17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe was delicious! All a success!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hany G. August 13, 2014

GREAT dish. We've been eating lots of chicken (who hasn't?) so I switched the protein from chicken to sea scallops. Other than switching the scallops for the chicken, I made this as written. Very,very,good. This has great flavors and it was a good use of the Thai basil that wants to take over my herb garden. Next time, maybe I'll try it with shrimp.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerseygirl1952 May 07, 2011

This was an interesting recipe. The basil tasted great, but I felt that a lot of the flavor was provided by the oyster sauce, and I think I was hoping for a more complex flavor. Also, I used 1 lb of chicken, but wished I had more sauce. All in all, it was quite tasty, but I'm not sure I'll be making it in this form again--perhaps I'll add a bit more spice (red pepper), some fresh ginger, and half a cup more shitake mushrooms next time. Thanks for the recipe, it has provided me with a good jumping off point for future thai recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dulcet Kitchen June 29, 2009

Loved this recipe. Made a couple of changes - used fresh Thai bird's eye chilis instead of hot pepper flakes and added a few asparagus stalks cut into one inch pieces. I also omitted the salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
broussardjoan May 05, 2009

I really enjoyed this! Thankfully, I skipped the added teaspoon of salt- it was plenty salty without. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
liammom May 01, 2009

I made following the recipe and wouldn't change a thing. Perfection in every bite! We love jasmine rice, so this was a real hit with my family. This would be great for company, if they enjoy Thai food!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SheilaCanney October 18, 2008

I can't give this stars because I didn't make it exactly according to the recipe (I didn't use oyster sauce, went with soy instead, and used short grain brown rice instead of jasmine). It was still very delicious and I want to thank you for the recipe. If I ever get adventurous enough to buy some oyster sauce, I'll make it that way...until then I'll definitely make it again with the soy sauce. Very nice flavor. Thanks you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Georgiapea August 11, 2008

ZWT4: Insanely good recipe!! The combination of flavors is awesome!! Not a speck of food left from this!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose June 01, 2008

I just adored this! It has great flavor and a little bit of a bite from the pepper, but not too much. I will say I cut way back on the salt because our oyster sauce is a bit salty, so folks may want to be careful there, but then again, saltiness can be very much a personal thing. Tastes better than the restaurants around here know how to make. I won't give out your secret, unless they join zaar! Thanks for a nice supper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau May 01, 2008

A fantastic dinner -- and ready in minutes. The recipe is flexible, too. I used chicken thighs, two Asian chillies from the garden and stir-fry sauce (who used up the oyster sauce without telling me?). The dish came together easily and the flavour was delicious. The lime zest is a great touch. Made and enjoyed for the Asian Green, Eggs and Ham Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy March 06, 2008
Thai Chicken With Basil