Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thai Chicken Satay with Peanut Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thai Chicken Satay with Peanut Sauce

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on August 15, 2002

      I followed aemilehi's recommendation and made this for dinner tonight. I didn't skewer the chicken, just grilled chicken "tenders" in a bbq basket (the skewers are a lot of bother when you have children). I was afraid of not having enough so I doubled the sauce. Trust me--there IS plenty of sauce, but the extra sauce gives us an excuse for having this dish again soon. Some of us like HOT food, so I added red chili flakes to half of the sauce and they loved it. Served with Jasmine rice and a cucumber/tomato salad. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2002

      Can you say OMG?? This was the most amazing meal I have ever had! Marinated the chicken overnight for convenience. Used fresh chopped onion in the sauce rather than dried. Served it over flat stick rice noodles that were tossed with just a bit of the peanut sauce, fresh chopped thai basil and sauteed onions and green peppers. The straight sauce was on the side for dipping the chicken. We tried this last night and my best friend came over for dinner -- we were all so happy we had tears in our eyes as each bite was the most amazing thing we had ever eaten!! We were worried that the town we are moving to has no Thai restaurants -- who needs one now?!?!?! Fantastic. Can't say enough great things about this recipe, from the way the house smelled, to the explosion of flavor in each bite! Make this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      The chicken came out awesome! The peanut sauce was good but just a little too sweet. I served it on the side. Also, I used the rest of the can of coconut milk diluted with water to cook rice in and then mixed in some fresh cilantro. Very Yummy. The family loved it. We will have this again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      This is a huge hit at our house! I make this at least once a month now. I have four kids, so skewers don't happen ;) Instead I cube up chicken (sometimes breast, sometimes thighs) and marinate (minus the oil). I then stir fry the cubed chicken. We LOVE the sauce, so I always make lots. I serve with white or brown rice. I steam broccoli, carrots, fresh green beans, whatever looks awesome that day. Then we dip our veggies in the sauce as well! With this sauce, my kids will eat pretty much any veggie I put in front of them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2013

      I made this for hubby and I for dinner. I followed the recipe exactly. I was not too crazy about the peanut sauce. Neither was he. Something seemed quite off. Maybe it is because we are use to eating mine. It was good, just different. It didn't really taste authentic. Thank you for posting. (Made for "Name That Ingredient" tag)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      Made this tonight for dinner with just a few variations! I didn't put any oil in the marinade as I wasn't grilling/skewering my chicken. Let it marinate for about an hour then stir fried the chicken with some veggies. Made brown rice to serve with that and then made the peanut sauce. Only thing I did differently for the peanut sauce was no onion flakes (didnt have any) and I add about another tablespoon more of sweet chili sauce! We mixed the stir fry, rice and peanut sauce together on our plates and my husband and I BOTH loved it (Gotta admit, we were more crazy about the peanut sauce than anything else on our plates..but we are huge lovers of anything with peanut butter!) Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      This is not a real Satay recipe that i aet it in Thailand at all Sorry to say it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      we really enjoyed this as a meal over rice. i added cabbage onion green pepper and garlic and it really was fantastic. i am aoing to use this marinade for other recipes too. go easy on the peanut sauce though it can make it a little bland. thanks again for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      Wonderful! I used b/s chicken breasts and freshly diced onions, instead. The next time I prepare this recipe I'll use much less peanut butter, maybe only 1/4 cup and add a few drops of hot sauce. This one is a keeper! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

    • on December 25, 2006

      I added some garlic & cayenne to the marinade & doubled the amount. Used chicken tenders and basted them several times with the marinade while cooking . We are not fond of peanut sauce so didn't make it. They were delicious just basted with the marinade

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2005

      These were ok. Peanut sauce tasted like warm peanut butter. It needed more spice to it. The chicken was just average. I did not care that much for the marinade. Tasted kinda blah!! I will try it again and add more stuff to the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2003

      I doubled the marinade, and added fresh lime juice and ginger to it. Turned out FANTASTIC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2002

      I really felt like this was too rich and "americanized". Perhaps it just wasn't the peanut sauce I was looking for. In any case, it is good, but I would have certainly added more fresh veggies and less coconut milk and peanut butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2002

      The grilled chicken was tender, juicy, and it was a great-tasting marinade. I served it with plain white rice, and steamed fresh broccoli & carrots, it looked as pretty on the plate as it tasted!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thai Chicken Satay with Peanut Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (373 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 733.0
     
    Calories from Fat 443
    60%
    Total Fat 49.3 g
    75%
    Saturated Fat 12.8 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 188.8 mg
    62%
    Sodium 1837.8 mg
    76%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 8.9 g
    35%
    Protein 59.3 g
    118%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sweet chili sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites