95 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I did this in a rice cooker and experienced a few problems. I would probably be best advised to follow the recipe. However, I corrected the problems and found the extra work to be well worth while. Coconut milk and rice are just a natural match. Great side dish. Thanks Geema.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo September 11, 2003

What a nice change of pace from the usual rice side dish! This was wonderful, Geema! Nice and creamy from the coconut milk (I used 'lite') and the tumeric gives it a nice color. Ginger and pepper flakes give it just a little extra flavor but not too much. I used brown rice instead of white, so did have to cook it a little longer. This would go so well with an Asian-inspired meal, and I'm off to find something... Thai maybe, to have with my leftovers. Thanks Geema, for the great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi June 05, 2003

I loved it. Great simple flavors. I did add almonds, but I toasted them. And I didn't add the crystallized ginger, but would of. It just - it worth going to the store for just the garnish. If I had company I would of, and I know it would of been very good.

1 change and 1 suggestion.
- I did add a bit of cilantro for a little color and a bright flavor with the rich coconut milk. Just 1 1/2 teaspoons. I enjoyed the bright flavor.
- I would of added maybe just a scallion diced, but didn't have any. Just a bit of fresh bright green color to me is all I needed.

Second, I followed cooking directions for the rice that was on my package. I used basmati. I checked my long grain, basmati and jasmine and they all had different times, so I think maybe that is why people said it took longer to cook. My package direction said 25 and that is just about how long it took.

I think it is just common sense to check. Not all stoves or pots cook the same. As is no rice directions are the same. I just cooked until tender. Cooking times to me are a guideline and should be used that way.

Also, follow the ingredients as is. A recipe like this really benefits from fresh ginger and the red pepper flakes. That is what sets this aside from other rice dishes.

Very nice dish. I served it with a Thai chicken and loved it. Have just a bit leftover for lunch tomorrow. I sliced up the little bit of leftover chicken for a perfect light lunch.
Thx for a nice recipe
Kim

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook January 10, 2011

Just used this recipe after having wonderful coconut rice at a local thai restaurant a few days ago.this recipe made coconut mush when used into the entire can (organic-13.5 oz )including the coconut cream in the can..I tried to correct it by adding a bit more water & bumped up the flavor with a few extras..slightly sautéed minced garlic in 1 t peanut oil..a pinch of saffron then added 1t shredded coconut after it was done but since most other recipes require more water I would watch the amount of coconut cream you add from the can it will come out too thick & pudding like.no at all pro style.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy G. February 15, 2014

This recipe works really well in the rice cooker. You'll need to stir it a couple of times during the cooking process.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kirste July 18, 2007

we loved the sweet/hot flavor that the ginger added. this was almost dessert, creamy and delicious

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia October 16, 2003

I had trouble with the method so I didn't want to leave a star rating. I used basmatic rice and ended up with a creamy mush which tasted great but was not what I was looking for. I think my rice was to blame as it was a brand I hadn't used before but I also didn't like the final colour of the rice with the turmeric and ginger, it was a bit yellowy and looked like a pilaf rather than the very white fluffy Thai rice that I am used to in restaurants. I think it would be a great recipe to have when you are in a hurry and want to make something a little different.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook December 07, 2014

Made this as a side with my baked acorn squash. I substituted out the sugar for a few drizzles of honey over the top. Also I did not have candied ginger. It was delicious! I will make this regularly. Thank you for posting Geema.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nevaeh M. November 30, 2014

This was delicious! I made it to have with honey orange spicy chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RileyRoo March 14, 2014

This was a great recipe! I made as written only I didn't used the ginger (didn't have any) and I toasted the almonds. I used jasmine rice and served this with Thai Turkey Meatballs#480070 and a tomato, onion, cucumber and celery salad. DH and I had a great dinner. Going into my Favorites of 2013. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf July 19, 2013
Thai Coconut Rice