Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thai Red Curry Chicken and Eggplant (Aubergine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thai Red Curry Chicken and Eggplant (Aubergine)

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2013

      absolutely fantastic, only modifications was to add a couple of spoons of brown sugar towards the end and with the aubergine, i cut them into big cubes (making sure each piece had some skin on it) and then covered them in olive oil and salt and roasted them in the oven for 1/2 hour on gas mark 6. then i added these in as normal (after the chicken was cooked slightly) with some bamboo shoots and water chestnuts. this can easily be made into a vegetarian meal and i will try this for my parents one day as a veggie meal. thanks for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      We just returned back from Thailand and had many curry dishes. This recipe didn't tasty like the authentic Thai red curry dish I ate in Thailand, BUT it was very satisfying and very easy to make. I added a little sugar because in Thai food the sweet and the sour need to match each other. Otherwise I kept to the recipe, served it with steamed rice and extra basil for garnish. Thank you so much for a lovely recipe Elmotoo

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2014

      I had no idea making curry was so easy! I have insatiable curry cravings and I always thought I had to go to my favorite Thai place to get it, but this was just as good! I added a little brown sugar as some of the other reviewers suggested and I also added mango, carrots, red bell pepper, and mushrooms. Turned out wonderfully. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      Agreed - easy and tasty! I used a regular eggplant also, quite fresh so the skin was tender. Boneless, skinless chicken thighs were moist and tender too. Used dried red chiles and about a T of brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      A very quick and easy meal to throw together with a wonderful end result.. I too like other reviewers threw in a spoonful of sugar. I have never added eggplant to my thai curries before but really liked the addition of it.. My hubby who is not a curry fan and eggplant would never be on any list of ingredients he would normally eat, absolutely loved it and said so several times during the meal.. It was just the right amount of heat ratio and one that will definitely be enjoyed again as it is so flavourful and so easy to out together.. Much easy than a lot of curry recipes I have made before.. Thanks for posting a great recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2011

      This is a delicious dish. Added a can of bamboo shoots and 3T peanuts I roasted in the oven. I salted and sweated the eggplant and then lightly fried them in the pan till slightly charred. The eggplant really soaks up the sauce this way. I think the curry paste is fine, in fact I added about 3.5 T. It helps to get a good coconut milk that has cream and liquid components, such as Thai Kitchen's organic coconut milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      Very quick and easy dish. Just beware that 3 Tablespoons of Red Curry is quite strong and spicy even for me and I love spicy dishes. To give the sauce more balance, I added a bit of sugar at the end too. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      This was yummy! Like another reviewer, I subbed chicken breast. I used Thai basil, which lent the dish a nice flavor. Also, like another reviewer, after tasting my portion, I thought it was missing something and sprinkled a pinch of sugar into my individual bowl. This helped. Otherwise, I made no modifications to the recipe and we enjoyed it. Thanks, Bethie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      This is very good. I had 2 fresh from the garden eggplant that was begging to be used. I did substitute chicken breasts and used Thai basil. This was served over Perfect Basic Brown Rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      This is a definite keeper! I substituted a 19 oz package of firm tofu for the chicken -- just cut it into cubes and browned it a bit before adding to sauce; it was delicious! I did find that the sauce wasn't very saucy, rather pasty instead, so I added about 1/2 a can of vegetable broth to get the consistency I wanted. My 13 year old said it was his favorite curry dish so far! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      This dish is really good. My kids weren't to happy with the eggplant, but they devoured the chicken & wanted more. I will definitely make again. Thank you for posting. I did add a bit more red curry paste to give it a little more flavor. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Oh my!!! Most Excellent!! We absolutely loved this one and it made a TON!!!! I used 1 regular eggplant, light coconut milk and omitted the kaffir lime leaves (because I don't know what the heck they are!). I served this over white rice and we used sriracha sauce individually to adjust to our desired heat levels. Also, I didn't have the red chili's so I just used crushed red peppers to give it a nice kick. Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      Excellent red curry. I left out the lime leaves and only added 1 chili pepper. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      This was very tasty. I left out the kaffir lime leaves and red chilies and used light coconut milk. It made good leftovers as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      This was a great recipe - so easy and so delicious. I added chunks of red capsicum for extra veg component. I didn't have any lime juice, but added 2 teaspoons of brown sugar to get that great contrast of sweet and sour that is the hallmark of Thai food. My husband is not usually a fan of eggplant, but even he commented on how well it went with the flavours of the dish. A definite keeper - thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      This was pretty good.. I think I might have purchased spoiled fish sauce though :-( It smelled amazing until I added the fish sauce... (if I rated this with the fish sauce I used it would be 1 star or less, make sure you get a good brand) I purchased a different brand this time and it smells MUCH better. I think this is a great base for pretty much anything, I used Japanese Eggplant which was VERY good and had a great consistency, but I could see using Zucchini as well. I couldn't find kaffir lime leaf so omitted it and put the lime juice in at step #8. Thank you for sharing this beautiful, easy, and tasty dish with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      This was a great curry. I've made red chicken curry before, but the eggplant was a great addition. I used chicken breast & regular eggplant, also added red pepper & bamboo shoots. Made for Aus/NZ Recipe Swap December 2007. Thanks Elmotoo for sharing this keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2006

      Spicy and delicious! I added bamboo shoots for a little crunch. Plenty of sauce for rice too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      Can I say yum? I used chicken breast meat, and green beans instead of eggplant. But it was the sauce that made the entire dish! My husband is so full right now that his stomach actually hurts! Thank you, Mean Chef, for another fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2005

      Hey, my DH just ate eggplant! :-) Great recipe, easy, quick, delicious! I used regular eggplant instead of Japanese but otherwise followed the recipe. Served over jasmine rice. Thank you Mean!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thai Red Curry Chicken and Eggplant (Aubergine)

    Serving Size: 1 (352 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 411.3
     
    Calories from Fat 236
    57%
    Total Fat 26.2 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 20.0 g
    100%
    Cholesterol 94.4 mg
    31%
    Sodium 825.1 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 9.7 g
    39%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 28.1 g
    56%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    red curry paste

    kaffir lime leaves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites