Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thai Iced Tea Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thai Iced Tea

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on August 19, 2002

      Wonderful! This exactly the same tea I have been served in Thai recipes and have tried to duplicate for some time. Really delicious and unique. The color is gorgeous - the orangey color of the tea topped with the creamy half n half makes a striking presentation in a clear glass. Note: Only Thai tea leaves will produce the unique color and taste. I found mine in an Asian market in a giant bag, but have also seen them for sale in online asian markets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2004

      Just a little note, intead of adding sugar and half and half, a lot of Thai cooks (including my mom) just top this with sweetened condensed milk. I don't add cinnamon to my recipe, but otherwise it is the same as this one and is really DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      Very good. I would recommend making twice the default amount listed here (6 servings), as it'll be consumed very quickly. I had great results with substituting sweetened condensed milk, ~2.5 Tbs. per serving, and reducing the sugar to ~5 Tbs. for six servings. This drink is absolutely necessary to survive Tom Yum Gai or Koong, the famous Thai Hot & Sour Soups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2011

      Very detailed recipe. Here's another video recipe of Thai Iced Tea http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OlxX6jQ84Q0

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      I just came back from eating Thai and wanted to try to make this yummy tea. I don't know if I did something wrong or if this is a different iced tea but it didn't taste like the one I had at all. I don't know what the spice was that I kept tasting, but I didn't taste it at all in this tea. I was disappointed. Again, I am not sure if this is the tea I was trying to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

    • on June 07, 2009

      Attention! Thai Tea is the name of the recipe. You use strong black tea for what this recipe calls "thai tea leaves." Otherwise you may never ever find "thai tea leaves."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      Absolutely perfect. It was my first time making Thai iced tea last night and the proportions were absolutely amazing. I topped it off with evaporated milk because I didn't have any half and half, but it was perfect either way. I think I'll make a huge pitcher of this and keep it in my fridge!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      This is fantastic! My mom and I have been trying to find a recipe for this tea for a very long time, and have always failed. If this isn't as close as it gets to what they serve in thai resteraunts, I don't know what is. The only thing I might try different is making the tea a tad bit stronger, but that's about it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2005

      Wow, thanks for this exotic and refreshing recipe. The Thai tea leaves were so hard to find. Our Chinatown in Montreal only had one shop that carried them (to my surprise and delight it was the green tea variety) and they told me to put it through a coffee maker to filter it. Well, I did and it worked out great as soon as I got my measurements correct. So I made basic Thai Tea without the cinnamon, cardamom and clove- two rounded teaspoons of tea for every cup of water in the coffee maker. Then I added two teaspoons of sugar for every cup of tea, sweet enough for my taste,and chilled it. When it was time to serve-poured it over some ice and half 'n half to top it off. Next time though I'm going to try to top it off with the sweet condensed milk as "shimmerchk" suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thai Iced Tea

    Serving Size: 1 (310 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.7
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    22%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 14.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 23.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 33.3 g
    133%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tea leaves

    cardamom pods

    cloves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites