Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thai Black Rice Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thai Black Rice Pudding

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 22, 2011

      This was great! Thank you. My boyfriend wanted me to make something with black rice and he absolutely loves coconut milk so this went over great. I think I'll use less water next time, I ended up straining the rice after more than two hours passed and the rice was more than tender enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      This turned out very yummy. Thank you so much for posting the recipe. Just wanted to add, I saw that one of the commentators recommended soaking to rid of "dye" because everything turned purple. The purple coloring is the natural color of black rice's husks which are not removed. There's no dye involved. Just wanted to throw that out there. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      A great pudding! As someone who needs to avoid most dairy due to an allergy, I was thrilled to find a rice pudding I can actually eat. The fact that I love coconut just makes it even better! I recently discovered black rice and was looking for different ways to enjoy it. This is a very tasty and easy dish, with a wonderful texture. Next time I may try using a lite coconut milk and reducing the sugar a bit, as it was a little sweet for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      Brilliant, used exact measurements and turned out just like the photo however I would have reduced the water by 1/2 cup. Excellent recipe! make sure to use Glutinous Short Grain Black Rice (Also known as Forbidden Rice) as this will NOT work with wild rice :) Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      We really, really loved this pudding. We decided to try making it in our Zojirushi fuzzy logic rice cooker rather than on the stove. That went fine, but for some reason we had to run it through two cycles before the water was absorbed (we ran it first on the Brown Rice setting, and then on the Porridge setting). Like another reviewer, we sprinkled sesame seeds on top, and they were great. We will definitely make this wonderful dish again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2007

      This pudding tastes lovely. I added an tablespoon or two of the coconut milk to bring out the coconut taste. I learned that it is very important that you thoroughly wash the rice or soak it overnight to clean the grains of their dye. I am going to have to try this again as I was a bit lazy and did not wash it enough - after cooking, the entire pudding (sauce and all) was the color of an eggplant. This will not deter me from making this again though SO YUMMY! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2006

      This is similar to a traditional dish in Malaysia which we call 'pulut hitam' which means 'black rice'. And the ingredients are almost exactly the same, except that instead of regular sugar, we use Palm sugar (brown and comes in blocks) and we add some Durian fruit into it....delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2006

      This dessert was outstanding and exactly like the one we get in our favorite Thai restaurant. They added corn, which sounds a little strange to us, but was delicious. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2005

      Blink...this was so good, and creamy. I sprinkled some sesame seeds on top and it looked very dramatic. I will make this again. Thanks..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thai Black Rice Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (169 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 258.0
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    28%
    Total Fat 8.2 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 203.3 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 16.6 g
    66%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes