Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thai-style Basil Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thai-style Basil Rice

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on August 16, 2002

      This is a terrific recipe. I used chicken broth instead of water and omitted the chicken cubes. I also omitted the coconut because we do not care for it in our rice. This recipe is excellent, nothing left to save for the next day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2002

      Made this for lunch today, threw everything in my microwave rice cooker. Yumm! Simple, easy and subtle taste. Will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      i cooked my rice beforehand and added the rest of the ingredients afterwards minus the coconut - I used a combo of basmati and jasmine rice - excellent dish

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2013

      This rice was a big hit at dinner. DH says it must go in rotation.:). I used Thai basil, but no coconut. (I didn't have any unsweetened). I also didn't have shallots or green onions - so I used a vidalia onion, IBecause we primarily use brown rice, i precooked it in chicken broth and added it to the other ingredients. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2013

      This was just what I was looking for I also used chicken broth (better than bullion) & it was great. The only rice I had was something I picked up at the Asian Market called 'sweet rice'. It came out risotto like & even with a different type rice this was still delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2013

      I use this recipe often in the summer. Last year I had a bumper crop of basil and was looking for new ways to use it. It is a big hit with my family. Sometimes I omit the coconut and pepper flakes depending on what I am serving with the rice and I always use Basmati rice. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      This recipe is amazing! I used two cups of parboiled rice and cooked 16 minutes. Can't wait to make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      this was good but didn't taste very thai, even though i used thai basil. maybe it was the seasons in my bouillon? the rice was still really good even my son who only likes plain rice (gasp...i know) ate two servings. next time i'll try using chicken broth instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      I'd probably give this 3 1/2 stars, but felt like rounding up. This has great potential, but I had no idea HOW much basil this was! I actually used 2 cups of rice (instant) and half the basil, but it was overwhelming! I did take one reviewer's suggestion and cook the rice first. I cooked the rice in the water/bouillon mix, fixed the rest of the ingredients, then added them all together. Next time, I may try the cooking method listed here. And I will definitely decrease the basil again. (maybe I'll also try some tumeric as another reviewer suggested) Great change from normal white rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      Good! I am going to increase the basil next time. I think I am also going to cook my rice beforehand like karen in tbay suggested. I did not use coconut.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      This rice is great - I used regular yellow onion instead of shallots, and added more red pepper flakes to intensify the heat, and husband loved it! Maybe add a pinch of turmeric also for a bit of yellow coloring next time I make it to see how that works out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      I made this with tarragon instead of basil, and it was a hit! With this change, I used slightly less than the 1/2 cup the recipe called for to balance out the flavor, but I will definately make this again. This a flexible recipe and I will alter it as needed with different herbs to work as a side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      This is my families new favorite rice. I've made it twice so far with the red pepper flakes but not the coconut yet. Highly recommend!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      I love this rice. I sauteed everything and then cooked it in my rice cooker. Lots of basil this year and always looking for recipes. Didn't use coconut.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      This was a wonderful recipe. The basil adds great flavor. I did not have shallots, and I used about 1/3 of a yellow onion instead of a green onion. I will have to try "as is" next time, but I trust that it would be even better! Thanks for a tasty side dish :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      One of the best rice dishes I've had in ages. Did not use the red pepper or coconut, and substituted yellow onions & their greens from my garden for the shallots/green onions. Stuffed this rice into grilled peppers, and it made a perfect side dish to our chicken satay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      Great rice dish, not too much heat as for our taste. I did not put any coconut flakes(did not have any). Still came out great. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      Yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2005

      This was really fantastic! I didn't put in the pepper flakes as I was serving this with some very hot beef but followed the rest of the recipe to the letter (using Thai basil of course)! Once it started sticking a bit to the bottom of my evil saucepan I removed from the heat and just let it sit for 5 minutes to finish absorbing the liquid. Thanks for a great recipe which will certainly be used again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2005

      This rice was delicious. My family LOVED it. There is an underlying heat to the dish....maybe I put in too many red pepper flakes, but it was so good. What a great change from plain, white rice. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thai-style Basil Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 265.2
     
    Calories from Fat 86
    32%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 15.4 mg
    5%
    Sodium 297.7 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.0 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites