98 Reviews

Amazing coconut rice, i made it exactly as instructed. Went well with butter chicken that i found on this site. Delicious. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lackii650 December 14, 2011

I have made this rice now at least 5 times. It is the best tasting rice ever! My husband thinks its too sweet, but I disagree. Its a really pretty side dish too. My only change would be to add a pinch more salt. Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookingwithpassion April 02, 2011

Yum, yum, yum. It never ceases to amaze me what wonderful things you can do with rice! I had used broths and other various things for rice cooking in the past but never thought of coconut milk! While it is a great flavor combination, what really stood out for me in this recipe is the warmth of the chiles and ginger combined with the sweetness of the coconut. Thai food in a nutshell! I did add some chopped scallions for color, and used light coconut milk and brown rice. I agree with other reviewers re: cook time--follow the cook time recommended on your bag of rice. Mine, for example, took 50 minutes and came out perfect! Thanks for posting, Geema! Made for Best of 2010 tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian March 02, 2011

I needed something to go with some Panko Baked Shrimp I was having and decided on this as a side. It was truly enjoyed by DH and I both. He kept giving me compliments throughout the meal! I was queen for the night, so I am passing on the praise to you Geema! Yummy yummy yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*~LindyT53~*~ February 20, 2011

I made this to go with my fish tonight. I halved the recipe and it turned out fantastic. I loved the slight coconut flavor from the milk. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour October 27, 2010

I served this with the "thai chicken breasts" recipe, but made that with tofu. There was a bit too much liquid, mine came out pretty gooey, but it was really good and a pefect complement to the spicy-sweet flavors of the sauce in the other recipe. Thanks for sharing this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS September 12, 2010

Pretty good- my review is skewed though since I made this using 2 cups of brown rice and only 1 can of coconut milk... Still it was pretty good- just not enough coconut milk...Again my fault for doubling the rice but not the milk...I would definitely try making this again the right way!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eldiva August 26, 2010

What a flavorful side dish! I made it to go with some Thai Grilled Chicken Wings. Excellent addition to our meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CooksSoGood July 21, 2010
Thai Coconut Rice