15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Had my name written all over this, though to be honest, I'll be limiting myself to one genre of Asian. That of Thai...no, Vietnamese...no, Chinese...no,...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng March 01, 2015

I made this salad to go in spring rolls with brown rice noodles, chopped roasted peanuts, spinach, and red cabbage. It was absolutely delightful all together. My only tinkering was to add some sesame oil, a touch of oyster sauce, and used a fresno chile instead of a jalapeno. It had a pleasant bite from the pepper and a nice acidic tang overall. The sesame oil seemed to help meld the flavors on another level, IMHO. This is a great, light salad that could easily accompany any Thai or endless other Asian and/or summery dishes. Especially give this a try with garden veggies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shelteredcreature September 30, 2014

Oh, this was SO good! I made an 8x recipe to take to a large outdoor party (my neighbor has tons of sweet, crisp cukes in his garden) and kept the salad in a large bowl placed in an even larger bowl of crushed ice since it was an outdoor party and the temps were over 90 degrees. This was the second side to disappear from the buffet table (out of about 14 or 15 dishes) and I received tons of compliments on it. The flavors were awesome, tart/sweet dressing with the crunch of the cukes and carrots and peanuts. I'm so glad that I chose this particular recipe to make! :) Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eats_healthy August 08, 2011

Very good (unique) salad, but make sure you taste the cuke first-- if the peel is bitter then the salad will be as well (in that case, peel it before slicing). And, really, the cilantro is NOT optional! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Victoria20 March 23, 2010

This is the worst cucumber salad I have ever had. I was shocked. I read the reviews and it sounded like a great recipe. After I finished making it I let it sit tasted it and thought it was awful. I let it sit for a couple hours to let it marinate but it was still awful. I double checked the recipe thinking I made a mistake but that was not the problem. I have been making cucumber salad for a long time. I have always loved it and I thought that trying a new recipe would be an adventure but ultimately just a waist of time, ingredients and money. Every thai restaurant I've eaten in has their own recipe. Although different, never disappointing. This is my first cucumber salad disappointment.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fineartpro2000 December 19, 2009

This was delicious and refreshing. Loved the flavors. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meryl July 30, 2009

Didn't taste good at all...the dressing was so bitter and was too sour to eat almost. We let it marinate for over 4 hours and it still was too sour to eat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I love spicy food October 26, 2008

This was so crisp and refreshing! My DD who picks at her veggies couldn't stop eating eat. It went beautifully with the seared Ahi that we had for dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
g.n.dysart March 10, 2008

This was excellent. I couldn't stop eating it. It also stays fresh for a couple of days.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gigi luvs 2 cook February 15, 2008

Very delicious. I made mine without peanuts. Definitely will use this recipe again when the cucumbers ripen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buckeye Karen June 13, 2007
Thai Cucumber Salad