Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thai Shrimp (chili) Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thai Shrimp (chili) Soup

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2010

      This is excellent. I didn't have fresh ginger so used just a bit of dry ginger. I think I would add less lime juice next time--I tasted the soup before I added it and liked it better than with the lime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      Holy Moly this is good. I made this last night to go with some other asian dishes and this was fantastic. The shrimp were cooked perfectly and the flavor from the coconut milk and the chili paste were so yummy. We really like this alot and will make again,its so easy but tastes like so much more effort got put into it. Thank you for sharing this with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      Great soup! I'm not rating this because I made some changes. I used regular coconut milk and I accidentally added 3 tablespoons sriracha instead of 2-3 teaspoons of chili paste so I added another can of coconut milk then added 1 cup chicken broth to make it more soupy (it was thick and more stew-like.) I added 2 big cloves of garlic. I used 12 oz shrimp for the whole thing, and about 3 cups of quartered baby portabella mushrooms. I used white instead of brown sugar, but didn't notice it in the end product. I did use Rotel tomatoes. We loved this soup, and thankfully the heat diminished as we ate. So delicious, and glad I had doubled the recipe in the end. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2014

      Yummy. Just enough spiciness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2014

      WoW! Delish!!!! Thank you for a recipe w/out fish sauce. Not that I dont like it but if too much is a MAJOR turn off for me. This hit all the right notes. Spicy, slightly sweet, tangy (w/ the lime... some may want to reduce but not me). I didnt use the flour, it didnt need it! I did add basil, some garlic and a Thai seasoning that had lemon grass in it that can be found in my local produce section. Otherwise, I made as directed but went light on the sambal chili sauce. Glad I did! With the rotels and 1 tbsp chili sauce, it was plenty for my Texan palate. TY TY TY TY!! I will make this over and over again!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2012

      This soup is fantastic! I made the recipe as written although I did add in an extra tsp of chili paste to make 4 full tsps. We love it, and I'll be making this a lot. Thanks for sharing the recipe flower7!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      This was good. I couldn't find Chili Paste, so I subbed some Thai Ginger Sauce and some Asian Tobasco. I also added a half can of chicken broth to make it more of a soup. Not sure if I'll try it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2011

      This turned out great! I made it for a friend who was recovering from surgery. When I asked her what sounded good to eat she told me Thai soup. I'm not a huge fan of shrimp and rarely make them at home. I found your recipe and thought it looked easy enough to try. I'm so glad I did. It was a breeze to put together and it came out delicious. I tasted a little sample and wowza it was spicy, but super tasty. I made some jasmine rice to pour it over just in case it turned out too spicy for her. I might try making it without the shrimp for me and DH. Thanks so much for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      Another winner from Flower. This is delicious. We loved it, great flavor and texture and it was so quick and easy to make. Followed your recipe exactly as written. I used a mixture of wild mushrooms, they were great in this dish. The soup was delish and never lost any of its flavor, it actually intensified as we got near the end. It made for a delicious lunch. Into my keeper box this goes. Thanks so much for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      Very interesting, I made as posted except I cut the recipe in half. Well, it didn't turn into a soup. In fact it was more like a stew. I served it over rice like a lot of other reviewers suggested. With that said the flavor was good but after awhile it started to become ok, it didn't keep the wow factor. Overall a good dish. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      This was amazing. Served this over brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      5 stars for ease of prep and for taste. Tasted like a much more complicated dish than it was. I used about 6 oz shrimp for two, subd scallions for green onions and canned straw mushrooms for fresh as that is what I had on hand. I did let my broth simmer for about 20 min before putting the shrimp back in, and the base had a very nice flavor. Used a full 3 tsp Siracha plus a can of Rotel and it was nice and hot! This will not even come close to serving 7, unless its a small side or appetizer. Ours served 2 for dinner with potstickers on the side. Great recipe, def a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      I made this for dinner tonight and it was great! I loved the smell of the coconut milk....I used rooster sauce for the paste. It turned out great. I did put it over white rice. Can't wait for my left overs tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      This is a delicious soup. I didn't have canned tomatoes so used one small fresh tomato, 4 oz. tomato sauce and 2 oz. chilies. I used 2 t. chinese garlic chili sauce, which made it the perfect spiciness for us. I am still craving this wonderful soup. Used one lb. of shrimp and we ate almost the whole recipe with a little leftover for one lunch. We will make this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Everyone loves this recipe. I made it twice and had great reviews. My husband even took it to work for leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      Amazing flavor and very easy to make. I only used 3/4 pound of shrimp, since there are only three of us, but I used the full amounts of the other ingredients. I used 2 teaspoons of the Chinese garlic chili sauce and it was plenty of heat for us. I served this in bowls over steamed jasmine rice and will definitely make this again (perhaps without the mushrooms, they seemed a little out of place to me). Update: this is delicious cold! I've made this many many times and served it hot, over rice. But in the summer heat, I served cold with warm garlic toast - it's very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      It was great, could be a little spicer

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

    • on July 26, 2007

      This was a voyage into the unknown for me. I don't care for coconut, so I've never used coconut milk. I thought there were enough flavors to disguise it if I didn't like the flavor. I used frozen cooked shrimp, and only 12 oz, as that's what I had. It worked fine, and was plenty. I also didn't have chili paste, so I used a tablespoon of hot sauce and two cloves of fresh garlic. I also used the tomatoes with the green chilies. Wow, what a flavor explosion!! The lime juice is really fresh, and then there was the cilantro. Just when you least expect it, a bit of fresh ginger pops up. It had just a tingle of heat, but wasn't overpowering. I served it over jasmine rice to make it a substantial meal, and it was quite filling. A great intro to coconut milk, sure to be made often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      tremendous, although we overdid a bit with the chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thai Shrimp (chili) Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 7

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 99.9
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    10%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 122.4 mg
    40%
    Sodium 783.9 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 14.9 g
    29%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    light coconut milk

    chili paste with garlic

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes