16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this recipe today and my wife & I just now finished dinner. I gave my version of it three stars but I know it is at least worth four. I used chicken breasts rather than thighs in an attempt to reduce the fat content. Then, I let it cook too long (11 hours on low). This over-cooked the chicken (which was already, due to being breasts, fairly dry). But, despite my errors, it still turned out with quite good flavor. I can't wait to try it again with thighs and when I can better control the cooking time. I may just also add a bit more peanut butter 'cuz we really like that flavor.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rick Young June 08, 2002

I really liked the idea of this dish, and maybe it would turn out better if I used the thighs (I used breast meat, cut into small pieces). I did cook it for 8 hours, but it was still dry (especially the pieces at the bottom of the crock pot--maybe mixing the sauce with the chicken first instead of pouring the sauce over the chicken would help). When I mixed up the sauce, it didn't seem like enough for 2 pounds of chicken--and it wasn't. I might double it next time. Also, I don't think the brand of salsa that I used was that great. I don't usually buy "hot" salsa, so I wasn't familiar with a good brand. That could make a difference.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie in RI November 24, 2002

I have been making this recipe for a few years now along with cooking my rice in coconut milk -- both are winners in our house! And FRESH lime juice gives this the best flavor IMO. I also would recommend lowering the cooking time to 6-8 hrs (on low) though.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SillyNilly February 10, 2003

Delicious! I used boneless chicken breasts cut into 2-3 pieces and doubled the sauce as recommended by other reviewers who mentioned the chicken came out dry. I cooked it all day (9 hrs) on low. The taste was wonderful, although I think doubling the sauce is a bit much. It came out a bit soupy, although the sauce was wonderful with the rice. I will definately fine tune the sauce quantity and make this again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greenbriar5 January 30, 2003

This was very very good we served it with rice cooked in coconut milk like suggested and the family loved it. I used medium salsa so it was not to hot for the kids. I used chicken breasts and placed them in frozen and they were not dry. It had a close taste to a thai peanut curry dish I have had before at a thai restaraunt but it was missing something important I think curry so I might try adding some next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dying2Live August 26, 2009

I've been cooking this at home and I love it!! I used medium salsa because I don't like too hot - and used a little more peanut butter (reduced fat crunchy and it was fine) and low salt soy sauce I also cooked my rice the regular way with just water, but sprinkled it with shredded unsweetened coconut. A cucumber salad and this meal is divine!! 6-7 hrs is a good cooking time for this

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dgpat April 07, 2004

very nice! i used boneless breasts cut into 3 pieces and doubled the sauce. since i didn't have hot salsa, i used medium. i cooked it in the crockpot on low for 4 hours. there was extra sauce but we liked it and used it on our rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patticakes July 15, 2003

This was outstanding! Even my peanut-containing-food-hating husband loved it! Fresh lime juice and fresh cilantro are a must. I used medium salsa -- next time I'll use hot. So delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cynthyaT September 16, 2014

I have a house guest who really liked this and my older son did too. It was good and I even forgot the cilantro. I used some mango salsa because I didn't have enough regular salsa and added some cayenne. Thanks for an easy one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oolala February 15, 2011

Fabulous! I needed a quick meal so I did it in the pressure cooker instead. The flavours were amazing. Couple small changes, cut down the peanut butter a tiny bit, increased soy sauce & added lemon pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 June 10, 2008
Thai Chicken (Crock Pot)