Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thai Chicken Fried Rice with Basil - Kao Pad Krapao Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thai Chicken Fried Rice with Basil - Kao Pad Krapao

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2003

      Excellent recipe. Extremely easy to make - in fact, this was all I made for dinner. Wonderful aroma while cooking, and a great flavor. I actually used aborito rice because that's all I had, but I cooked it as rice and not risotto. Wonderful! Thanks, Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      This is KraPOW! A bit too spicy, so I'll cut the chilis in half next time. I only had reduced sodium soy sauce so it needed salt. But, Very good! Will definitely make this again. I think it would be great with shrimp too!
      Update: I make this frequently with leftover rice. The full sodium soy sauce is a must, and I made it with shrimp this week and it was awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      This recipe is very versatile and works great even with substitutions. Things I did to this recipe:
      I used, leftover chicken, shrimp, chopped steamed veggies, added a touch of oyster sauce, and peanut oil, used rice noodles instead of rice. Took out the spice for kids.
      Served cold for pack lunches for my kids. I got rave reviews, they loved it eating it with the pair of chopsticks in each bag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2010

      Even though I made some changes, this still came out great! I used leftover cooked pork instead of chicken and scallions rather than shallots. Also added some corn as well. Very adaptable recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      Very tasty recipe that is so adaptable! Used jasmine rice, oyster sauce instead of fish sauce, and crushed red pepper instead of the chopped pepper. Also, I added sliced red bell pepper, grated carrots, fried egg, and spicy red pepper paste. This recipe was a great jumping off point for the dish I ended up making--thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      we loved this stir fry, simple but tasty, i added some fresh asparagus and used leftover grilled chicken breast, will definately cook this on a regular basis

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Yum!!! I've never had the original dish so I'm not sure how authenitic mine was, but I will make this again. I followed other reviews' advice and added a sqeeze of lime, more soy sauce, and scrambled eggs. I also left out the cilantro since my husband doesn't like it and added a good spinkle of chili powder since where I live we don't have the fresh chilis. I loved the fresh, fresh taste of basil! It is very different! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      This was so tasty! I had to replace the Thai chili with Siracha. Instead of chicken, I used red bell peppers and broccoli. I didn't take the time to look at the recipe the day before, so I only had freshly made rice. So instead of mixing it all in, I made a bowl of rice and made everything else and simply poured it on top of my rice, but it was still delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      Very tasty! I added bean sprouts and guessed at the basil, cilantro and red pepper flakes but it turned out delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      Remarkably delicious - I made a few subs, but I found the key things were frying the garlic in oil, and the 1:1:1 ratio of soy sauce:fish sauce:sugar. (I was skeptical about adding so much sugar, but I'm glad I did.) I don't have fresh basil, so after a few secs of frying the garlic, I added a few dashes of dried basil to the oil as well. I used rice vermicelli instead of rice, and added a bunch of frozen spinach. Overall very quick and good meal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      I made a double batch of this because I had a lot of leftover grilled chicken thighs to use. I diced it in about the same size as the rest of the ingredients so it was in small cubes. I also used 1 red bell pepper, and a jalapeno instead of a Thai chili. With Thai basil and cilantro from my garden, and extra lime juice, it was very good. My BF proclaimed me the stir-fry master. I think I'll try it with tofu too. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2011

      This was really good. My changes were to substitute minced fresh pineapple instead of sugar for the sweetness factor. I also boiled my basmati rice in white wine/chicken stock. Very flavorful. Definitely will be making again as a different version of regular old fried rice. Thank You

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      Great recipe. I added a tablespoon of fresh minced ginger. It gave the rice an even better flavor

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      This fried rice is excellent. It is so flavorful, but easy to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2013

      I have an abundance of Thai chili peppers. This was a perfect dish for them. This dish was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2013

      This a an excellent recipe - great taste and so easy easy. It is also very adaptable to your taste or to ingredients you have on hand. I sometimes add some chopped ham in addition to the chicken. I love the combination of fish sauce and soy sauce, but if you are watching your sodium you may want to start with low-sodium soy sauce, you can always add salt later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2013

      Excellent recipe! I added broccoli, a few drops of sesame oil, and used crushed red pepper instead of fresh, but made the rest as written. It was a bit too spicy for the younger children, so I will cut pepper in half next time and pass the crushed red pepper at the table for the adults, but I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2012

      This is soooo yummy. Easy to prepare. I only but a little bit of chilli in since I'm a sook. I used palm sugar as well. Thanks for sharing. I'm looking foward to doing this one with prawns as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      Great recipe. I also add some minced ginger at the end. Makes a world of a difference!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      Oh this is so so good and easy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thai Chicken Fried Rice with Basil - Kao Pad Krapao

    Serving Size: 1 (235 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 538.7
     
    Calories from Fat 152
    28%
    Total Fat 16.9 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 72.5 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1343.2 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.5 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 30.4 g
    60%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Thai holy basil

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites