99 Reviews

This was a lovely flavorful rice. I made a couple of changes. I added about 1/4 cup shredded carrot which really looked beautiful against the yellow rice. I also threw in a few tiny green peas - mostly for color. I didn't have any crystalized ginger but I did have some dried dates -very flavorful. I cooked the whole thinkg in my rice cooker. Next time, I'll try it with almonds - didn't have any on hand. I served this with a lemony chicken breast - the flavors were beautifully complimentary. I thnk this dish also would be good with a shrimp or seafood dish. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha Mazz February 08, 2010

Great flavor, went really well with pineapple chicken (like apricot chicken but with pineapple preserves instead). Trying to be healthier, I used brown rice, the rice at the bottom of the pot got burned because of the longer cooking time. Next time I will make with white rice, and there will definitely be a next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lee Hock January 22, 2010

Most excellent Thai Rice. Did not have tumeric but did not miss it. Used chili sauce instead of crushed red pepper and it worked fine. Made with Honey Grilled Thai Fish....these will be joining our favorite meals menu. This rice had plenty of flavor for our tastes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brownstone gal December 16, 2009

This was good although not exceptional. I did not add sugar, can't see why one would need it. A very easy side dish. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D Rusak November 01, 2009

Five stars, but added cinnamon and extra sugar instead of tumeric. Also added about 1/2 of coconut (unsweetened flakes) along with the almonds. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mer24 October 29, 2009

What a lovely rice dish! It was a really nice light flavor - creamy, buttery and delicious with a salad. I served the ginger on a side plate with the almonds - as only my boyfriend enjoys it. Will make this again for sure, hopefully with a meat dish. Oh, and I made it in a rice cooker.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodLover360 October 27, 2009

I thought that I had reviewed this recipe a couple of years ago, but I had not. I have been making this for a long time, and we absolutely LOVE it! I follow the recipe exactly as is, but have never used the crystallized ginger or almonds. I'm sure it's wonderful that way, but I rerely have those ingredients on hand. I always make this when we eat pork with Thai Marinade for Pork from this website. I cut a pork tenderlion into medallians, pound them out thin, marinate them for 8 hours or so & throw them on the grill. Served with this rice and a veggie, we have a perfect meal! I have entertained many time with this exact menu, and have had rave reviews all around! Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cicict1976 September 21, 2009

I enjoyed this very much. I usually don't like rice by itself as a side dish, but this was special. The dish has a warm, tiniest bit sweet, and tiniest bit spicy flavor to it. I was concerned about the calorie content so used lite coconut milk and only used half the amount called for and used water to make up for the missing liquid. There are many dishes that this would compliment.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee September 03, 2009

Was very good. made with low fat coconut from trader joe's. used brown basmati and I think using that you might need to use a bit more liquid---say additional 1/4 cup...very good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BestFriendsStevie May 17, 2009

Yummy! Made this for my DH to celebrate his promotion & he loved it! Served over #87877 Thai Salmon Curry--nice combo. The rice didn't absorb the liquid in the time written, but I just cooked a little longer. DH loved the sliced almonds on top. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Mother Earth May 16, 2009
Thai Coconut Rice