14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used the juice of just 1 orange in part because I only had balsamic vinegar and I thought the sweetness would be enough. I decided to wilt my bok choy a bit in the same pan I did the chicken in, and tossed it with the dressing in that pan. I also used bamboo shoots and some baby corn. I topped the salad with some toasted almonds for a tasty garnish. I made the dressing a day ahead and it really improved over the 24 hours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meredith C-ville April 05, 2011

Super yummy! Although the dressing never thickened up & it was pretty runny. The chicken I used soaked up most of it, but if chicken wasn't used, the salad would have been a bit wet. the flavors were great. Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zannah17 February 25, 2011

I used the dressing to pour in my cabbage and carrot salad. It was delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianPrincess3 July 11, 2010

Great salad. I used coleslaw mix, Mandarin oranges and left over roast chicken, even with those changes it is a great salad. Light and nice for a warm summer afternoon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound July 01, 2009

This salad is so good! My boyfriend said it was one of the best salads he's ever had. I made it with shrimp because that's what I had on hand, and it was perfect! I also followed AKillian24's advice and used reduced sugar OJ for the dressing. This is a great summertime salad!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LWA says May 29, 2008

I consider myself a bit of a salad fanatic, and this is one of my favs! GREAT summer-fresh type salad and I couldn't help but use the leftover dressing over steamed veggies the next night too. I used reduced sugar OJ and would do it again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 March 17, 2008

This was wonderful! I doubled the recipe leaving the cilantro and red onion as per the original recipe. In the freezer section of our grocer (Loblaws) I buy frozen fresh crushed ginger and garlic, they look like mini ice cube trays - love them! I grilled the breasts seasoning them only with a little garlic salt. I also used canned (drained) madarin oranges and subbed julienned carrots for the sprouts. The flavour of the chicken after the quick fry with the dressing is fabulous!!! TRY IT!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelleAnne1 July 04, 2007

The sweet/sour taste of the dressing was a good contrast to the cool pepperiness of the cabbage, and you can't really go wrong with diced chicken and oranges. (We used canned mandarin oranges to save time.) I think the "red onion" should be a "small red onion," unless you're really crazy for red onion! This salad is an an delicious way to enjoy your green leafy vegetables. If you don't mind the fat, some chow mein noodles would be an excellent topping and add some needed crunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Podkayne April 07, 2007

if i could give this recipe six stars i would! it is AMAZING! the perfect blend between tangy and sweet with the dressing and the oranges. i also put some sugar snaps in there because i had some. i absolutely loved it! my family on the otherhand, not so much, but they aren't very up to trying new foods...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
superblondieno2 March 15, 2007
Thai Citrus Chicken Salad