99 Reviews

I had trouble with the method so I didn't want to leave a star rating. I used basmatic rice and ended up with a creamy mush which tasted great but was not what I was looking for. I think my rice was to blame as it was a brand I hadn't used before but I also didn't like the final colour of the rice with the turmeric and ginger, it was a bit yellowy and looked like a pilaf rather than the very white fluffy Thai rice that I am used to in restaurants. I think it would be a great recipe to have when you are in a hurry and want to make something a little different.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook December 06, 2014

Made this as a side with my baked acorn squash. I substituted out the sugar for a few drizzles of honey over the top. Also I did not have candied ginger. It was delicious! I will make this regularly. Thank you for posting Geema.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nevaeh M. November 29, 2014

This was delicious! I made it to have with honey orange spicy chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RileyRoo March 14, 2014

This was a great recipe! I made as written only I didn't used the ginger (didn't have any) and I toasted the almonds. I used jasmine rice and served this with Thai Turkey Meatballs#480070 and a tomato, onion, cucumber and celery salad. DH and I had a great dinner. Going into my Favorites of 2013. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf July 19, 2013

Not amazing, but edible.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timhammond April 04, 2013

Excellent! Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe, Geema. I pretty much followed everything, except I substituted Thai Fish Sauce for the salt, Thai Sriracha hot sauce to taste for the crushed red pepper and used Lite Coconut Milk for the full-fat (not because I was trying to save on fat, but because I had just used my last two regular cans making Thai Peanut Red Curry Sauce).

I highly recommend using the almonds (toasted) and the crystallized ginger--that is what really put this rice dish over the top. My husband had three helpings and he doesn't even like ginger. But, I really wanted to make it as it was supposed to be made. I'm so glad I did! I followed the cooking instructions just as stated in the recipe. So easy, really, and I'm a rice cooker user. It turned out wonderful. Thanks, again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ART!ST February 02, 2013

I am making this for the second time tonight. No lie. The first batch I served with Chinese Roasted Chicken (#135753) for dinner. My husband LOVED it so much that he ate most of it himself, then asked that I make more right away. I thought he was kidding. As I was cleaning up after dinner he came in to ask when the rice was going to be done. Apparently, he wasn't kidding. So, as I right this review, our second batch of Thai Coconut Rice is simmering on the stove. Thanks, Geema!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phat & Sassy January 07, 2013

Delicious. I've tried it twice, and it came out great each time. The first time, I only had shore-grain sushi rice on hand, and a can of higher solids coconut milk. The second time, I used jasmine rice with a lower solids (20%) coconut milk. It turned out great both times, though I cooked the rice a little longer the second time with the longer grain rice and higher water content of the milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
talaurel_silva December 21, 2012

Easy and just delicious! Thanks for posting, Geema!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Good Thing December 03, 2012

I made half a recipe for the 2 of us and served it with Thai Turkey Meatballs. A delicious combination. I did not have crystallized ginger but did add in sliced almonds. Will have to make this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG September 28, 2012
Thai Coconut Rice