29 Reviews

This is excellent. I didn't have fresh ginger so used just a bit of dry ginger. I think I would add less lime juice next time--I tasted the soup before I added it and liked it better than with the lime.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 November 08, 2010

Holy Moly this is good. I made this last night to go with some other asian dishes and this was fantastic. The shrimp were cooked perfectly and the flavor from the coconut milk and the chili paste were so yummy. We really like this alot and will make again,its so easy but tastes like so much more effort got put into it. Thank you for sharing this with us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour March 27, 2011

Great soup! I'm not rating this because I made some changes. I used regular coconut milk and I accidentally added 3 tablespoons sriracha instead of 2-3 teaspoons of chili paste so I added another can of coconut milk then added 1 cup chicken broth to make it more soupy (it was thick and more stew-like.) I added 2 big cloves of garlic. I used 12 oz shrimp for the whole thing, and about 3 cups of quartered baby portabella mushrooms. I used white instead of brown sugar, but didn't notice it in the end product. I did use Rotel tomatoes. We loved this soup, and thankfully the heat diminished as we ate. So delicious, and glad I had doubled the recipe in the end. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suthernkiwi July 31, 2010

This is a great start for an excellent soup, I added 3 Tablespoons of the chili paste as did other reviews I read and being a Thai dish I added two fresh chili peppers. I love the texture of this soup, and when I re-heated leftovers I used the left over coconut milk as it was very thick, and it was excellent! Goes great with steamed rice, rich and tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mr. Mike January 03, 2015

Yummy. Just enough spiciness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes November 16, 2014

WoW! Delish!!!! Thank you for a recipe w/out fish sauce. Not that I dont like it but if too much is a MAJOR turn off for me. This hit all the right notes. Spicy, slightly sweet, tangy (w/ the lime... some may want to reduce but not me). I didnt use the flour, it didnt need it! I did add basil, some garlic and a Thai seasoning that had lemon grass in it that can be found in my local produce section. Otherwise, I made as directed but went light on the sambal chili sauce. Glad I did! With the rotels and 1 tbsp chili sauce, it was plenty for my Texan palate. TY TY TY TY!! I will make this over and over again!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MacChef February 04, 2014

This soup is fantastic! I made the recipe as written although I did add in an extra tsp of chili paste to make 4 full tsps. We love it, and I'll be making this a lot. Thanks for sharing the recipe flower7!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mae2september June 01, 2012

This was good. I couldn't find Chili Paste, so I subbed some Thai Ginger Sauce and some Asian Tobasco. I also added a half can of chicken broth to make it more of a soup. Not sure if I'll try it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly-Mom2Girls February 15, 2012

This turned out great! I made it for a friend who was recovering from surgery. When I asked her what sounded good to eat she told me Thai soup. I'm not a huge fan of shrimp and rarely make them at home. I found your recipe and thought it looked easy enough to try. I'm so glad I did. It was a breeze to put together and it came out delicious. I tasted a little sample and wowza it was spicy, but super tasty. I made some jasmine rice to pour it over just in case it turned out too spicy for her. I might try making it without the shrimp for me and DH. Thanks so much for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview October 13, 2011

Another winner from Flower. This is delicious. We loved it, great flavor and texture and it was so quick and easy to make. Followed your recipe exactly as written. I used a mixture of wild mushrooms, they were great in this dish. The soup was delish and never lost any of its flavor, it actually intensified as we got near the end. It made for a delicious lunch. Into my keeper box this goes. Thanks so much for sharing. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato June 02, 2010
Thai Shrimp (chili) Soup