30 Reviews

This was too salty - and I don't get it because I am usually the person that needs to add more salt at the table. I made as listed - perhaps it was my fish sauce or soya sauce, although they are the regular types you get in any supermarket. The salt overpowered the other flavours. I rechecked the quantities in the sauces thinking that perhaps I added too much.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini December 11, 2010

This was fantastic, the flavor was amazing! I used broccoli, onion, red pepper, and mushrooms. I substituted hoisin sauce for oyster sauce because I couldn't find oyster sauce without HFCS, it was super tasty! I also used half teaspoon of chili paste and it was very mild, I'll probably use more next time, but I was a little worried about the spice. I wanted something like the traditional dish at a local thai place and this far exceeded my expectations of anything I could make! Thank you for this recipe, my hubb and I LOVED it!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lenore Spirit October 24, 2010

This was surprisingly good. Found the recipe when searching for something to use up some fresh basil (although after reading some reviews now I want to try to find some thai basil!) It was my first time eating bok choy, not bad! The only subs we made were using 1 tsp green curry paste instead of chili paste, and we added peanuts because my husband loves to put them in any asian dish that he can. For me it was on the verge of being too salty but the flavor won out. Maybe the low sodium soy sauce saved it from going over the salty edge? Will definitely be making this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lalalucy April 25, 2012

This was awesome. I only added 1 tablespoon of Fish sauce and soy because of the fear it would be to salty and funky. I used some Japanese eggplant in it. Came out so good, better than I have had in Thai restaurants. I wouldn't make this without Thai basil, makes the dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BD Tim March 17, 2012

Very similar to the recipe I've been making for years. I'd suggest using Thai Basil (which I get at an asian produce market across the street from Safeway), using chicken stock instead of water, and less soy sauce. As with most thai dishes, it's the fish sauce that really brings the flavors together so don't skimp on that--you're missing out. (Viet Huong is my favorite brand and it keeps forever)
I started making this with ground turkey (it's often buy one, get one at Safeway) and makes for a super healthy, no fuss tasty dish. Grab the rooster sauce and kick it up to your liking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noshedidnt January 27, 2012

First off I want to say that I normally don't write review, even though I should, since I am always using them to help me out. Anywhooo, this meal was FANTASTIC!!!!!! B/c I read a lot of the reviews I made some changes. First off, b/c i read a complaint of saltiness, I decided to go with Braggs ( natural soy sauce) and I did not use fish sauce ( did not have it) I just simply used 3tbls of braggs and 1 tbls of lime juice (read this is a great substitute for fish sauce). I also used the red curry paste and red pepper flakes ( read from one of the earlier reviews). I added a lot of vegs, ( broccoli, green & red pepper, onions, zucchini & mushrooms). My fam LUVD it. We will def be having this again and again. I cant say enough about how good it was.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kcwandu January 24, 2012

I have to agree with another reviewer who found this too salty. Also the sauce was thick enough that it didn't need the last "sauce". I did add some more water which helped with the saltiness. I think I may try reducing the soy, fish, and oyster sauces by half and adding some rice vinegar to make up the difference. Either that or just reducing the soy sauce. I didn't have fresh basil so just added some basil cubes at the end. Made this with thinly sliced pork, would like to try again with above adjustments and with the basil.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker May 25, 2011

Made a delicious meal for us! I used bok choy, onions, yellow and green peppers, and mushrooms in mine. I served it over rice and it was a great meal for all of us!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miltt September 08, 2009

Thanks Dianne. Excellent recipe. Lots of variations if you like less salty. Just less fish sauce and more h20. Fried tofu is also a good substitution for the meat. O

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cbenone7670 July 03, 2015

Very salty, I cut the sauces by 1/4 and it was still extremely salty even with rice without salt and low sodium soy sauce. It could be made into a flavorful recipe if this issue was fixed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefie Stephie December 31, 2014
Thai Basil Chicken