Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thai Coconut Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thai Coconut Rice

    Average Rating:

    93 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 93

    Sort by:

    • on September 11, 2003

      I did this in a rice cooker and experienced a few problems. I would probably be best advised to follow the recipe. However, I corrected the problems and found the extra work to be well worth while. Coconut milk and rice are just a natural match. Great side dish. Thanks Geema.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2003

      What a nice change of pace from the usual rice side dish! This was wonderful, Geema! Nice and creamy from the coconut milk (I used 'lite') and the tumeric gives it a nice color. Ginger and pepper flakes give it just a little extra flavor but not too much. I used brown rice instead of white, so did have to cook it a little longer. This would go so well with an Asian-inspired meal, and I'm off to find something... Thai maybe, to have with my leftovers. Thanks Geema, for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      I loved it. Great simple flavors. I did add almonds, but I toasted them. And I didn't add the crystallized ginger, but would of. It just - it worth going to the store for just the garnish. If I had company I would of, and I know it would of been very good.

      1 change and 1 suggestion.
      - I did add a bit of cilantro for a little color and a bright flavor with the rich coconut milk. Just 1 1/2 teaspoons. I enjoyed the bright flavor.
      - I would of added maybe just a scallion diced, but didn't have any. Just a bit of fresh bright green color to me is all I needed.

      Second, I followed cooking directions for the rice that was on my package. I used basmati. I checked my long grain, basmati and jasmine and they all had different times, so I think maybe that is why people said it took longer to cook. My package direction said 25 and that is just about how long it took.

      I think it is just common sense to check. Not all stoves or pots cook the same. As is no rice directions are the same. I just cooked until tender. Cooking times to me are a guideline and should be used that way.

      Also, follow the ingredients as is. A recipe like this really benefits from fresh ginger and the red pepper flakes. That is what sets this aside from other rice dishes.

      Very nice dish. I served it with a Thai chicken and loved it. Have just a bit leftover for lunch tomorrow. I sliced up the little bit of leftover chicken for a perfect light lunch.
      Thx for a nice recipe
      Kim

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      This recipe works really well in the rice cooker. You'll need to stir it a couple of times during the cooking process.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2003

      we loved the sweet/hot flavor that the ginger added. this was almost dessert, creamy and delicious

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2014

      This was delicious! I made it to have with honey orange spicy chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2014

      Just used this recipe after having wonderful coconut rice at a local thai restaurant a few days ago.this recipe made coconut mush when used into the entire can (organic-13.5 oz )including the coconut cream in the can..I tried to correct it by adding a bit more water & bumped up the flavor with a few extras..slightly sautéed minced garlic in 1 t peanut oil..a pinch of saffron then added 1t shredded coconut after it was done but since most other recipes require more water I would watch the amount of coconut cream you add from the can it will come out too thick & pudding like.no at all pro style.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2013

      This was a great recipe! I made as written only I didn't used the ginger (didn't have any) and I toasted the almonds. I used jasmine rice and served this with Thai Turkey Meatballs#480070 and a tomato, onion, cucumber and celery salad. DH and I had a great dinner. Going into my Favorites of 2013. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2013

      Not amazing, but edible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      Excellent! Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe, Geema. I pretty much followed everything, except I substituted Thai Fish Sauce for the salt, Thai Sriracha hot sauce to taste for the crushed red pepper and used Lite Coconut Milk for the full-fat (not because I was trying to save on fat, but because I had just used my last two regular cans making Thai Peanut Red Curry Sauce).

      I highly recommend using the almonds (toasted) and the crystallized ginger--that is what really put this rice dish over the top. My husband had three helpings and he doesn't even like ginger. But, I really wanted to make it as it was supposed to be made. I'm so glad I did! I followed the cooking instructions just as stated in the recipe. So easy, really, and I'm a rice cooker user. It turned out wonderful. Thanks, again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      I am making this for the second time tonight. No lie. The first batch I served with Chinese Roasted Chicken (#135753) for dinner. My husband LOVED it so much that he ate most of it himself, then asked that I make more right away. I thought he was kidding. As I was cleaning up after dinner he came in to ask when the rice was going to be done. Apparently, he wasn't kidding. So, as I right this review, our second batch of Thai Coconut Rice is simmering on the stove. Thanks, Geema!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      Delicious. I've tried it twice, and it came out great each time. The first time, I only had shore-grain sushi rice on hand, and a can of higher solids coconut milk. The second time, I used jasmine rice with a lower solids (20%) coconut milk. It turned out great both times, though I cooked the rice a little longer the second time with the longer grain rice and higher water content of the milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2012

      Easy and just delicious! Thanks for posting, Geema!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2012

      I made half a recipe for the 2 of us and served it with Thai Turkey Meatballs. A delicious combination. I did not have crystallized ginger but did add in sliced almonds. Will have to make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2012

      We really enjoyed this Thai coconut rice last night. We served spice rubbed snapper over it for a really tasty complimentary meal. The only change I made was to add a little bit of chopped cilantro that I had left over. We added the optional almonds (very nice). I will be making this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2011

      Amazing coconut rice, i made it exactly as instructed. Went well with butter chicken that i found on this site. Delicious. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2011

      I have made this rice now at least 5 times. It is the best tasting rice ever! My husband thinks its too sweet, but I disagree. Its a really pretty side dish too. My only change would be to add a pinch more salt. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2011

      Yum, yum, yum. It never ceases to amaze me what wonderful things you can do with rice! I had used broths and other various things for rice cooking in the past but never thought of coconut milk! While it is a great flavor combination, what really stood out for me in this recipe is the warmth of the chiles and ginger combined with the sweetness of the coconut. Thai food in a nutshell! I did add some chopped scallions for color, and used light coconut milk and brown rice. I agree with other reviewers re: cook time--follow the cook time recommended on your bag of rice. Mine, for example, took 50 minutes and came out perfect! Thanks for posting, Geema! Made for Best of 2010 tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      I needed something to go with some Panko Baked Shrimp I was having and decided on this as a side. It was truly enjoyed by DH and I both. He kept giving me compliments throughout the meal! I was queen for the night, so I am passing on the praise to you Geema! Yummy yummy yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      I made this to go with my fish tonight. I halved the recipe and it turned out fantastic. I loved the slight coconut flavor from the milk. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thai Coconut Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (162 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 369.5
     
    Calories from Fat 202
    54%
    Total Fat 22.5 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 19.0 g
    95%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 307.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites