12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Ohhhhhh, Fay! This is delightful! I have to admit... I ate almost all of it myself. Yikes. But sooooo good! Creamy, decadent with wonderful coconut flavor. I must admit I did use dried coconut, but it rose to the top and turned out just great as a chewy golden macaroon-like (like FlemishMinx said) crust. I couldn't wait for this to cool before I tried it and I must say, its delcious warm, room temp or cold! I used the vanilla, but I hope to try this soon with the rose water! The brown sugar made it a not particularly attractive pale beige, but the taste more than made up for it. Divine creamy texture. I did find it a little sweet for my tastes, so next time I'll drop the sugar by a Tbs. I buttered my dish very well, but it still stuck a bit! This is soooooo YUMMY!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie October 19, 2004

I'm really sorry to say that I didn't enjoy this at all. Maybe I didn't use the right technique, but mine had had a grainy texture and no coconut flavour (I didn't include the optional coconut, though). Also, what was I supposed to do with the 1/2 tbsp of flour? I left it out, which may have been my downfall!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pippy August 07, 2009

very tasty and very easy...my kind of dessert!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TryingTraditional March 02, 2009

Great dessert! I skipped the grated coconut and used white sugar instead of brown. I garnished it with fresh strawberries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosiepink March 25, 2008

Yum

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rabia July 24, 2006

So good ...... so easy! As stated by others, the colour isn't that attractive but the taste sure compensates for it. Fresh coconut & fruit are scarce & expensive in Canada at this time of year.... I used dried in the custard & sliced tinned peaches on the side. Thanx Fay!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady March 17, 2006

Wow this was truly amazing!!!! I used white sugar instead of brown, just a personal choice and it was just amazing. Also used fresh coconut as recommened and served it with fresh blueberries, so easy to make and so so so good does deserve 10 starts....thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe......Anne :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GRECORICAN July 04, 2005

This was very tasty. I topped it with a mixture of chopped mango and kiwi mixed with a vanilla bean paste that Williams Sonoma sells. Very light dessert after a large Thai meal. My only caveat would be that with the addition of brown sugar made the custard a rather ugly grey-ish colour, however, with the fruit on top, you could not really tell. Yummy! Give it a try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'm_Genia April 28, 2005

this was very good! The only thing is there are no instructions about what to do with the flour, so i added it to the egg and sugar mixture. Very easy recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christie* February 17, 2005

Delicious Fay! My only complaint is it only makes 3 serves - none left over for a midnight snack!! So easy to prepare and eat. I found it was cooked after 25 minutes. I used vanilla extract - next time I will try the rose water. I used fresh coconut - and yes, it tasted like a cross between a macaroon and custard. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daydream February 01, 2005
Thai Coconut Pudding/ Custard