Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thai Pumpkin Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thai Pumpkin Soup

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on August 17, 2004

      Great flavours in this soup, I used coconut milk and instead of one tomato I added a tin of chopped tomatoes. Served with crusty rolls on a cold Winters evening. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      Delicious soup! I have to disagree with the reviewer who suggested that 2.5 tbsp. of curry paste was too much. It had a bit of a kick to it, but I didn't find it too spicy; however, if you don't like spicy food - or if your curry paste is particularly spicy - you may want to reduce it. I also added a tbsp. of chopped ginger at the beginning and some== fresh lime juice at the end. While I find most pumpkin soups too sweet, this was wonderful, and I will definitely make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2005

      Fantastic! My first time making soup and a total success, despite running out of red curry paste and having to substitute Mussuman curry paste instead. Left out the celery as I can't stand it but did everything else as per the recipe and was very happy - so great for those cold Melbourne days! Thanks for the recipe, I'll be making another batch this week!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      Really, really good. I didn't have celery, so I omitted it. I used a combination of pumpkin, butternut squash and sweet potato, along with about 1 1/2 tablespoons of red curry paste. Definitely had a kick, but not overwhelmingly spicy, a nice contrast to the sweetness of the vegetables and the coconut milk. Beautiful color! One of the reasons I love to make pumpkin soup is because you always wind up with such a gorgeous orange. Thank you for a new recipe for my repertoire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      This was a very nice recipe that really hits the spot on a cold fall day. I made a few modifications--added 1 Tbsp minced ginger and instead of salt, I used fish sauce (nuoc mam) for more of a Thai flavor; added a diced sweet potato while cooking the onions & celery; used 2.5 tsp of bouillon instead of broth; used an entire can of light coconut milk instead of just one cup; added a dash of dried basil. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      As much of a pain in the proverbial preparing/cutting the peel off pumpkin is, this soup was well worth the effort. We didn't have any celery, so went without & the coriander completely slipped my mind (that can be garnish tomorrow night). I added about a cup of water with the stock & left the lid on -but off enough to let some steam vent- while simmering & because of this i think it cooked quicker than stated.
      It was silky smooth, as you said, & we both agreed it was awesome, so next time we feel like pumpkin soup yours is one I'll be turning to.......but Matt's on peeling/chopping duty!
      Thanks for sharing, Kooka. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      A tasty soup for a cold winters night...I made as directed only added about 2 cups of left over roast zucchini, carrot and sweet potato (for no other reason but so they didn't waste) I found 2 1/2 tablespoons of red curry paste gave a comfortable heat. Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      Delicious !!! I followed the recipe exactly, and loved it. Wonderful flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      Don't use 2 1/2 tablespoons of Thai red curry paste. I think this was a misprint. Way tooooooo spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      This soup was fantastic, easy to make and really tasty. I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out better than I've eaten in restaurants!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      Loved it. I made it as per the recipe and added some finely chopped fresh ginger to the onion and celery, and sprinkled some extra over a blob of coconut cream on top. Neither my husband nor son especially like soup but they enjoyed this one. I served it with Thai prawn & corn fritters. We'll have the leftovers tonight with a green chicken curry. Ta Kooka.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      This was gorgeous! Used home-made extremely hot green curry paste so only 1 tabsp of that! My son had second helpings which is a huge compliment! Many thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2004

      I thought it would be un-Australian of me not to try this soup. Australians LOVE pumpkin soup. I was a little concerned that it would not be Thai tasting, as there wasn't the usual abundance of spices etc. and I am not a huge fan of celery. BUT I did follow the recipe, except I blended coriander in with soup and used light coconut milk. One word - YUMM!! Great easy recipe, full of flavour and goodness. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thai Pumpkin Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (275 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 164.7
     
    Calories from Fat 85
    52%
    Total Fat 9.5 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 890.4 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 8.7 g
    34%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Thai red curry paste

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites