Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thai Basil Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thai Basil Chicken

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on December 11, 2010

      This was too salty - and I don't get it because I am usually the person that needs to add more salt at the table. I made as listed - perhaps it was my fish sauce or soya sauce, although they are the regular types you get in any supermarket. The salt overpowered the other flavours. I rechecked the quantities in the sauces thinking that perhaps I added too much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      This was fantastic, the flavor was amazing! I used broccoli, onion, red pepper, and mushrooms. I substituted hoisin sauce for oyster sauce because I couldn't find oyster sauce without HFCS, it was super tasty! I also used half teaspoon of chili paste and it was very mild, I'll probably use more next time, but I was a little worried about the spice. I wanted something like the traditional dish at a local thai place and this far exceeded my expectations of anything I could make! Thank you for this recipe, my hubb and I LOVED it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2012

      This was surprisingly good. Found the recipe when searching for something to use up some fresh basil (although after reading some reviews now I want to try to find some thai basil!) It was my first time eating bok choy, not bad! The only subs we made were using 1 tsp green curry paste instead of chili paste, and we added peanuts because my husband loves to put them in any asian dish that he can. For me it was on the verge of being too salty but the flavor won out. Maybe the low sodium soy sauce saved it from going over the salty edge? Will definitely be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      This was awesome. I only added 1 tablespoon of Fish sauce and soy because of the fear it would be to salty and funky. I used some Japanese eggplant in it. Came out so good, better than I have had in Thai restaurants. I wouldn't make this without Thai basil, makes the dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2012

      Very similar to the recipe I've been making for years. I'd suggest using Thai Basil (which I get at an asian produce market across the street from Safeway), using chicken stock instead of water, and less soy sauce. As with most thai dishes, it's the fish sauce that really brings the flavors together so don't skimp on that--you're missing out. (Viet Huong is my favorite brand and it keeps forever)
      I started making this with ground turkey (it's often buy one, get one at Safeway) and makes for a super healthy, no fuss tasty dish. Grab the rooster sauce and kick it up to your liking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      First off I want to say that I normally don't write review, even though I should, since I am always using them to help me out. Anywhooo, this meal was FANTASTIC!!!!!! B/c I read a lot of the reviews I made some changes. First off, b/c i read a complaint of saltiness, I decided to go with Braggs ( natural soy sauce) and I did not use fish sauce ( did not have it) I just simply used 3tbls of braggs and 1 tbls of lime juice (read this is a great substitute for fish sauce). I also used the red curry paste and red pepper flakes ( read from one of the earlier reviews). I added a lot of vegs, ( broccoli, green & red pepper, onions, zucchini & mushrooms). My fam LUVD it. We will def be having this again and again. I cant say enough about how good it was.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2011

      I have to agree with another reviewer who found this too salty. Also the sauce was thick enough that it didn't need the last "sauce". I did add some more water which helped with the saltiness. I think I may try reducing the soy, fish, and oyster sauces by half and adding some rice vinegar to make up the difference. Either that or just reducing the soy sauce. I didn't have fresh basil so just added some basil cubes at the end. Made this with thinly sliced pork, would like to try again with above adjustments and with the basil.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      Made a delicious meal for us! I used bok choy, onions, yellow and green peppers, and mushrooms in mine. I served it over rice and it was a great meal for all of us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2014

      Had great flavor but was way too salty! I followed the recipe to the T and I used lower sodium soy sauce but it didn't help with saltiness. I ended up adding extra sugar to balance it out. I will definitely try making this again but will cut the amount of soy sauce in half next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2013

      I love basil chicken but this didn't taste like it at all . It was good but not basil chicken

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      Perfect! I've been searching for an authentic Thai basil chicken recipe, and none tasted authentic... except for this one. It must have something to do with the method of dividing the sauce up as you did. Next time, I'm going to try this with ground chicken like my neighborhood Thai restaurant uses :) Oh, and yes this recipe is salty, but it's supposed to be. I actually am not a fan of salty foods, but this dish is an exception. Real basil chicken is supposed to taste like this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      This was a very good recipe. The whole family really enjoyed it and it made the house smell wonderful. I took the leftovers to work and they were just as good the second day :). Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2010

      Seriously, this is GREAT!
      I under estimated being first rate!
      Doubled sauce, used suggestion number 2,
      Couldn't find oyster sauce in the pantry, so subbed hoisin sauce too!
      Used whole capsicum, 1 red onion did slice,
      Is healthy, delish, VERY nice!
      Added shittake musrooms, use left over veggies in cheese quesadilla next day!
      Thank you for sending this recipe my way!
      UPDATE The Thai basil DEFINATELY makes this dish, TRUE!
      So thank you for reminding me to add this to the review!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      Great flavors. Next time I may increase the amount of basil and add it in right before taking off the stove. I overcooked my basils this time and there was not as much flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      This is a wonderful dish. I had to make a couple changes-spinach for bok choy, yellow pepper and only 1 T. fish sauce. This was so quick and easy and such wonderful flavors. I did top it with fresh bean sprouts and this will be one we have a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      This is really delicious. I have made it countless times and love it. I usually sprinkle some peanuts on the top before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      Very tasty and quick to make

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      So good and so easy! It looks really nice too... I made it for friends and they loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      This is SO delicious! LIke the other posters, we changed the veggies (broccoli instead of bok choy) and the spicy-factor (jalapenos instead of pepper flakes and chili paste). It was still wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      This is wonderful... we added zucchini and extra peppers-- so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thai Basil Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 177.6
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    15%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 72.5 mg
    24%
    Sodium 2074.8 mg
    86%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 26.7 g
    53%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    bok choy

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes