Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thai Noodles (Pad Thai) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thai Noodles (Pad Thai)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2010

      Fantastic! I had no idea it was so easy to make restaurant-quality pad thai at home. I used chicken and shrimp but will maybe try tofu next time. I also added 4 T instead of 6 T of sugar, per someone else's suggestion, but I thought it needed that little extra sweetness- my fault! I also agree you don't need to add all the oil- I just added oil as I went and didn't use the whole amount. Will definitely make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      I am a newbie to Thai cuisine, and don't care for the heavy use of basil in many of their dishes. However I had pad thai and enjoyed the sweet, sour, tart sensations. This recipe was my first try, and I really like it. I did use Jaggery (an Indian brown sugar) instead of white sugar. I also used vidalia onion since I had no scallions. My next change was to use Chinese bean thread vermicelli, since I had no rice noodles. Despite all the changes, it came pretty close to what I was looking for! I did not use any meat. Next time I will be sure to have bean sprouts! Next time I will also scramble the eggs separately and then fold the cooked eggs in. Thanks for this recipe ms_bold. It is a great launching place for me to experiment with Thai!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      This recipe is good, but with many alterations. We used one 12 oz package of rice noodles, tamarind concentrate, doubled the sauce, used brown sugar instead of white, peanut oil instead of vegetable, three eggs mixed with soy sauce and fried separately and thinly, no lime, chicken and tofu.
      The first time we made this as is, my husband liked it but I did not. The second time we changed a few things and both liked it. The third time, we used tamarind instead of vinegar, doubled the sauce and it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      This was good, and pretty easy. My boys ate it enthusiastically - I found it was waaay to sweet for me, and the sauce just not quite "right" compared to other pad thai I have had. That said, it was tasty and fresh tasting and I will make it again, I am sure. Still on the hunt for the PERFECT pad thai, but this was nice. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      This is a very good recipe. I used chicken and shrimp. Next time I would like to add some tofu as well. I did add some Thai red curry paste to the sauce to give it a little extra flavor. We love Pad Thai in the restaurant and this is a good home version. I was a little confused on the noodles, though. In the directions it only mention soaking them. But on the noodle package it say to drop in boiling water after soaking. I chose to do the boiling water method and the noodles did get a little soggy by time I finished the dish. I will be making this again and I hope to correct the noodle problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      It looked great, smelt great but the taste was a little off. I can't figure out what was wrong with this. I did enjoy it though, something was just off...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      This tasted just like the restaurant Pad Thai that I am always craving - SO good! The recipe we usually use is too thin, but this one achieves the right texture by cooking the eggs in the sauce, so I wouldn't cook them with the meat like some other recipes suggest. I thought the sauce was just sweet enough as directed. LOVED IT - thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Wonderful!! This is amazing. I used chicken AND shrimp and sauteed it with the egg and then added the noodles and sauce so I didn't have to worry about noodles breaking. I only used a total of 1 tbsp of oil, too, so that made it a littl healthier. Totally satisfied my Pad Thai craving I'd been having! THANK YOU

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      This is delicious! It tastes as good as the Pad Thai in our favorite Thai restaurant! I recommend getting the more narrow rice noodles if possible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      this recipe was very good. I used tofu instead of chicken not because I'm vegetarian but because it tastes better. I just fried the tofu in the vegetable oil like the recipe said to for the chicken. I excluded pepper flakes and used chili powder, and used udon noodles because there were no rice noodles at our supermarket. also I added a homemade peanut oil to the sauce, since it was missing something. To do this I mixed some creamy peanut butter and a lot of vegetable oil. It was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      The flavor of this dish is very good and almost exactly like restaurant Pad Thai. I would give it 5 stars, but the recipe needs some work. Eggs and Bean Sprouts are not listed ingredients, but are in the directions. (I used 3 eggs and skipped the sprouts.) Green onions are in the ingredient list, but are referred to as scallions is the directions. You don't need as much oil, either. Better to add the oil as needed. I used Olive Oil and it was fine. I added the pepper flakes at the same time as the sauce and this helped distribute the heat. Overall, a good final product, and worth making. I'll make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Great recipe. I cut two tablespoons of sugar, and it was still a bit sweet, so I added more soy sauce. Apart from that, fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2007

      The first time I made this dish my husband and his friends loved it. I have made 3 more times since then. Its very easy to make and very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      Light and tasty. It was a little bit sweet for my liking but I think if I omit the sugar next time, it would be better (for me, that is) :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thai Noodles (Pad Thai)

    Serving Size: 1 (303 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 833.9
     
    Calories from Fat 426
    51%
    Total Fat 47.3 g
    72%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 36.4 mg
    12%
    Sodium 1621.9 mg
    67%
    Total Carbohydrate 81.5 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 5.6 g
    22%
    Sugars 23.0 g
    92%
    Protein 24.4 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites