Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thai Chicken Fried Rice with Basil - Kao Pad Krapao Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thai Chicken Fried Rice with Basil - Kao Pad Krapao

    Average Rating:

    67 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 67

    Sort by:

    • on September 05, 2011

      Oh this is so so good and easy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2011

      I loved it. I didn't have fish sauce, but it was still very tasty. I kept going back for more. My DH must have had a big lunch (he does that and doesn't tell me). He said he liked it.
      Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      I was excited to try this but was so disappointed! It turned out so salty it was nearly inedible. I have no idea what I did wrong. I will have to try again soon until I get this right :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      Very Good quick and easy I used leftover chicken

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

    • on March 21, 2010

      Very good recipe! I took the advice of other members and added green onions, scrambled egg (at the end), sesame oil (although I think I prefer peanut oil with this dish), julienned carrots, fresh ginger, and lime juice. I also added toasted peanuts as a garnish and added shrimp with the chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      This was very easy to make and tasted great. I did leave out the fish sauce as I don't like the smell. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      Amazing!! This was my first time making Thai food and it turned out great! I added some chili powder and a chopped red pepper at the end with the basil. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      very good. chicken thighs instead of breasts, and i used Sriracha instead of the chilis and added ginger. hubby went nuts! I would even go with more basil next time - it really made it. thanks so much - a total keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      this was a bit plain at 1st, but add some lime juice, more soy, salt, and pepper, and it def is a good meal! i used basmati, and made it the way bunglowten did, but have discovered that basmati is very sensitive to breaking and crushing, mix it in very carefully and try not to stir after that. thanks for a great meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      A great and very easy dish to make (please see how I rate). Made some changes suggested by bungalowten (except the egg addition), it really was a hit among everyone at the table (I have previously made the original version which was good too, but would agree that the additions make this recipe stand out).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      We just got done having this for dinner and I had to come online right away to write my review and document the changes I made this time around. I used hot rice (the rice was cooking while I prepped other ingredient). The chicken was pre-cooked. I used a bit of sesame oil with my vegetable oil, I cooked two eggs first and added the shreds at the end, I added chopped carrots with the garlic, and chopped green onions with the chicken. I only use 1/2 T of sugar, and 1 1/2 T of soy. No shallots as we didn't have any. This recipe is so good, my husband and son loved it as much as I did. It will probably be a weekly dinner in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      I loved this dish! I saw a Youtube, or similar, video of a Thai mother making this dish, so I wanted to do it, too. I found your recipe, and decided to try it. I did make some slight adjustments (sorry), both out of personal preference, and lack of ingredients. I added sliced onion with the garlic and chicken, because I like onion, and didn't have any green onions, on hand. I don't lke fish sauce, so I subbed hoisin sauce, which they used in the video (in addition to the fish sauce). I didn't have any chilis, so I used that red Sriracha hot chili sauce (about 1T+). I didn't have any cilantro, which bummed me out...next time, for sure! And, I have an Aerogarden with Thai, regular, and Red Rubin basil, which aren't really big, yet, so I pruned enough off of all 3 to make about 1/2 cup (I love the stuff!) This dish has a lot of flavor; I will definitely be making it again, soon! (Oh, and I, too, almost ate the whole dish, myself!) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

    • on April 07, 2009

      This was so good I almost finished the whole wok full! I did change it up a little. I used shrimp that I stir fried in chili sauce, added some peas carrots ginger and egg. Instead of shallots I had green onions on hand. And at the end I add just a little sesame oil and toasted sesame seeds on top. YUMMY!!! No more take out for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      This was delicious! I could not find the pepper so I used some thai chili sauce I had already on hand, and added that in to the chicken. I also opted to add the red pepper as someone suggested. For basil I had to use regular, but it was still great. I wouldn't change a thing next time. Easy to make and such great flavor for your efforts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      Just finished eating this and it was very good! Made it for a lunch do with some of my girlfriends and it was a big hit. I love how it is very flavoursome but also healthy! A few changes: I didn't have shallots so I finely chopped a small onion and stirfried it with the garlic. Instead of soy sauce I used kecap manis and omitted the sugar. Used a splash of hot chilli sauce instead of chillies. Didnt have any cilantro but basil was very yummy! Also I added diced red bell pepper at the second step and the colours looked so nice together! This will be a regular :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      This was amazing, and very easy to prepare. my husband loved it. I added minced ginger as other reviewer suggested and the result was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      this was very easy and very flavorful. i doubled the recipe and almost quadrupled the sauce mixture(4x as much fish, soy sauce etc.) i love thai food and this was delicious. i made it spicier by adding to my own serving (not the prepared meal), a homemade concoction of chopped thai chili peppers that i mix into fish sauce. i make this ahead and store it in airtight container in my fridge. i know some thai restaurants have this as a condiment, but i have never been able to find it prepared, so i make my own. it is THAI HOT!! so be warned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      This was absolutely delicious! I sauteed mushrooms with the chilies and garlic. Then added a tablespoon of minced ginger right before moving on to step two. I used regular basil, and managed to find the Thai red chili peppers. Came out wonderful. Boyfriend and I loved it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thai Chicken Fried Rice with Basil - Kao Pad Krapao

    Serving Size: 1 (235 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 538.7
     
    Calories from Fat 152
    28%
    Total Fat 16.9 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 72.5 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1343.2 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.5 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 30.4 g
    60%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Thai holy basil

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes