95 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Not amazing, but edible.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timhammond April 04, 2013

Excellent! Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe, Geema. I pretty much followed everything, except I substituted Thai Fish Sauce for the salt, Thai Sriracha hot sauce to taste for the crushed red pepper and used Lite Coconut Milk for the full-fat (not because I was trying to save on fat, but because I had just used my last two regular cans making Thai Peanut Red Curry Sauce).

I highly recommend using the almonds (toasted) and the crystallized ginger--that is what really put this rice dish over the top. My husband had three helpings and he doesn't even like ginger. But, I really wanted to make it as it was supposed to be made. I'm so glad I did! I followed the cooking instructions just as stated in the recipe. So easy, really, and I'm a rice cooker user. It turned out wonderful. Thanks, again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ART!ST February 02, 2013

I am making this for the second time tonight. No lie. The first batch I served with Chinese Roasted Chicken (#135753) for dinner. My husband LOVED it so much that he ate most of it himself, then asked that I make more right away. I thought he was kidding. As I was cleaning up after dinner he came in to ask when the rice was going to be done. Apparently, he wasn't kidding. So, as I right this review, our second batch of Thai Coconut Rice is simmering on the stove. Thanks, Geema!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phat & Sassy January 07, 2013

Delicious. I've tried it twice, and it came out great each time. The first time, I only had shore-grain sushi rice on hand, and a can of higher solids coconut milk. The second time, I used jasmine rice with a lower solids (20%) coconut milk. It turned out great both times, though I cooked the rice a little longer the second time with the longer grain rice and higher water content of the milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
talaurel_silva December 21, 2012

Easy and just delicious! Thanks for posting, Geema!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Good Thing December 03, 2012

I made half a recipe for the 2 of us and served it with Thai Turkey Meatballs. A delicious combination. I did not have crystallized ginger but did add in sliced almonds. Will have to make this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG September 28, 2012

We really enjoyed this Thai coconut rice last night. We served spice rubbed snapper over it for a really tasty complimentary meal. The only change I made was to add a little bit of chopped cilantro that I had left over. We added the optional almonds (very nice). I will be making this again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny January 07, 2012

Amazing coconut rice, i made it exactly as instructed. Went well with butter chicken that i found on this site. Delicious. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lackii650 December 14, 2011

I have made this rice now at least 5 times. It is the best tasting rice ever! My husband thinks its too sweet, but I disagree. Its a really pretty side dish too. My only change would be to add a pinch more salt. Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookingwithpassion April 02, 2011

Yum, yum, yum. It never ceases to amaze me what wonderful things you can do with rice! I had used broths and other various things for rice cooking in the past but never thought of coconut milk! While it is a great flavor combination, what really stood out for me in this recipe is the warmth of the chiles and ginger combined with the sweetness of the coconut. Thai food in a nutshell! I did add some chopped scallions for color, and used light coconut milk and brown rice. I agree with other reviewers re: cook time--follow the cook time recommended on your bag of rice. Mine, for example, took 50 minutes and came out perfect! Thanks for posting, Geema! Made for Best of 2010 tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian March 02, 2011
Thai Coconut Rice