14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great flavours in this soup, I used coconut milk and instead of one tomato I added a tin of chopped tomatoes. Served with crusty rolls on a cold Winters evening. Delicious.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* August 17, 2004

Delicious soup! I have to disagree with the reviewer who suggested that 2.5 tbsp. of curry paste was too much. It had a bit of a kick to it, but I didn't find it too spicy; however, if you don't like spicy food - or if your curry paste is particularly spicy - you may want to reduce it. I also added a tbsp. of chopped ginger at the beginning and some== fresh lime juice at the end. While I find most pumpkin soups too sweet, this was wonderful, and I will definitely make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lumberjackie October 26, 2010

Fantastic! My first time making soup and a total success, despite running out of red curry paste and having to substitute Mussuman curry paste instead. Left out the celery as I can't stand it but did everything else as per the recipe and was very happy - so great for those cold Melbourne days! Thanks for the recipe, I'll be making another batch this week!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
currybunny July 31, 2005

Love this recipe and have made it several times. However, rather than peel and cube the pumpkin, I cooked it in the microwave and then just removed the skin. So much easier and less time consuming. I don't care for particularly spicy food but found the 2-1/2 tablespoons of red thai curry psdte to be just right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chchkiwi May 30, 2015

Really, really good. I didn't have celery, so I omitted it. I used a combination of pumpkin, butternut squash and sweet potato, along with about 1 1/2 tablespoons of red curry paste. Definitely had a kick, but not overwhelmingly spicy, a nice contrast to the sweetness of the vegetables and the coconut milk. Beautiful color! One of the reasons I love to make pumpkin soup is because you always wind up with such a gorgeous orange. Thank you for a new recipe for my repertoire.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmommy209 November 29, 2011

This was a very nice recipe that really hits the spot on a cold fall day. I made a few modifications--added 1 Tbsp minced ginger and instead of salt, I used fish sauce (nuoc mam) for more of a Thai flavor; added a diced sweet potato while cooking the onions & celery; used 2.5 tsp of bouillon instead of broth; used an entire can of light coconut milk instead of just one cup; added a dash of dried basil. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xcelerasian October 30, 2011

As much of a pain in the proverbial preparing/cutting the peel off pumpkin is, this soup was well worth the effort. We didn't have any celery, so went without & the coriander completely slipped my mind (that can be garnish tomorrow night). I added about a cup of water with the stock & left the lid on -but off enough to let some steam vent- while simmering & because of this i think it cooked quicker than stated.
It was silky smooth, as you said, & we both agreed it was awesome, so next time we feel like pumpkin soup yours is one I'll be turning to.......but Matt's on peeling/chopping duty!
Thanks for sharing, Kooka. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhiannon and Matt July 12, 2011

A tasty soup for a cold winters night...I made as directed only added about 2 cups of left over roast zucchini, carrot and sweet potato (for no other reason but so they didn't waste) I found 2 1/2 tablespoons of red curry paste gave a comfortable heat. Thanks for sharing :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stardustannie July 13, 2009

Delicious !!! I followed the recipe exactly, and loved it. Wonderful flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki G. January 31, 2009

Don't use 2 1/2 tablespoons of Thai red curry paste. I think this was a misprint. Way tooooooo spicy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1031016 November 22, 2008
Thai Pumpkin Soup