26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is just a good recipe, wouldn't even rate it as a good copycat and the chef who claimed this to be the JD sauce is up in his gord! First and for most I have the JD sauce right here next to me as I just copied this one and wanted to compare the 2. The true JD sauce has a smoke flavoring to it, this recipe calls for none. The true is more of a BBQ ee flavor as this is very sweet yet bland in flavor. This is a good sauce and very simple to make, but don't get your hopes up. I knew the only way I could find out for sure is to get some from TGIF and I am glad I did. I will not give up on trying to mimic this, but I will rate this as 2 stars for effort alone.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrisx28 March 29, 2010

I have no idea what some of these folks are talking about but this sauce gets 6 stars from me AWESOME & great on steaks as well, my family enjoyed it, they thought i went to tgif to get the sauce... don't change anything, like someone responded and said its the BOMB, and yes it is... GREAT SAUCE.... LOVING IT...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SHONDA P. July 08, 2014

Actually, This recipe really is the original Jack Daniels Sauce. I have been making this for years, long before TGIF ever did. They changed the recipe. This one is my favorite as I am not into all the chunky stuff. However, I am pretty sure this is the first sauce that TGIF made, too. I remember because I was a little angry that they claimed it as their own, when it wasn't. I was making this in the late 80's early 90's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri H. June 14, 2014

If you want to take a short cut, I guess this would be it, but it is not the TGI Friday's Original Jack Daniel's Sauce! The Original actually has tiny chunks of pineapple and onion. In no way does the original use garlic or onion powder! This misses a lot of premium, real ingredients. Go to http://www.food.com/recipe/jack-daniels-sauce-495027 If you want to a true match, you will need to work for it a little. It is time consuming but well worth it. I doubled the recipe so it will last longer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TJKL7078 June 08, 2013

Not quite as good as the longer cooking version that I normally make, but this is a good substitute to make in a pinch! Quick and easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 September 18, 2011

You gotta try it! While this recipe is not what you would get in the restaurant it is however a really good. I made it had great results. Everyone loved it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
onekoolguy March 30, 2011

All I can say about this sauce is; THANK YOU!! OMG, leave it the way it is on the recipe. Make sure to use dark brown sugar, and the sauce will thicken if you simmer it and then let it stand for about 5-10 minutes. We used the sauce as a coating for chicken wings, and it was a hit at the party!! I can't wait to try on other meats as a glaze or even a dipping sauce! I don't care if it's not exactly like TGI Friday's, it is still the bomb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awaller6 June 05, 2010

29 April 18, 2010

This was pretty good but not quite like TGIFs. That being said that is prob my fault on one level. First I had to add some corn starch since the sauce was very runny. The second is the sauce was tan color. This I am assuming is because the recipe did not state whether to use light or dark and I used light, even though the sauce is clearly dark....DOH!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juskolos November 04, 2009

This sauce is the best. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. My husband & I ate it with a hamburger and grilled onions. We didn't need anything else!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teasa.brown May 31, 2009
Tgi Friday's Original Jack Daniel's Sauce