27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

absolutely fantastic, only modifications was to add a couple of spoons of brown sugar towards the end and with the aubergine, i cut them into big cubes (making sure each piece had some skin on it) and then covered them in olive oil and salt and roasted them in the oven for 1/2 hour on gas mark 6. then i added these in as normal (after the chicken was cooked slightly) with some bamboo shoots and water chestnuts. this can easily be made into a vegetarian meal and i will try this for my parents one day as a veggie meal. thanks for a great recipe

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashwebster July 28, 2013

We just returned back from Thailand and had many curry dishes. This recipe didn't tasty like the authentic Thai red curry dish I ate in Thailand, BUT it was very satisfying and very easy to make. I added a little sugar because in Thai food the sweet and the sour need to match each other. Otherwise I kept to the recipe, served it with steamed rice and extra basil for garnish. Thank you so much for a lovely recipe Elmotoo

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer July 12, 2010

I had no idea making curry was so easy! I have insatiable curry cravings and I always thought I had to go to my favorite Thai place to get it, but this was just as good! I added a little brown sugar as some of the other reviewers suggested and I also added mango, carrots, red bell pepper, and mushrooms. Turned out wonderfully. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ritaculous April 02, 2014

Agreed - easy and tasty! I used a regular eggplant also, quite fresh so the skin was tender. Boneless, skinless chicken thighs were moist and tender too. Used dried red chiles and about a T of brown sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvin spoonful August 15, 2011

A very quick and easy meal to throw together with a wonderful end result.. I too like other reviewers threw in a spoonful of sugar. I have never added eggplant to my thai curries before but really liked the addition of it.. My hubby who is not a curry fan and eggplant would never be on any list of ingredients he would normally eat, absolutely loved it and said so several times during the meal.. It was just the right amount of heat ratio and one that will definitely be enjoyed again as it is so flavourful and so easy to out together.. Much easy than a lot of curry recipes I have made before.. Thanks for posting a great recipe!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef July 12, 2011

This is a delicious dish. Added a can of bamboo shoots and 3T peanuts I roasted in the oven. I salted and sweated the eggplant and then lightly fried them in the pan till slightly charred. The eggplant really soaks up the sauce this way. I think the curry paste is fine, in fact I added about 3.5 T. It helps to get a good coconut milk that has cream and liquid components, such as Thai Kitchen's organic coconut milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
npanyc June 23, 2011

Very quick and easy dish. Just beware that 3 Tablespoons of Red Curry is quite strong and spicy even for me and I love spicy dishes. To give the sauce more balance, I added a bit of sugar at the end too. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB May 27, 2011

This was yummy! Like another reviewer, I subbed chicken breast. I used Thai basil, which lent the dish a nice flavor. Also, like another reviewer, after tasting my portion, I thought it was missing something and sprinkled a pinch of sugar into my individual bowl. This helped. Otherwise, I made no modifications to the recipe and we enjoyed it. Thanks, Bethie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny September 14, 2010

This is very good. I had 2 fresh from the garden eggplant that was begging to be used. I did substitute chicken breasts and used Thai basil. This was served over Perfect Basic Brown Rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG July 12, 2010

This is a definite keeper! I substituted a 19 oz package of firm tofu for the chicken -- just cut it into cubes and browned it a bit before adding to sauce; it was delicious! I did find that the sauce wasn't very saucy, rather pasty instead, so I added about 1/2 a can of vegetable broth to get the consistency I wanted. My 13 year old said it was his favorite curry dish so far! Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mangomom August 28, 2009
Thai Red Curry Chicken and Eggplant (Aubergine)