Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thai Red Curry With Vegetables Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thai Red Curry With Vegetables

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2003

      This is one of my favorite "quick" dinners. It throws together so fast and is just delish! Like Kimke, I also use just one can of coconut milk. I also like to add a handful of fresh basil, the zest and juice of one lime, and a touch of garlic chili paste. Instead of adding veggies I usually throw in a bit of stir fried beef or chicken. A bit of info: this dish in Thailand (kaeng phed kai kap normai on)is often left as a "food gift" to the Buddhist monks during late summer (the time of Buddhist Lent). At that time the monks focus not on earthly things, but rather on meditation and teaching. Supporting the monks with food during this time is known as "making merit." This dish is a favorite offering as bamboo is in season and the orange of the curry is similiar in color to the monks robes. End of lesson. ;) Serve over jasmine rice with lime wedges. Very tastey stuff!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      My husband loved this recipe and so did my 17 month old daughter! I couldn't believe she was eating all of her vegetables! I used light coconut milk and added a tbsp of corn starch b/c it comes out a little thinner without it! I will definitely make this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2003

      You'll get even better results if you simmer the curry with crushed but in tact lemongrass and ginger. Remove the peices when done. And taste before serving! I usually add more sugar and fish sauce. I usually use acorn squash, red pepper, beef, and bamboo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2012

      Very yummy! I only added 1/4 tsp of red curry paste [I love the flavor but can't take too much heat] and sprinkled some lemongrass for flavor as someone else suggested. Thank you for sharing this great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      This was delicious! I used mild curry paste, will use medium next time. I will also add a lot more veggies and try the cashews and cilantro as well. Thank you for posting this keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      Perfect! I added cashews and cilantro and it was wonderful. Thank you :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      To start out with, I added half the coconut milk and the curry paste (I used 3 tbs) in a wok over medium heat. Once, the a red oily look appeared in this mixture I added 1 lb of thinly sliced chicken breast. Once the chicken was almost cooked, I added the rest of the coconut milk, only 1 tbsp of fish sauce, and the vegetables ( I used brocolii, a mixture of bell peppers, a small onion sliced, snow peas, and baby carrots (slightly steamed in the microwave). I also substituted Splenda for the brown sugar. I cooked the mixture on medium for 15min. after that I stirred in basmati rice (two cups uncooked raw rice cooked). I also added approximately 2 tbsp Thai basil at the end off cooking. This dish was delicious!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      Used one heaping tablespoon of red curry paste and the heat was more than enough! Added 2 tablespoons fish sauce and a bag (750 grams, would be about 1 1/2 pounds)of (what the supermarket calls....) Thai vegetables. Next time I'll use more different coloured veggies, more red, it now looked a little too grey. But that did not cut down on the taste! Very easy to make, yes, we liked it a lot. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2007

      I make this all the time and have finally perfected it to my family's taste. Here goes: 1 can of coconut mik, 2 Tblsp of red curry paste, 2Tblsp of fish sauce, 2 1/2 Tblsp of brown sugar and 4 1/2 cups of assorted vegetables(cauliflower, red bell, onion, potato, zucchini). Sometimes I throw in one juilenned chicken breast that I quickly stirfry in the pan for 5 minutes before going on with the recipe. It will cook further as you boil the vegetables in the coconut milk. This recipe makes a nice lunch every so often. ** Also I say 4 1/2 cups of vegetables but even more is good (1 more cup) because as they cook down alot of the water comes out of the veggies so you have alot of curry and also veggies are good for you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2013

      This was excellent! I made mine with cauliflower, broccoli, zucchini and red pepper and followed the directions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      This was so easy and tasted great! Very rich. I subbed vegetarian fish sauce and used baby corn, broccoli and snow peas for the veggies. Served with sticky rice for a meal. I def recommend using the upper end of the red curry amount for a fuller taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      Very nice. Was a little too spicy. Will adjust next time. Added a block of tofu as well. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Really, really good. Be careful not to overcook it. I didn't start my rice on time, so I ended up cooking this 20 minutes and that was too long. The other note I want to make is that I used lite coconut milk. It was a great substitution and it lowered the calories a lot, but I should have reduced the amount of curry paste I used a little bit - the lite coconut milk is not as creamy, so it makes the dish spicier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      amazingly authentic

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

    • on April 27, 2008

      Simple and tasty. Which is really all that matters. I used broccoli, carrots, snow peas, onions and the bamboo shoots. I used only one tablespoon of the red curry paste and that was plenty for me

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      My boyfriend and I love this dish. It is wonderful over Indian jeera rice. I highly recommend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2006

      I too found this recipe on my jar of curry paste, and made it for lunch today to serve with thai fried rice. Turned out very tasty. I added 2 tbsp of the curry paste and found it was way too hot at the back of the throat, so I added another half can of lite coconut milk to tone it down a bit. For the veggies I chose onions, bamboo shoots, zucchini and stir-fried tofu. Very easy to make and with delicious results. Thanks for posting the recipe, Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      This was delicious!! I love the fact that it goes together so quickly and easily. I doubled the recipe, used the max. amount of curry and added some fresh, chopped Thai basil. Served over jasmine rice, this was wonderful. I will definitely be making this one again. Thank you for sharing this fantastic, easy recipe...it is a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2006

      So very easy to make! It was very tasty, the second time around I used less sugar and added some lemongrass and ginger to enhance the flavour. Also, let the curry cool down and then reheat to further bring out the flavour (this trick works for most curries...)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thai Red Curry With Vegetables

    Serving Size: 1 (172 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 240.1
     
    Calories from Fat 192
    79%
    Total Fat 21.3 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 18.8 g
    94%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 723.6 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 8.7 g
    34%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    red curry paste

    assorted fresh vegetables

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites