67 Reviews

Excellent recipe. Extremely easy to make - in fact, this was all I made for dinner. Wonderful aroma while cooking, and a great flavor. I actually used aborito rice because that's all I had, but I cooked it as rice and not risotto. Wonderful! Thanks, Sue!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
basia1 March 21, 2003

This is KraPOW! A bit too spicy, so I'll cut the chilis in half next time. I only had reduced sodium soy sauce so it needed salt. But, Very good! Will definitely make this again. I think it would be great with shrimp too!
Update: I make this frequently with leftover rice. The full sodium soy sauce is a must, and I made it with shrimp this week and it was awesome!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedSoxInMD March 20, 2011

This recipe is very versatile and works great even with substitutions. Things I did to this recipe:
I used, leftover chicken, shrimp, chopped steamed veggies, added a touch of oyster sauce, and peanut oil, used rice noodles instead of rice. Took out the spice for kids.
Served cold for pack lunches for my kids. I got rave reviews, they loved it eating it with the pair of chopsticks in each bag.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ksilvan September 28, 2011

Even though I made some changes, this still came out great! I used leftover cooked pork instead of chicken and scallions rather than shallots. Also added some corn as well. Very adaptable recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 August 17, 2010

Very tasty recipe that is so adaptable! Used jasmine rice, oyster sauce instead of fish sauce, and crushed red pepper instead of the chopped pepper. Also, I added sliced red bell pepper, grated carrots, fried egg, and spicy red pepper paste. This recipe was a great jumping off point for the dish I ended up making--thanks so much!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dulcet Kitchen June 12, 2010

we loved this stir fry, simple but tasty, i added some fresh asparagus and used leftover grilled chicken breast, will definately cook this on a regular basis

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDebs April 14, 2010

Yum!!! I've never had the original dish so I'm not sure how authenitic mine was, but I will make this again. I followed other reviews' advice and added a sqeeze of lime, more soy sauce, and scrambled eggs. I also left out the cilantro since my husband doesn't like it and added a good spinkle of chili powder since where I live we don't have the fresh chilis. I loved the fresh, fresh taste of basil! It is very different! Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Expat Cook December 19, 2009

This was so tasty! I had to replace the Thai chili with Siracha. Instead of chicken, I used red bell peppers and broccoli. I didn't take the time to look at the recipe the day before, so I only had freshly made rice. So instead of mixing it all in, I made a bowl of rice and made everything else and simply poured it on top of my rice, but it was still delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gennybeans December 07, 2012

Very tasty! I added bean sprouts and guessed at the basil, cilantro and red pepper flakes but it turned out delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mMadness97 October 26, 2011

Remarkably delicious - I made a few subs, but I found the key things were frying the garlic in oil, and the 1:1:1 ratio of soy sauce:fish sauce:sugar. (I was skeptical about adding so much sugar, but I'm glad I did.) I don't have fresh basil, so after a few secs of frying the garlic, I added a few dashes of dried basil to the oil as well. I used rice vermicelli instead of rice, and added a bunch of frozen spinach. Overall very quick and good meal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AD #2 July 19, 2011
Thai Chicken Fried Rice with Basil - Kao Pad Krapao