great. The only rice I had was something I picked up at the Asian Market called 'sweet rice'. It came out risotto like & even with a different type rice this was still delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madetobemagic71 June 25, 2013

I use this recipe often in the summer. Last year I had a bumper crop of basil and was looking for new ways to use it. It is a big hit with my family. Sometimes I omit the coconut and pepper flakes depending on what I am serving with the rice and I always use Basmati rice. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjc5 April 28, 2013

This recipe is amazing! I used two cups of parboiled rice and cooked 16 minutes. Can't wait to make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mMadness97 October 27, 2011

this was good but didn't taste very thai, even though i used thai basil. maybe it was the seasons in my bouillon? the rice was still really good even my son who only likes plain rice (gasp...i know) ate two servings. next time i'll try using chicken broth instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
girl#1177249 June 29, 2010

I'd probably give this 3 1/2 stars, but felt like rounding up. This has great potential, but I had no idea HOW much basil this was! I actually used 2 cups of rice (instant) and half the basil, but it was overwhelming! I did take one reviewer's suggestion and cook the rice first. I cooked the rice in the water/bouillon mix, fixed the rest of the ingredients, then added them all together. Next time, I may try the cooking method listed here. And I will definitely decrease the basil again. (maybe I'll also try some tumeric as another reviewer suggested) Great change from normal white rice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hodgemo2 December 07, 2009

Good! I am going to increase the basil next time. I think I am also going to cook my rice beforehand like karen in tbay suggested. I did not use coconut.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ck2plz August 10, 2009
Thai-style Basil Rice