67 Reviews

A great and very easy dish to make (please see how I rate). Made some changes suggested by bungalowten (except the egg addition), it really was a hit among everyone at the table (I have previously made the original version which was good too, but would agree that the additions make this recipe stand out).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Hobbit July 05, 2009

We just got done having this for dinner and I had to come online right away to write my review and document the changes I made this time around. I used hot rice (the rice was cooking while I prepped other ingredient). The chicken was pre-cooked. I used a bit of sesame oil with my vegetable oil, I cooked two eggs first and added the shreds at the end, I added chopped carrots with the garlic, and chopped green onions with the chicken. I only use 1/2 T of sugar, and 1 1/2 T of soy. No shallots as we didn't have any. This recipe is so good, my husband and son loved it as much as I did. It will probably be a weekly dinner in our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bungalowten June 30, 2009

I loved this dish! I saw a Youtube, or similar, video of a Thai mother making this dish, so I wanted to do it, too. I found your recipe, and decided to try it. I did make some slight adjustments (sorry), both out of personal preference, and lack of ingredients. I added sliced onion with the garlic and chicken, because I like onion, and didn't have any green onions, on hand. I don't lke fish sauce, so I subbed hoisin sauce, which they used in the video (in addition to the fish sauce). I didn't have any chilis, so I used that red Sriracha hot chili sauce (about 1T+). I didn't have any cilantro, which bummed me out...next time, for sure! And, I have an Aerogarden with Thai, regular, and Red Rubin basil, which aren't really big, yet, so I pruned enough off of all 3 to make about 1/2 cup (I love the stuff!) This dish has a lot of flavor; I will definitely be making it again, soon! (Oh, and I, too, almost ate the whole dish, myself!) Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Belinda in Austin, TX May 03, 2009

This was so good I almost finished the whole wok full! I did change it up a little. I used shrimp that I stir fried in chili sauce, added some peas carrots ginger and egg. Instead of shallots I had green onions on hand. And at the end I add just a little sesame oil and toasted sesame seeds on top. YUMMY!!! No more take out for me!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twinsgirl April 07, 2009

This was delicious! I could not find the pepper so I used some thai chili sauce I had already on hand, and added that in to the chicken. I also opted to add the red pepper as someone suggested. For basil I had to use regular, but it was still great. I wouldn't change a thing next time. Easy to make and such great flavor for your efforts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryExplorer March 08, 2009

Just finished eating this and it was very good! Made it for a lunch do with some of my girlfriends and it was a big hit. I love how it is very flavoursome but also healthy! A few changes: I didn't have shallots so I finely chopped a small onion and stirfried it with the garlic. Instead of soy sauce I used kecap manis and omitted the sugar. Used a splash of hot chilli sauce instead of chillies. Didnt have any cilantro but basil was very yummy! Also I added diced red bell pepper at the second step and the colours looked so nice together! This will be a regular :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kayser February 22, 2009

This was amazing, and very easy to prepare. my husband loved it. I added minced ginger as other reviewer suggested and the result was very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nobmx January 27, 2009

this was very easy and very flavorful. i doubled the recipe and almost quadrupled the sauce mixture(4x as much fish, soy sauce etc.) i love thai food and this was delicious. i made it spicier by adding to my own serving (not the prepared meal), a homemade concoction of chopped thai chili peppers that i mix into fish sauce. i make this ahead and store it in airtight container in my fridge. i know some thai restaurants have this as a condiment, but i have never been able to find it prepared, so i make my own. it is THAI HOT!! so be warned.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mkandula January 04, 2009

This was absolutely delicious! I sauteed mushrooms with the chilies and garlic. Then added a tablespoon of minced ginger right before moving on to step two. I used regular basil, and managed to find the Thai red chili peppers. Came out wonderful. Boyfriend and I loved it :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nizzy28 December 09, 2008
Thai Chicken Fried Rice with Basil - Kao Pad Krapao