Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thai Coconut Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thai Coconut Rice

    Average Rating:

    95 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 95

    Sort by:

    • on August 20, 2007

    • on July 25, 2007

      So easy to make and it's delicious! Followed the recipe as is except for the crystallized ginger and had to let the jasmine rice cook a bit longer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      5 stars aren't enough for this recipe. I followed the recipe pretty closely. Changes I made were: I used cayenne instead of crushed pepper flakes and reduced the salt a bit. I also skipped the almond. Delicious with the Vietnamese curry chicken on this site. Just a quick note, it took me double the time to cook this rice than the regular jasmine rice because of the coconut milk so allocate time accordingly. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      Wow Geema! I wish I could give this recipe 10 stars! It is absolutely WONDERFUL! I have made this rice several times with great success! Everyone who tastes it falls in love with it...even my picky kids! The only substitutions I have made are to use curry powder in place of the turmeric (I was out of turmeric) and a pinch of cayenne instead of the pepper flakes. I have not used the crystallized ginger or sliced almonds yet, but I'll bet it's great that way. The one thing I do add every time before serving is chopped fresh cilantro. YUM! One thing I have noticed about coconut milk is that depending on the brand, the fat content can range anywhere from 5-10g of fat per serving. (I'm talking about regular not light coconut milk) I think the rice turns out nicer if you use the milk with the higer fat content...but it's good either way. Thanks so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      This had a great flavor, and was much spicier than I had anticipated. My three small kids still gobbled it up though, so it wasn't unreasonably hot. I used jasmine rice, and had to leave the almonds off, but I can imagine they would absolutely top off the dish. Next time I might add a clove or two of crushed garlic (that's my standard addition to all foods). My kids say thanks for lunch Geema!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      This was very good. I made a double batch, so it took longer to cook. I ended up having to add 2 more cups of water before the rice was finally done. I will make again. It was a new way to fix rice for us and it went very well with our kabobs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      Great taste...we had Thai marinaded pork chops with this and it was well matched! Don't be afraid of the pepper flakes, it adds that special something without it being too hot. If you like it hotter...add more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      rich in flavor, creamy but tender unlike risotto.. loved every spoonful. thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      All I can say is WOW! I followed this recipe exactly, but did not use either of the garnishes. This complimented my Thai dinner of Chicken Curry in a Hurry Chicken Curry in a Hurry and Asparagus With Lemon and Mint Asparagus With Lemon and Mint. Thanks so much, this one's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      Very tasty flavor! Maybe my "low heat" is lower than Geema's because my rice was fairly al dente. Would advise checking the rice before you take it off the heat. I added a little extra red pepper too (not spicy hot enough IMHO).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

    • on January 04, 2007

      Made this last night. Youngest daughter found the ginger pieces a suprise (not good). We enjoyed this, but I will try using ginger powder next time. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      Ohhh sooo good. I just ate this one plain. I used a bit more red pepper just because I love spicy food, and it was perfect. Thanks so much for a great recipe!.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      A very interesting dish. I didn't have tumeric, which may have changed our opinion, which was: Add vanilla sugar and call it dessert! Some of the comments were: delightful, interesting, tastes like a candy bar when you add a little sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2006

      This was delicious!!! I made my own coconut milk #26714 for this recipe and made it to go with Coconut Chicken Curry #19177. It went PERFECT with that rice. The flavors were outstanding!!! The only thing I did was used 1/4 tsp powdered ginger in place of the fresh ginger. Thank you for posting this and my husband thanks you, too... he just ate the leftovers for lunch today!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2006

      I love foods made with coconut milk but I did not like the mesh of flavors in this dish. Ended up throwing out most of this in the trash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2006

      We tried this recipe last night but it didnt work for us, it was very crunchie and the thought of eating crunchie rice was not good, Thanks for posting it, it was fun to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2006

      An excellent dish. We loved this one. I used saffron instead of the tumeric 'cause that's what I had, and I garnished with the crystallized ginger, sliced toasted almonds, and shredded coconut. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      We LOVED this recipe!!! The rice was REALLY yummy! The only thing I did differently was use light coconut milk instead of the regular coconut milk because of the difference in the amount of fat and calories. We also didn't have the garnish on hand, but it was great nevertheless. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2006

      I thought this was very easy and very good. Maybe even a more red pepper flakes next time. A nice, creamy taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thai Coconut Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (162 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 369.5
     
    Calories from Fat 202
    54%
    Total Fat 22.5 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 19.0 g
    95%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 307.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes