Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thai Cucumber Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thai Cucumber Salad

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 30, 2014

      I made this salad to go in spring rolls with brown rice noodles, chopped roasted peanuts, spinach, and red cabbage. It was absolutely delightful all together. My only tinkering was to add some sesame oil, a touch of oyster sauce, and used a fresno chile instead of a jalapeno. It had a pleasant bite from the pepper and a nice acidic tang overall. The sesame oil seemed to help meld the flavors on another level, IMHO. This is a great, light salad that could easily accompany any Thai or endless other Asian and/or summery dishes. Especially give this a try with garden veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2011

      Oh, this was SO good! I made an 8x recipe to take to a large outdoor party (my neighbor has tons of sweet, crisp cukes in his garden) and kept the salad in a large bowl placed in an even larger bowl of crushed ice since it was an outdoor party and the temps were over 90 degrees. This was the second side to disappear from the buffet table (out of about 14 or 15 dishes) and I received tons of compliments on it. The flavors were awesome, tart/sweet dressing with the crunch of the cukes and carrots and peanuts. I'm so glad that I chose this particular recipe to make! :) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Very good (unique) salad, but make sure you taste the cuke first-- if the peel is bitter then the salad will be as well (in that case, peel it before slicing). And, really, the cilantro is NOT optional! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      This is the worst cucumber salad I have ever had. I was shocked. I read the reviews and it sounded like a great recipe. After I finished making it I let it sit tasted it and thought it was awful. I let it sit for a couple hours to let it marinate but it was still awful. I double checked the recipe thinking I made a mistake but that was not the problem. I have been making cucumber salad for a long time. I have always loved it and I thought that trying a new recipe would be an adventure but ultimately just a waist of time, ingredients and money. Every thai restaurant I've eaten in has their own recipe. Although different, never disappointing. This is my first cucumber salad disappointment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      This was delicious and refreshing. Loved the flavors. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      Didn't taste good at all...the dressing was so bitter and was too sour to eat almost. We let it marinate for over 4 hours and it still was too sour to eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      This was so crisp and refreshing! My DD who picks at her veggies couldn't stop eating eat. It went beautifully with the seared Ahi that we had for dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      This was excellent. I couldn't stop eating it. It also stays fresh for a couple of days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      Very delicious. I made mine without peanuts. Definitely will use this recipe again when the cucumbers ripen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      This is SO good. It reminds me of the green papaya salad at my favorite Thai restaurant. I did omit the onion, because I made it only for myself and knew it would be sitting for a few days, and I hate old onion. I also used pre-shredded carrots, because I don't like large pieces of carrots (don't have a mandoline) and I am lazy. So so so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2004

      Made this yesterday for 4th of July picnic. It is really excellent. I doubled it -- tasting the dressing I thought it was a little too hot (not for my taste, but generally for other people), so I removed some of the minced jalapenos. However, when I tasted the finished marinated salad, I couldn't taste the jalanenos at all, so next time will make sure I include all of it. This is very, very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2004

      This is great! I'm on a fresh raw food kick and this was a wonderful addition. Love the combination. At frst, I thought that there was not enough dressing...but it was a false alarm. After sitting a while it was great and just enough. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2004

      This is a fantastically fresh, crunchy salad that is easy to prepare, and great to eat. A really nice balance of textures and flavours-don't omit anything in this wonderful salad. We ate this tonight with meow!'s Asian Shrimp and Crab Cakes Asian Shrimp and Crab Cakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2004

      This is a nice salad. I did not use the garlic, olive oil and rice wine vinegar. But,otherwise, I used everything and liked it. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thai Cucumber Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (145 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 148.1
     
    Calories from Fat 96
    65%
    Total Fat 10.7 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 129.1 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rice wine vinegar

    lime zest

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites